We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice thanksgiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Ranked #52 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice thanksgiving”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The ritz is always very nice. It is a shame they can't update bathrooms with 2 sinks. For a hotel it is one of the quietest ones I have been in. The common area is beautiful. It appeared to us that they didn't have enough staff in the bar as service was spotty. Otherwise excellent

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Steve M,

Thank you for sharing your Thanksgiving Holiday with us, we sincerely appreciate all of your feedback. In regeards to the bathrooms, we do have double vanity sinks available and can have this preference added to your profile for all future stays, please email FrontDesk.CRC@fourseasons.com so we may assist. I am sorry to hear your Deca Bar experiece wasn't on spot however I am happy to hear you had an excellent stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,664
    392
    177
    72
    38
See reviews for
585
612
85
810
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A very disappointing and frustrating experience. Rooms are just average, and do not have any of the toiletries/amenities one would expect at a hotel of this caliber. Service was terrible. Concierge REFUSED (!) to send us a cab to be picked up from a show. The venue was about 5 miles from the loop, and was pretty isolated. Her comment was that she would not "pull a cab out of the cue".
We ended up walking about 2 miles. It was about 10pm in December. It was just about freezing, as it was sleeting, and I was wearing high heals. The neighborhood was dark, and deserted. We repeatedly called the hotel's concierge during the walk, asking again and again for a cab. Each time we were refused, and the concierge was very aware we were guests of the hotel. We were finally able to get to a gas station to get a cab. So many better choices in Chicago: The peninsula, Trump, Park Hyatt.... I never had a problem getting anything at those hotels. I will NEVER stay at The Ritz - Four Seasons again. The worst hotel experience, ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Jill R,

I am sorry for the dissatisfaction you experienced while staying with us in 2012. There was most definitely a better way to accommodate your requests and I know we were able to address these issues with you personally while staying at the hotel. Thank you again for the helpful feedback and please reach out to me if I may personally assist with your next visit.

Happiest of Holidays to you and your family.

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

This high rise hotel begins with a beautiful lobby with a grand fountain with small sail boats darting about in the water.

The room was nice--very urban chic with large windows. Room service was very good for dinner and breakfast.

The hotel is located right in the middle of things at the Watertower. It is an easy walk to the Chicago Institute of Art as well as surrounded by lots of shopping.

I would repeat.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRazorback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear RamblingRazorback,

I am happy to hear we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon after enjoying the hotel and amenities this last stay. Happy Holidays from our family to yours and see you soon!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The staff were professional, friendly and engaging. The location is perfect for a stay in Chicago, right on the Mag Mile, with an elevator entrance to the galleria if the weather is inclement. We celebrated a birthday there, and the restaurant staff were wonderful, the quality of the food excellent, and atmosphere wonderful. We also spent a considerable time at the bar, where we chatted non stop, and the staff were very accommodating and on hand for anything we desired.

Room Tip: The corner rooms facing the lake are excellent for viewing; the high winds we experienced there crea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Ilendar,

It is a pleasure to hear you had a wonderful stay and were able to enjoy some ample, quality time in Deca. Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton Chicago for your birthday weekend and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Wonderful property in the heart of Chicago. Grand views of various aspects of the city. Great lobby with a wall of windows. (Lobby is on the 12th floor.) Rooms a wonderful and nicely furnished. Beds are very comfortable. We had some difficulty regulating the temperature and felt it was rather warm in the room no matter what we did. Some bathrooms are more spacious. Some are configured in an odd way with the tub and toilet closeted and the sink outside. A lunch and breakfast at the on site dining room were both very good. Staff was very pleasant and quite attentive. Of course for this level of service and luxury you will spend quite a bit more than average. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tym2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Tym2fly,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the room and comfort of the bed. I am sorry you had trouble regulating the temperature of your room, thank you for this feedback and I will see this concern is properly investigated. Happiest of holidays to you and hopefully we will have the joy of welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Awesome hotel, with great responsive and kind staff! Located in the center Chicago with stunning views of Lake Michegan! The hotel has a friendly atmosphere! I recommend this hotel!
I hope to be back soon!
With best regards, Oxana!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Oxana O,

Thank you for your Review of us on Trip Advisor, we appreciate the feedback and I am happy to hear your stay was fantastic. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!

Happy Holidays,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Hosted a meeting for our Board this weekend at the Ritz in downtown Chicago. What a great experience!! From the rooms, to housekeeping, to the food and waite staff, everything was perfect. The business center is a REAL one. Everything works - from computers to printers and copiers. I was delighted with the service and we stay at 4 star hotels across the US.
Far exceeds the service across the street at the Four Seasons. Will book another meeting there soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryrose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Maryrose M,

Thank you for your review on your recent business stay with us. I am happy to hear of your excellent experience on all accounts. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a leisure stay next time! Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,592 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,466 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,341 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Ritz-Carlton
Chicago Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing