We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is beautiful! You feel as though you have stepped back to the 20's. The check in process was quick and stress-free. We took an hour and explored all the different ballrooms. They are nothing less than stunning! Great location, concierge service was top notch! Only downside was the size of the guest rooms, and a little maintenance was needed. Interior doors need painted, and trim was in rough shape. Very clean, as you would expect from a Hilton property. Overall very good experience and we will be back.

Room Tip: If you are going to be in your room a lot, I would spend more to get a bigger room. Our guest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,068 - 5,074 of 9,448 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

This old building where the The Palmer House Hilton is located is fantastic, in the center of downtown the location is great for shopping and sight seen, close to the Art Institute Museum and the millennium park. This is a must place to stay in Chicago!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to have a room with the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Albert2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I recently stayed at the Palmer House for a business trip. The Hotel is stunning. Common rooms are amazingly gorgeous and inviting. Check-in was quick and easy, but I did check in after 9pm on a Tuesday night. My room was away from the elevator. But it was tiny. Awkwardly the television is not in front of the bed but to the side, making lying in bed and watching television, difficult. The bathroom was enormous compared to the room size. And well equipped. But the biggest issue was the thinness of the walls and doors. As people walked by my room in the hallway it felt like they were right next to me. I could clearly hear everything they were saying. Several times in the evening, I was woken up by other guests making their way to their rooms. Perhaps when booking a room, choose one at the end of the hallway, so no one has to pass by your door as you sleep.

Room Tip: Find one at the end of the hallway, to avoid foot traffic near your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacyGwendolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Staffed by genuinely nice people. As this was our first time in Chicago we relied on the concierge staff to get us acclimated to the transit systems and the nuances of the attractions. They did a great job and did not steer us wrong. Accommodations were top notch, I would insist on a room away from the elevators as guests have a habit or yelling to others down the hall and getting on the elevators.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great place to stay!! Wonderful staff who are so helpful and polite. The hotel is a historic building, and it shows. The room walls are a little thin. Some of the furniture looks a little cheap, but the beds are super comfortable and the wonderful bellmen make up for any negatives this hotel might have.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank kal5381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Palmer House after attending a concert at the Chicago Theater. We were at the most three blocks away from the Hotel so the location is great, also a lot of places where to shop and dine around. The room in itself was very spacious but the bathroom wasn't clean, stains on the floor and shower. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was delicious. The hotel decor is beautiful, angels everywhere. I found a good rate since it was a last minute reservation but because the room wasn't clean enough unfortunately I don't think I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our stay at the Palmer House was great. I felt the staff, especially the reservation desk workers (Edwardo) very friendly , accommodating to needs, This hotel has a pool/hot tub which is nice for travel with kids. I wish they had a coffee pot in the room. The hotel rooms were clean and the hallways/elevators were very well kept

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lynette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#105 of 192 in Chicago
5,380 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $107 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmer House A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Palmer House A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing