We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great high end hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Ranked #52 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Great high end hotel.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

With taxes my room was just over $400, and the hotel is top shelf for sure. Check in was fast and friendly, the room spacious and the bed perhaps the most comfortable I've had in any hotel. I marked it down a star as there was not a wow stay for me. You arrive at the ground floor and someone passing through told us you had to take the elevator to the 12th floor to check in as no one was at the desk downstairs. Then you take another elevator to your room. The lobby was pretty sterile for a top Chicago Hotel, not a great place to wait for your friends. Location is great of course. Bottom line is an expensive hotel that does not quite deliver beyond having a nice room with a good view.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank z0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear z0607,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,669
    392
    180
    72
    39
See reviews for
587
615
85
813
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here one night on a business trip. First time staying at the Ritz and was pretty stoked however I didn't experience any wow factor with this property. The check-in took a while because there was only one associate working the desk. The hotel gave me a handicap room however didn't bother to request a different room since I was only staying for one night.

I was bummed I could not get any Marriott points. The Ritz Chicago is a Four Seasons property and unfortunately the FS still does not have a rewards program.

Overall the location of this hotel is nice if you're a tourist. I chose this hotel because they were offering a very good corporate rate. I would stay here again if rates were good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovenyc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear ilovenyc19,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Wondeful location, great staff, and every employee is on it, meaning they pay attention to the guest. You need something you got it!!! Loved my stay! I would go back for sure! The fitness center has a lot more equipment than most of the Luxury Hotels i've stayed at. It was really easy to hail a taxi as well, based on the location, and if you can'tget one, one of the bell men will get one most assuredly. Awesome Hotel!!!

Room Tip: Any view facing the Naval Pier is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Sean J,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The lobby of this hotel was so beautiful and there is a rooftop bar and restaurant just outside. The rooms are spacious and our view of the lake was fantastic. The staff was professional and very helpful.

Room Tip: Lake view on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear travelfan57,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were traveling with our 2 year old daughter and had asked for the room to be baby proofed upon check-in. When we arrived to check in, the person setting us up greeted our daughter by her name (they asked for it when I made the reservation)- then proceeded to walk around the desk and give her a stuffed bear. My father who was traveling with us was shocked into silence, he had never seen such great service at a hotel in his life. When we got up to our room there were some cheese and crackers with amazing local honey, and even snacks geared for our toddler. The room was also baby proofed and a crib was set up, inside the crib was a basket of diapers, wipes, and baby bath products.
Since we had traveled so much that day we decided to stay at the hotel for dinner, the food and service was amazing. My daughter was able to get some energy out walking around the massive lobby and looking at the beautiful water fountain just outside the restaurant.
The location cannot be beat, it is in the Water tower mall- about 100 yards from the American Girl doll store. There is also a very clean nice park across the street.
I hope to be lucky enough to stay here again as the service was the best I've ever seen (and I travel extensively for work).

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in this hotel. Take advantage of their "baby proofing&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Katy S,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstville
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Chicago and it is definitely worth the few extra dollars to stay here. Location is perfect. View from our room was spectacular. The room was immaculate. We felt like we were "at home" because the staff was sincere, helpful and kind. We can't wait to return. You must visit the lounge on the 12th floor, too. Exceptional coffee, too.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear D R,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel and staff were amazing! It started with Peter Falke (Director of Sales) who helped us get an upgraded room to make the weekend even more special for my son - complete with amazing lake views. The hotel then provided a special birthday treat (cupcakes) for my son - and everyone went out of their way to make the weekend perfect. The hotel was a great home base for our 2 visits to Wrigley (both Cubs wins!), great deep dish Chicago pizza (Lou Malnati's and Giordano's), several visits to Navy Pier, and walks around Michigan avenue. The boys even enjoyed a park with 2 baseball fields right down the street. Overall it was a great experience in large part due to the staff and amazing accomodations at the Ritz.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Gary D,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,599 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,469 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,347 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Ritz-Carlton
Chicago Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing