We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,052)
Filter reviews
10,052 results
Traveler rating
3,839
3,399
1,632
773
409
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,839
3,399
1,632
773
409
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive levelempire roomlockwood restaurantbeautiful lobbybeautiful hotelart institutethe loopclassic hotelstreet levelmillennium parka hilton honors memberlobby barrooms are smallan older hoteldowntown chicagotwo double bedsconcierge desk
Filter
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 10,052 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017

The Lobby is beautiful and I like the Lobby bar and the fact that you can push a button to get service. The rooms are small and dated. My room in particular had peeling wall paper in the bathroom. I alerted the staff but nothing was done. The rooms are expensive but the hotel is well located. .

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taniaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Lobby beautiful, but past that I was disappointed especially with food choices. Maid rushed me out of room at 11 which was check-out but said she had to get me out so she could clean for the next person

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishawa S, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

We truly regret that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked. Our housekeepers will never rush a guest out of the room to preform their duties but if you felt rushed then I would like to apologize. We do allow for a noon check out time for all guests in needed because check in time is quoted as 3pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this really beautiful historic hotel while attending a convention at the McCormick Center. The hotel has the most incredible bar lobby area. Right out of the tourist books. Just beautiful! The rooms are old fashioned but in a nice way. It is very near the elevated subway but the noise was minimal. We were shuttled to the convention center from the hotel. Definitely worth a stay if in Chicago.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank jeanmariepagani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Recent room on the Executive floor. Complained about peeling paint was told it was a historic hotel. Mattress was lumpy,included breakfast was poorer than a Hampton Inn.
Lobby is indeed 4 stars. Room value is based on history, not the present!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonchance_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishawa S, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

We truly regret that you did not enjoy your experience as much as we would have liked. Please never hesitate to request a room change if you do not find the room that is selected for you to be to your liking. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you a better Palmer House experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Stayed here for the Chicago Marathon weekend and found this location to be perfect, a block from Millenium park, the "Bean", the museum, the theater (Hamilton is playing) and Grant park. Red and Blue train stations are on the same block and the next block respectively....very convenient coming from Ohare. Everything else in the Loop is a short walk or train ride. The hotel itself was certainly a throwback to Old Chicago, however, everything in the lobby and public areas was very well maintained. We found the room to be modern, comfortable and rather large. The hallways were a little underwhelming, but clean. We were very pleased with our choice to stay at the Palmer House!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews