We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going to the Ritz is like going home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Ranked #52 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Going to the Ritz is like going home”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Ritz in Chicago is great. They call you by name and know what amenities you like in your hotel. It's very centrally located in the Michigan Avenue shopping district and surrounded by great restaurants, transportation, and Chicago attractions. The rooms are beautiful and very quiet. Good views either direction of the city or lake. Great concierge (ask for Melissa) and many of the staff have been there for years. Must be a great place to work too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North have a lake view and the South have a city and some lake view. Both are nice, ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,665
    392
    177
    72
    38
See reviews for
585
613
85
810
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The Ritz Carlton Chicago is actually a Four Seasons property (not to be confused with the Four Seasons Chicago) and the standard of service lives up to the Four Seasons brand. Each and every employee is friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The rooms are elegantly decorated with modern and comfortable furnishings, including plush towels and high quality bed linens. Standard lake view room was spacious, quiet and comfortable with a huge window to take in the beautiful view.

Located in the Water Tower, the hotel has easy access to a high end shopping mall-very convenient with the polar vortex outside! For an urban hotel, the public spaces and meeting spaces are light filled and as modern as can be while still incorporating the original 1970s design of the hotel in a functional way.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FourDayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear FourDayTraveler,

Thank You for your Trip Advisor review, we sincerely appreciate your shared experience. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room, meeting facilities and that the service was what you have come to expect at a Four Seasons property. Our staff will be delighted to receive this feedback.

We look forward to an opportunity of welcoming you back to a Four Seasons Hotel!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was our second visit, and we had a perfect view this time! Lake and city...you can't beat it! Love the easy access to the Water Tower so it's easy to grab a quick breakfast or lunch in the mall. Reception and concierge staffs very helpful and courteous. The food is not fabulous...but good enough if you don't feel like getting out in the cold. We were a little annoyed at lack of complimentary wifi...you can get that at almost any chain now so time for The Ritz to catch up. And it was the first time we have ever been charged an extra $2 for ordering a drink on the rocks...but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Stacey H,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on your second stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago. I am so happy to hear the view from your room was exactly what you have been looking for and that the service from concierge and reception was helpful and courteous. Thank you for your feedback in regards to Deca and the Wifi, we sincerely appreciate the opportunity to enhance your next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nothing to say. Great hotel. great position in town. great service. Breakfast was not included and very expensive, I think to much even for a luxury hotel. The rooms are very nice and clean. The restrooms new and shiny! beds very comfortable.

Room Tip: King rooms are better because the air coming from the heater/air conditioning is above and behind th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riccardo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Riccardo M,

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed a perfect stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago, thank you for sharing your experience with us. I hope you enjoy everything to Windy City has to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is a nice hotel in a great location in downtown Chicago. However, the absolute biggest negative is the poor complementary internet service they provide. It is slow to the point of being reminiscent of modems. It is also ridiculous that they can only connect two devices for free. In this day and age where you can get a hi-speed WiFi connection at a motel 6, and where folks that will typically be clients of the Ritz have 3 wireless devices (laptop, iPad, phone) requiring WiFi, it makes them appear chintzy and trying to "nickel and dime" their clients who pay a premium price to stay in their hotel.
The fitness center is nice, but in need of an upgrade and expansion. They need new and more equipment, both aerobic (more elliptical trainers, recumbent bikes) and more weight machines.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortlandPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The lobby and other public areas of the Ritz Carlton are beautiful and reflective of the prices one pays when lodging here. The furniture in the rooms are lovely. However, it was not a comfortable room because the HVAC system is on constantly, is fairly loud and blows directly on people sitting on the chaise lounge. The drain in the bathtub is situated so that it's difficult not to step on it. Other little things were irritating and should not occur in such a high-end facility, e.g., they don't wrap the cotton swabs or cotton balls and disks, and the container they were in was broken. The safe in our room didn't work; they attempted to repair it, but couldn't. Granted, they offered us a new room or the central security facility, and gave us a couple of bottles of water for our trouble, but it should have simply been replaced.
We had a light lunch in the bar/restaurant on the 12th floor. The food was tasteless. The tea I ordered was tasty, but the strainer allowed all of the tea ingredients into the water, so I ate tangerine peels and pieces of ginger. The service was abysmal.
In general, there are better places to stay in Chicago, for equal to less money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD060703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Thanks to Mother Nature and a second ice storm wrecking havoc in Atlanta, GA our trip to The Cove Atlantis was cancelled by Delta. Well, this was a Valentine's Day long-weekend trip planned months in advance. Plan B trip planning brought me back to my beloved Four Seasons, in this case via the Ritz-Carlton at Water Tower Place in Chicago (a Four Seasons hotel). I booked us into one of their wonderful "Deluxe Lake View" suites, #2407 and it was divine. Perfect floor plan, spacious and the corner views of the city, Navy Pier and Lake Michigan were entertaining in and of themselves.

Early check-in was no issue (I had called and alerted them we'd be arriving early) immediately following check-in we were greeted by Ashley in Guest Relations we gave us a tour of the lobby and gave us the lay of the land, so to speak. She also said there was little something waiting for us in our suite. Much to our surprise there was a little homage to The Bahamas on the console table in the dining area complete with fold-out paper pineapple, palm trees and sunglasses for both of us. Shortly, the doorbell rings and it's room service with a setup of Patron margaritas, nice touch - quintessential Four Seasons. Fantastic!

The suite was perfect as we were away for a weekend of R&R and we both had some work to do as well and the suite and it's layout and amenities coupled with the promise of Four Seasons attention to details made for an absolutely perfect trip.

The spa for us involved facials and stone therapy massages for both of us -- love, love, love the spa at the Ritz-Carlton Chicago -- Danella who gave me my facial is the best, the best. Jodi who gave me my stone massage, hands down (no pun intended) provided the best treatments I've received, and I'm fortunate to have had many luxury spa treatments.

Decca restaurant + lounge -- we enjoyed both spaces - had lunch upon arriving it was so creative, flavorful and fun it set the perfect tone and soft landing upon our arrival. We also had breakfast there our last morning, and the food marvelous, well plated and spectacular service in a space that quite lovely, relaxing and visually interesting due to the light from both windows and skylight as the commanding yet, serene water feature / fountain anchoring the center of the lower lobby. Again, fantastic!

Concierge -- prior to arriving I spent time at the hotel's webpages at the four seasons.com website where I had read suggested things couples could do in Chicago during their stay. One suggestion was this Tiki restaurant and lounge called 3 Dots and a Dash -- well, one evening on our way out we asked the Concierge for his suggestions and he immediately shared that 3 Dots and Dash is one of his favorite places. We both chuckled and told him we'd read about it -- classic Chicago located in an old speakeasy entered via it's doorman guarded, alleyway entrance. WHAT A BLAST!
We stopped by the next day to thank him for his suggestion.

The upshot is we were planning on being at The Cove Atlantis in The Bahamas and ended up at the Ritz-Carlton Chicago (thanks to that ice storm that enveloped Atlanta) and we both had GIANT fun and are planning to go back as soon as possible to what we're calling our Chicago pied-à-terre. You won't go wrong staying at the Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons hotel).

Room Tip: If you're looking at a spacious suite try booking the "Deluxe Lake View Suite" which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlayaGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear PlayaGroup,

Quite a twist of events with your travel plans that I am sure were stressful for you! But we are so happy to have hosted you for your relaxing Valentines weekend away and that we were able to provide that twist of the tropics you had originally planned for.

I am so happy you enjoyed the suite and service from our dedicated staff. We are thrilled you now can call The Ritz-Carlton Chicago a home away from home and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cheers,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,594 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,466 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,345 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Ritz-Carlton
Chicago Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing