We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but didn't live up to name” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Ranked #40 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Good, but didn't live up to name”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just stayed with our family and although a very nice hotel there are a few comments. First, we booked a city view. We faced the John Hancock and although neat we expected to look the other way down Michigan Ave. If we were facing that way our kids could have seen the Navy Pier fireworks so that was a little disappointing. The children's amenities were very sweet. Toys at arrival, tent in the room, and a visit from the candy man. We were supposed to get happy camper backpacks, but didn't. Oh well, can't be greedy:) Staff were super friendly and location great. The only complaint with cleanliness was the carpet in the room - seemed very dirty. One huge surprise was our breakfast that we ordered in room. We ordered very little "hot" items and our bill was $140!! Cheerios alone were $9 for a small box. A little high in my opinion. Overall a good hotel although I'll probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nsinnott24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,554
    360
    151
    56
    32
See reviews for
528
572
73
752
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City, TN
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently stayed to attend a conference and everything was great - the room, the staff, the food (could discern no shortcuts because it was "conference" food), the location - no complaints at all. The room was large (for Chicago), very quiet, very comfortable and clean. The décor was not necessarily my style, but that doesn't mean it wasn't attractive or in good condition.

For conference purposes the facilities were perfect (although we are a fairly small group at 40 people and not sure how they would handle much larger groups), very comfortable and accommodating. All elements of IT worked fine.

I have one demand when I stay at a hotel - of any kind, anywhere: I have to have a low floor (no higher than 7 floors). Yes, it's a fire truck reach thing. The guest rooms in this hotel start on the 15th floor. Obviously, there's nothing they can do about that, but they were very sympathetic to my neurosis in this area and made sure that my room was on the 15th floor, that there was a fire exit nearby, and was ready for our early check-in (10:00 a.m.!).

Our group is scheduled to return to this hotel again next year and I'm glad. We usually stay at one of the Kimpton properties but this is better.

Room Tip: We were on the lowest room floor on the Pearson Street side and could still see Navy Pier and the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Kelly F,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your group last weekend and I appreciate that you have taken the time to provide such useful feedback. We have noted your room preferences for future visits in an effort to ensure your absolute comfort. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you once again during your next business trip to Chicago.

Best regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've stayed in all the fancy hotels in Chicago. This hotel is by far the total package. Staff was amazing. Location was perfect. The lobby is beautiful and outdoor lounge had that perfect vibe. Great for couples,singles, and families. This hotel really does offer everything. So glad I tried this hotel. Usually we stay at the peninsula, but now I will only start at the ritz.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Daash,

Thank you for the fantastic review! We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Here's the deal,,,, the whole reason you write a review is to inform others of your experience so that they can make the right decision on picking the right property. The Ritz IS in a great location, right smack in the middle of the Mag Mile, near shopping and great restaurants, walking distance to beach, Navy Pier and short rides to numerous other attractions in the city. The staff is excellent and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The décor in the lobby is beautiful and the décor in the rooms is fine except for the bathrooms. The bathrooms are SO outdated, they are not "so last year" they are "so last decade" but they are clean. For the prices you pay at this hotel you expect a lot nicer. The in room dinning was excellent but I agree with another reviewer, it would be nice if they had coffee service in the room. The spa was great and the staff friendly and helpful but the pool was a bit disappointing as we were there with our 3 year old grandson and I have to say not kid friendly. It was cold and partitioned off for laps, so if you have small children it also starts at 3.5 ft. and goes to 10ft. but good for adults. The hot tub or jaquizzi was weird, it seemed like you were in a tank, hard to get in and out for any age.
The bottom line here is that you pay so much for your stay that you really expect everything to be perfect. The great thing about Chicago is that you have a lot of exceptional 5 star hotels to pick from. Here's a tip for management, we stayed at a 5 star hotel that had Keurig coffeepots with K cups in the rooms, the best idea ever!

Room Tip: We had a corner 2 room suite with great views of the city with partial lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi and P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mimi and P,

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback regarding your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy the location and service; however, I am sorry to hear that some of the appointments were not what you expected of a luxury hotel in Chicago. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to learn from your feedback. I hope that you will consider us for your next trip to Chicago and that we will have the opportunity to serve you once again.

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

A friend and I recently had a three-night's stay at hte RC Chicago; it was our second such stay in the past few years. Overall, it was a great stay. What can I say, it's the Ritz! The hotel - outside, lobby, and rooms are welcoming, warm, and well maintained. The lobby is well appointed and always smells of fresh flowers. The staff was very helpful and was available whenever we had questions or requests. The rooms are clean and spacious, and they were very good about meeting our request for a rollaway bed. The only "just average" elements are the restaurant and room service food (except for the chocolate cake, which is exceptional), and the $65 per night valet parking, which seemed a bit extreme even for the RC. We also had the opportunity to check out and use the fitness center ... again, no complaints there. The location is PERFECT - safe and close to everything you'll want to see or do; we will definitely be back for another visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear CarlNova,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago! I am thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay! We appreciate your feedback regarding room service and Deca restaurant and look forward to being of service to you once again.

Warm regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

recently went to chicago on business and stayed at the Ritz Carlton. had a fabulous time. the location doesnt get any better. when i checked in, the check in person was friendly and professional. she did try to upsell me; but upon my decline, she nevertheless upgraded my room. thank you.

the room was great; bed, amenities, view, wifi. the gym was good, not amazing but good. could use a few more newer machines but just fine. i didnt try the Olympic sized pool, but next time

had a light breakfast both mornings and service was super crisp and my overly healthy choices were just fine.

would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rabenbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Rabenbru,

Thank you for your review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and dining experiences. We can’t wait to welcome you for your next Chicago trip!

Regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved our room at the Ritz. It was a corner suite and the view over Lakeshore Dr and the lake was amazing! Decorated beautifully and simply. We had a hiccup at check-in when our room was not ready for about an hour past stated check-in time, but staff was very good (apologetic, no excuses) and the room was pristine. They don't have turn-down service technically, but our room was serviced in the evening which I very much enjoyed. The room couldn't have been more lovely.

I would personally shy away from the food when possible. When our room wasn't ready, we grabbed some lunch at Dec and it was kind of a disaster. Again, staff was great, apologetic, we didn't pay for my meal, but would rather have had it right in the first place (at 3pm after a plane ride and my room still isn't ready). Had room service breakfast once which was very average. Had Sunday brunch at Deca and it was fine.

Biggest knock? No in-room coffee and 35 minute wait to get a pot from room service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waxhaw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Waxhaw6,

Thank you for providing this feedback regarding your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago. Although I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your corner suite overlooking the lake, I’m disappointed to hear about the delay in service and your disappointment on The dec. I want to thank you for bringing these matters to my attention; your feedback is such an important tool in our ongoing quest for excellence.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and being of service to you in the not-too-distant future.

Regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing