We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful dinner”
Review of Blue 13 - CLOSED

Blue 13
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Orleans
Transit: Near the Chicago and Merchandise Mart Brown Line Stations, or the Grand Blue Line Station.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“wonderful dinner”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Went with a group from work and we all has a great time. The appetizers, entree's and deserts were all high quality and perfectly prepared. The immense pork chop was a nice surprise and several of my group enjoyed the cod and the scallops dishes. It's a smaller location but they easily accommodated our group of 10. Check it out, you'll like it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank energydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Food; Excellent Service; Excellent Ambiance”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We went here for an early dinner. We had the pork belly, melon salad and octopus as appetizers. Each was superb (I was particularly enamored with the pork). For "Large Plates" we had the (off the menu) special beef with quail egg, pork chop and scallops. Each was better than the other. Lastly, we shared the apple crisp(?), and "coffee and doughnuts."
Everything, start to finish, was great. However, it was the waiter that made the night. He was helpful and friendly, but not overpowering. Sort of the kind of guy you'd want for a friend, not just a waiter.
The atmosphere is informal even though you wouldn't necessarily think so to look at the menu. An intimate "loft" feel to the restaurant, but not romantic. Just nice.
All-in-all, a very pleasant dinner and experience.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichB89600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Venison and beef, out of this world!”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

This restaurant is such a find. Superb food, superb service. Here's what we had:

Rabbit tortellini - phenomenal
Spiced Octopus - best I have ever tasted
Steak - the secret dish off the menu with a quail's egg and wasabi was lovely
Venison - cooked perfectly

I cannot recommend Blue 13 enough.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, over and over again”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Probably the best restaurant in Chicago - excellent food at reasonable prices, great wait staff and hip-cool-trendy atmosphere. Great bar with good innovative cocktails too. You dont have the feeling of getting fleeced as with Gilt Bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ziegerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous night out! Creative dishes and fabulous service!”
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We arrived early for our reservation and had cocktails at the bar--wonderful! Got to speak to one of the owners and an employee while waiting for our friends! They were very nice and genuinely wanted us to get the most out of our experience, offering recommendations and talking about how the owners started up the restaurant. For appetizers, we had the lobster pizza and chicken and waffles--both fabulous!!! For entrees, our table had the scallops, steak and eggs on acid, duck lollipops, and the whitefish with risotto. This was all complemented by a delicious version of mac and cheese. I had the whitefish and risotto and am still dreaming about it 18 hours later-simply devine! I wish I had taken a photo of our friend taking her first bite of the duck-she LOVED it! Service was superb and very attentive. The setting was lovely and sleek, but it is a very small space with tables that are close together-very intimate! I cannot recommend this place enough. We have a baby and cannot get out as much as we would like but are already making plans to return in a couple of weeks for our anniversary!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteSoxGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing