We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for the loop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I stayed Labor Day weekend with my family. We liked staying in a hotel that is a throwback to the glamorous days of grand hotels. We arrived early in Chicago but had no problem getting into our room. Rooms are older in design (love to still see walk in closets) but furnishings and decor have been updated nicely. Room was somewhat dark - since we were right in the loop its hard to see the sky. Inddor Pool and hot tub were perfect for kids. Pool room is very large but not a lap pool by any means. Seems to have a nice spa and new gym but we didn't use them. The El stop is very close and there are bus stops right out the door that can get you to the Museum Campus and all over the city. The 3 day CTA pass is $14 at the airport and is the way to go for adults. No need trying to find change or add value. Kids under 10 have a special reduced fare card you can get from the attendant at the station (we were at Midway Airport). Millenium Park is about 1 block and is a fantastic urban space. Concierge was helpful with information if not particulaly enthusiastic. I booked the room through the Hilton website and got $157/night which seems good for upscale in the Loop. Overall its a great hotel in a reallly good location for getting the very big city vibe. As long as you're willing to try public transportation its cheap and easy to get all over the city. All the CTA drivers and attendants were very courteous and helpful. Downtown they obviously deal alot with tourists so dont feel bad if you a little confused or uncertain as you get on. Just be polite too! There were plenty of kids staying here along with older and younger people from ll walks. Nice to experience a more grand style sometimes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tswords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,915 - 7,921 of 9,364 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2010

The Palmer House Hilton is a classic Chicago hotel located in the heart of Chicago's Loop near Millennium Park and many of the city's best attractions. As you enter into the hotel, you first notice the ornate, two-story lobby. This grand public space is still a great place to sit and watch the crowds pass through the hotel, allowing you to imagine the barons of Chicago society once mingling in this lobby. As a Hilton Honors member, check-in was a breeze - however, the line for regular check-in was much longer (though it moved quickly). The front desk also was accommodating of our requests and made check-in quite enjoyable.

Our room was spacious, with a view of downtown Chicago. The furnishings were standard Hilton, but were nice and fairly new. However, not all rooms are as spacious - even if you are paying the same rate. Other members of our party had rooms that were much smaller, with limited views. While these rooms were adequate, they would be tight if more than a couple of people were staying in the room. Clearly, these rooms were remnants of a different era and not what you'd expect in a big, downtown hotel. However, while this hotel has been updated, it is from a much different era.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be in the heart of Chicago. It's a fine hotel that has been updated, but it is older. However, we didn't notice that - we were having too much fun running around Chicago!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoMoRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Stayed at the Palmer House over the Labor Day weekend. It was very busy but we managed to get checked in quickly and they kept my request for double beds. Lobby is beyond beutiful! The bar really doesn't 'fit' into the other masterful decor but it's ok.

Positives - Will impress your date/love/girl with it's swanky style
Close to everything - Staff is quick and attentive to your request for help and privacy.
Beds and linens are VERY nice and comfy! Spacious room!

Negatives - A tad noisy between rooms but it's an historic building. Bathrooms are entirely TOO SMALL for grown ups and seem out of place for such a nice room. Room was recently redone but no flatscreen, seemed a bit cheap...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demienef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in June 2010. Overall, the rooms are small (and the room sizes in each category vary significantly), the front desk is not helpful (seems like they select which HH guests will get the bigger or smaller rooms. The hotel has over 1000 rooms (and if it didn't, it felt like it). In many ways, the staff treated guests as if you were in Las Vegas and didn't need service, just check you in, ignore you and make sure you pay for everything.

The lobby restaurant was ok - don't order desserts. The service was good, but slow - really slow. And that was when there were 5 other tables occupied. Imagine what it would be like if it was packed!!!

The pool is interesting and small - and will so many rooms and guests, well you get the picture.

The only good thing about this hotel were the housekeeping staff. The ones you don't see do a great job of cleaning your rooms, making sure you have enough of everything and make you feel like you're getting something for all the money you're spending. Why is that? I don't get it. Shouldn't the front desk staff be the best?

Overall, a terribly unmemorable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuarenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The Palmer House is a great vintage hotel with fresco ceilings, wonderful eateries, and is in the MIDDLE of downtown chicago. Walking distance to everything! Two blocks from the Miracle Mile (Michigan Avenue), about 4 blocks to Lake Michigan, and sits 1/2 block from State Street and tons and tons of shopping. You are steps to the Red line.

I have zero complaints. There are even places to sit and chill in the lobby, just like being in a big family room, except with a wait service to bring you stuff.

Enjoyed the friendly staff and would not hesitate to book here again.

Only one con, the parking is a bit obscure in that it's in the public parking deck across the street that you have to walk thru another building and take the elevators, while carrying all your bags or you can valet for a mere FIFTY ONE dollars a day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Fast check-in. Gorgeous lobby - one of the most beautiful ever seen. Everything was perfect. We were on the 21st floor with two double beds and TWO bathrooms (loved that option!). Room was clean and tastefully decorated. The concierge was so helpful with anything needed. Loved that you could walk to many places for shopping, leisure (esp. Millennium and Grant Parks nearby), and good places to eat that were reasonable. Will definitely stay there on future visits to Chicago. You MUST try Bertha's famous brownie at the hotel for dessert - to die for!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conks48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband and I along with three other couples recently visited the beautiful city of Chicago, and stayed at the Palmer House. This hotel had been recommended by a friend, and it did not disappoint. The hotel exudes a deep history of days gone. Recently renovated the rooms are comfortable and well appointed. I fell in love with the Peacock doors and the story behind them. Much of the decor mimicked the swirling lines of the peacock, right down to the carpet, I was mezmerized!

The staff couldn't have been more accomodating and friendly. I visited the concierge on serveral occasions, and they were always ready and willing to assist. The lobby has a nice open bar area, where you can relax, enjoy a refreshment and take in some people watching.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and am hoping to revisit Chicago and the Palmer House in the near future!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamabear28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,346 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,941 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $100 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmer House A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Palmer House A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing