We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but it could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 8, 2014

In my opinion this hotel could be better in terms of space and technology. I couldn't connect to the WIFI network they have, I must go to the lobby and get the internet from Starbucks or Freshi. The Location of the Hotel is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morichiitamii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Palmer House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and apologize for your troubles with our wifi connection in the lobby. I would like to assure you that we will review your feedback with our IT team as an opportunity for improvement.

Kind Regards,
Pamela Domma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,812 - 4,818 of 9,357 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

Pros: Great location; neato historic lobby; Starbucks on street level; good night's rest, quiet, comfortable room and bed. Enjoyed the older feel to this stately hotel, minor dings and all.

Cons: older property that has not been fully renovated, small bathrooms (but clean and functional!), had to pay for wi-fi, popular convention and tourist hotel, so pretty busy/full occupancy during my stay meant long lines for check in and taxis. No coffee in room; that's just silly. Hard to navigate hallways/finding elevator and room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
npyles, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Bobeana,

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s always a delight to find travelers that can appreciate an older property and some of the character (dings, coats of paint, etc) that come with it. We do our best to maintain the hotel as it is now 89 years young.

You are right about our bathrooms being small in many of our rooms as many of them are the original size that came with the building. For those looking for a large bathroom I would recommend one of our ADA roll-in shower guest rooms. They are much larger and offer the space that many of us now days are accustom too.

Next time you are with us let us know you would like a coffee maker in the room at checkin and we will be sure to have one sent up complimentary. While they are not standard in every room they are complimentary for all who wish to have one put in their room while they are staying with us.

We hope you will come back and visit us again. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with others.

Sincerely,

The Palmer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Traveling
for a Bears game , hubby and I decided to stay in the Palmer House. A loop hotel vs the Michigan Ave hotel. And we were not disappointed one bit. The location was across the street from the train underground direct from the airport. We always travel via public transportation. Walking distance to all the great sites, shopping and Jimmy Johns (yummy). The rooms are small, but quaint, comfy and cozy. The Starbucks in the lobby was convenient. And just down the block is an establishment called The Bar Below... Very good hang out place. We also hung out in the bar area of the hotel and gazed in awe at the beautiful architecture. A definite return is in the horizon. da Bears!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masfinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
npyles, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Masnifar,

Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate your prospective and you taking the time to share your experience you had while staying at our property with others via TripAvisor. We look forward to providing you with the same level of uncompromising service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us on your next visit and hope that you will join us for many more Bears games in the future!

Sincerely,

The Palmer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Searching through many hotels in Chicago and then I landed on the Palmer House- Starbucks in the lobby and a pool for my Granddaughter- grand old charm for my mother and the hotel experince right in the middle of Chicago for me. we did opt for a room close to the elevators for less walking which was a great idea.( Elevators a little slow and some rooms quite aways a way., Staff was very nice to change ourt rooms) I would stay in the Palmer house on any Chicago trip!

Room Tip: Close to elevator-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDB b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
npyles, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

JDB b,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with everyone. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and that you found our staff to be accommodating and friendly. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stopped for a few days while on a US tour.
Everything was as it should be, room was nice although dark due to the close proimity of other tall buildings, but you have to expect that
It was a typical, rather impersonal large hotel, with good location though and a magnificant ceiling.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDieselJob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishawa S, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor!

With the Palmer House being conveniently located in the heart of Chicago’s Downtown area, we are nestled in and around other magnificent buildings which makes everything that you may need while visiting us available at your finger tips. Should your travels bring you back our way in the future, we would like for you to experience the warm and caring atmosphere that we are famous for providing our guests.

May you continue to have safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Fabulous hotel in a great location. Beautiful rooms on the executive floor. Lots of shopping, restaurants and bars close by. Parking is expensive so avoid the hotel and go around the corner and find a parking garage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Bob,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Palmer House on TripAdvisor. It has been our pleasure to be of service and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again for choosing the Palmer House. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just returned from a business trip to Chicago and stayed at the Palmer for just one night. The hotel is bustling, busy and centrally located. It is my go-to hotel place as it is consistently good and has a historical Chicago cache - provided you are OK with small rooms. Positive points: the lobby and architecture is spectacular, the food was fresh, tasty and nicely presented at the Lockwood restaurant. The staff was generally very helpful - though it was busy and sometimes difficult to find someone to ask a question - and the location was convenient for my needs. I had a pokey little room on the 18th floor that was renovated. It had no view but it was quiet - which is fine by me. Negative points - my room was not very clean - there was a fine layer of dust over many surfaces. The television did not work at all - but was plugged in; the clock radio showed the incorrect time and could not be changed; the bath-tub had someone else's hair in it - and not from their head! Mtce needs to come in and address these issues and the cleaning staff needs to up their game.

Room Tip: if you are looking for peace and quiet ask for a non-adjoining room & a higher floor. Elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLtraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela D, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We appreciate your kind comments about the Palmer House being your go-to hotel when visiting Chicago. We understand you have a choice of hotels and appreciate your loyalty. Please accept my apologies that the cleanliness of your guest room and bathroom were not up to standard during your recent visit. We always strive to deliver flawless service in all aspects and I am truly sorry that your recent stay with us did not reflect that.

Once again thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,344 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,939 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $102 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmer House A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Palmer House A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing