We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great. Steakhouse”
Review of Rosebud Prime

Rosebud Prime
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosebud Prime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #294 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Madison Street
Transit: The restaurant is conveniently located by two "L" lines, the blue line in front of the restaurant at Monroe and the red line at State and Monroe.
Description: Rosebud Prime is a refined culinary journey that begins with a perfect glass of wine and ends with rich and decadent desserts. In between, you'll revel in distinctive menu options, such as Rosebud's signature 18-ounce bone-in filet with wild mushrooms, or a 28-ounce Bone-In Butcher Cut Ribeye. If you're not in the mood for steak, a variety of seafood specialties, such as Broiled Colossal Jumbo Prawns is sure to satisfy even the most discerning taste buds. Never pretentious and always approachable, Rosebud Prime's elegant atmosphere, impeccable service, and fine selection of steaks, seafood, and chops offer guests the opportunity to indulge in the very best of everything.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great. Steakhouse”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a good steakhouse in the vein of a Ruths Chris. Service was very good. Our server knew the menu, the bar menu and the wine list very well. She was able to make several recommendations and we felt she was right on. Price is as expected for the service and quality. This is not Outback; relax and enjoy. Only negative is that it's a little crowded and loud. I would recommend it but I wouldn't return because there are other options that I haven't tried in the area and Rosebud isn't pulling me back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    67
    36
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Windy City Classic”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We received our dining recommendation from the Chief Concierge, Paula, at the Sheraton Towers, who called and found out that we could get a reservation on a Saturday afternoon for that night at a really good restaurant!!? Right?? How could that be? No place that's really good has reservations open for a Saturday night in the pm of that day. But there are exceptions. And this was one. The exception is that restaurants in the Theatre District where Rosebud is, need to prepare for their big crowd for after the shows are over, so an early reservation, what we wanted, was no problem!
Overall, we had a great dining experience! A really cool seat for my wife and I in the balcony overlooking the dining floor was great! And the place has a trio that plays favorites with a piano, drum and bass, all during the meal. Our attendant, Christopher, was extremely attentive and had a sense of quiet professionalism that got the job done well, which we enjoyed.
We'd recommend going there and we surely will be back on our next trip to the Windy City!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
200 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We tried this restaurant once. The steaks were very good, however quite pricy. We were there early Saturday evening and we one of very few customers.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Francy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch at the Rosebud Steakhouse and loved it. They have a few entree sized salads, of which I had a delicious one with manchego cheese chicken and honey mustard dressing . My husband had the filet which was also delicious. Definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExigentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“King Crab Salad for Lunch!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The salad was extremely good, coupled with beefsteak tomatoes and mozarella. Was able to sit outside on a beautiful day in Chicago.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosebud Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing