We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, food and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Ranked #48 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great service, food and location.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great service, food and location. More importantly, the hotel is keen on improving and making your next experience better than the last. The food menu is delicious, I had a salad that I got two nights in a row it was so good. The staff is very attentive. I've stayed at this Ritz when I come to Chicago for the past four years- I've never had to go anywhere else. Also, the outdoor bar is quite a nice new addition!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Evelynlp,

Thank you for sharing feedback of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. Your experience is exactly the kind we wish and strive for all of our guests to have. I am happy to hear from a service standpoint all of our outlets delivered to your expectations and that you quickly found a favorite dish on Chef Mark Payne’s menu. Thank you for trying out THE dec, it comes with great pleasure to know our guests enjoy the patio as much as we had anticipated.
Your loyalty and support is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,602
    375
    163
    63
    35
See reviews for
550
588
76
786
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the property for 6 days a couple of weeks ago. I got rid of my car after day 1 since you can walk everywhere or take public transportation. We needed a couple of extras for the room and both Leanne and Janette at the front desk were extremely helpful The gym has enough equipment for both cardio and weight lifting as well as a very clean locker room and steam room facilities. Beds were comfortable and the hotel is a short walk to restaurants, coffee shops and the Red Line. Randy Diamond helped out with a few questions I had and I intend to stay at the property each time I visit Chicago. You have a short walk to Water Tower with an amazing food court- everything imaginable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Highmarket,

I am delighted to learn of your experience from your recent extended stay at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Chicago. It is great to hear you found trusted service within our front desk team; they will be pleased to receive this feedback. It is fantastic to hear how you enjoyed the gym facilities as well.

Thank you for sharing with us on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
302 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Ritz Carlton Hotel in Chicago is perfectly located in the heart of the "Gold Coast". Museums, shopping, really great dining are all a stroll away or less! The staff is truly caring and professional, particularly the front desk and concierge staff. The rooms are very generous in size and amenities and some rooms have stunning views! There is a lovely spa and 12th floor outside terrace bar [a HOT spot of the area!]. The restaurant however is not recommended. The service is unbelievably slow! Food is fine, service crawls!! Took 1 hour to get tea, poached eggs and smoothie.

Room Tip: Any room with a view. higher floors especially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMmetroNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear PeterMmertoNY,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I am elated to hear you took great pleasure in staff and service, enjoyed your room and view as well as our location in the Gold Coast. It is wonderful to hear you experienced THE dec and enjoyed it, however I am deeply sorry to learn how disappointing of an experience you had in Deca Restaurant. It is an unacceptable service lapse and not the kind of experience we wish upon our guests. Thank you for this critical feedback.

We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago.

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location of the Ritz Carlton is in the heart of the city. You can walk or take a short cab ride to restaurants, shopping, museums, etc. The service and staff of the Ritz were exceptional. The view of lake Michigan from our room from a huge surprise and we even saw fireworks from Navy Pier one Saturday night. We had 2 adjoining rooms with our four kids and the rooms were incredibly spacious for Chicago standards. We did not eat at the hotel, but we did go to the bar and they just built an outdoor area to enjoy that is amazing! The service there was amazing too. The kids (ages 10 -14) were disappointed that the indoor pool did not have better hours, but that's was the only complaint.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Natalie M,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago on Trip Advisor, we sincerely value your feedback. It comes with great pleasure to hear the service you received from all staff was exceptional and that you had the opportunity to experience THE dec. I am truly sorry your children were disappointed by the available pool hours, thank you for sharing this experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

An enjoyable stay in a lower key Ritz. The rooms were small but pleasant with nice linens. The food was not exceptional but good. We liked the location but the parking was expensive without any options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tess57seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Tess57seattle,

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton Hotel for your recent stay in Chicago. I am happy to hear you found comfort in your room and our location suited you well. I am sorry your dining and parking experience were not what you would have expected; we greatly appreciate this honest feedback as we look for ways to improve the guest experience.

On behalf of the hotel we value your shared experience, thank you, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have stayed there frequently over the years and always treated very well. Address you like they want you there vs a typical generic hotel/guest relationship. Always friendly and trying to make you comfortable. Fitness center cramped, but still works. Food/room service great. One of my favorite Four Seasons globally.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear D E,

Thank you for your continued loyalty and support of the Four Seasons brand. It is a pleasure to know The Ritz Carlton Chicago delivers the service you expect from a Four Seasons Hotel and that you personally find it friendly and comfortable. I am sorry to hear the Fitness Facility does not meet your spatial expectations, thank you for this feedback as it helps in our pursuit to improve the guest experience.

We appreciate you taking time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location of the Ritz Carlton (which ironically is a Four Seasons Hotel, not in the Ritz Carlton group of hotels) is one of its best attributes. The service and staff of the Ritz are on par with other Four Seasons Hotels. I have stayed at this location once before when I was younger and this facility is beginning to show its age although not quite as apparent as some other places I've seen. Aside from excellent service and a great view of lake Michigan the hotel has exceeded my expectations for two reasons: 1.) My wife left a rather expensive watch in the hotel room which was mailed back to us after we inquired whether we left it or not. 2.) My car was damaged by the valet staff (which is a different entity from the hotel). The hotel was very instrumental in my claims process to have the damage to my car covered in full. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room on a high floor- you will see the John Hancock building with stunning views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSoonatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear WSoonatt,

Thank you for choosing the The Ritz-Carlton Hotel for your recent stay in Chicago. I am happy your car and watch incidents were resolved in a manner that exceeded your expectations of service and that you enjoyed the view from your room. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#15 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Ritz-Carlton
Chicago Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing