We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful architecture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #104 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This place has lovely beautiful architecture
The rooms are alright on the smaller side
wish they had free wifi
It's fun to go around the hotel drink at the hotel bar
There are restaurants and cafes near by

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supitskcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,544 - 4,550 of 9,309 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed at Palmer House for 2 nights in June 2014, during a short visit to Chicago to see a concert. I chose this hotel due to its location, very handy to the Art Institute, Millennium Park, public transit, and the big Macy's. The lobby is certainly impressive, the hotel is a beautiful property, and I really enjoyed coming and going, except for the very slow elevators. It's a really huge hotel, and while my room was of a modest size, it s comfortable, very clean, and had everything I needed. As with most hotels, especially older ones, there was some noise from next door, but nothing more than usual. Staff were friendly and helpful, though I found check in to be slow, there was only one person before me, but I still waited 15 minutes until they were taken care of, which was a little frustrating. I used express check out which was great. There's also a Starbucks in the lower level, which I appreciated. Overall, I'd stay there again simply because of the excellent location, as well as the sheer enjoyment of staying at such a grand, historic hotel. You could save a few dollars staying elsewhere, but this place is worth a little extra, if only because it was such a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hippersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel is somewhat pricey, but in our experience it was worth it. We stayed at the executive level portion and the available food in the lounge area is an excellent perk. The hotel is essentially in the theater district and the el is close by. Biggest problem is parking, but the staff suggested working through SpotHero, which worked well. It is still very difficult to drop off and pick up luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This Hotel is absolutely beautiful; lobby and ballrooms are stunning, and the ambiance is rich with history and bustling activity. Superb martini and excellent lobby bar service. My room was small but elegant. King-sized bed with two separate baths. My only - but real - problem was that it reeked of smoke and I just didn't think the carpet was very clean. Staff were eager to come freshen the room. All in all, a lovely place but my clothes did carry the smell upon departure. Nonetheless, I would stay again. Also: wish there had been a coffee pot in the room. I had a small refrigerator, but missed that "while-you-get-ready" coffee.

Room Tip: Next time I will ask to check the room to - hopefully - avoid smoke odor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhr199s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Booked a stay for a few nights for May 2014. Great location, lovely lobby. Check-in clerk was a bit of a stickler for policy and procedures. (Asking why we were arriving in May to celebrate an August birthday - um, maybe because that's the only time we could make it!) Anyways, made it to our room which was very large with a king bed, very small bathroom and 2 banquet room chairs in it. The room was not acceptable so we went back to the check-in counter and thankfully got someone else who moved us to another room which was fantastic. Super comfy king bed, nice (proper) comfy chairs to sit in after a long day of walking around Chicago and 2 bathrooms! Bonus - his and hers bathrooms! Would stay at the Palmer again if I find myself in Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a king room with 2 bathrooms. Since it's such a large hotel, if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AroundTheWorld360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was the second time we have stayed at the Palmer House. We love the hotel for its location, excellent service, and the beauty of the lobby. The rooms are not big but are very nice. It is easy to get to the go to spots from the hotel. I recommend the Palmer House.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Waymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was a charming hotel; the service was excellent; loved my time here. As a slight nit pic, the rooms did not have certain amenities that I appreciate (e.g., coffee maker, fridge, etc.) and the room servcie was slow (over an hour). But, the room was very nice. The location was close to everything--I walked to the magnificent mile (might be about a mile away), walked to the navy pier, a few blocks to Millenium Park, tons of restaurantes nearby. It was also really convenient to have CVS across the street and Target just a block away for all the little things you may have forgot to pack. Close to the subway--when it's working would be a good option--although as of summer 2014 the blue line was under construction and it was a hassle getting to the hotel from O'Hare (they made you detrain, get on a shuttle bus, and then get on another train)...A cab from O'Hare to the hotel is about $50 and an hour ride.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DCMattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,308 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,910 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 192 in Chicago
7,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $106 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmer House A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palmer House A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing