We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel perfectly located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Palmer House Hilton to your Saves list
The Palmer House Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking, Dining More
Ranked #94 of 182 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
96 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel perfectly located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Love this hotel and staff. Being the first trip to a large city for my daughters I wanted to go all out and stay close to all the great Chicago attractions. The concierge was a great resource for the elements of the trip I did not plan, and it resulted in a very positive experience. Location was worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Priceline, always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonsuch999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is good (it's near the Magnificent Mile, and public transportation). The lobby, restaurant and bars are beautiful. I think the rooms could use a bit of sprucing up. You don't get a lot of amenities for what you pay for. For example, wi-fi must be purchased for use in the guest rooms. The rooms seem a little dated. I could have paid less money to stay in a more modern hotel (which I will consider for my next visit to Chicago)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank KatGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

nice looking hotel but very impersonal. Did not feel welcomed or at home. they charge for early check-in, late check-out. I did not get the help desk when i called twice. Even the bell boys remind you that they expect a tip, before storing your bag.
i am glad I there there for 1 night only!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdisonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As a Hilton Diamond member I've stayed at several of the Chicago Hiltons (still trying to stay at The Wit, never available!). I highly recommend this hotel over the Hilton on Michigan, the Executive Lounge is much better and the staff seems much more accomodating. Another old classic building which is what you would expect in a big city like Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As a weary couple traveling with a day full of delays, multiple means of transportation and one of us sporting a cold, the Palmer House was a welcome oasis!
Our agent, Olivia checked us in and fortunate for us, worked diligently to find us the perfect upgrade (platinum status) to magnificent suite!! She was a superb representative for this fine hotel and set the tone for our delightful, comfortable and treat of a stay! Thanks to her, we ended up with a suite that was beautiful, spacious and quiet with well appointed furnishings and spectacular views.

All the staff at the hotel, including the Concierge, Bell captains, Housekeeping, Hospitality and Doormen were courteous, helpful and a pleasure to engage with.

The hotel is an architectural marvel and although busy with 1600 rooms, once we returned to the hotel from our busy conference days, it was like being home with all the comforts and then some!

The complimentary breakfast buffet and happy hour offerings on executive level were adequate but with so many great restaurants and a convenient location to many of them, we chose local spots. It was easy enough to walk, take a $5.00 cab or subway lines to navigate from.

Likely we will return here when in Chicago again. It was a perfect stay for us!

Room Tip: we had a corner suite, great view and very quiet, 2 full bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel was clean and nice... but not worth the price you pay. It has an amazing location. People seemed to rave about the lobby. Reminded me of a cheap Vegas hotel. And the lobby was the best part of the hotel. My room was tiny. I'm just over 6ft tall and walking down the hallways I felt like I had to duck under the light fixtures. They were barely 8 foot ceilings in the hallway. And I was on the Hilton Honors floor. Hate to see what the other floors looked liked. 1 person barely fit into the bathroom. And to close the bathroom door you almost had to get into the shower. I did have a large king size bed... it took up most of the floor space. Take out the ironing table and its full.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fommy1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely Hotel to start of our voyage.
Hotel steeped in history, and very busy. Love the main bar area with its marble. Friendly staff who were very helpful.
Situated in the heart of Chicago with lots of shops, bars & places to eat. Close to a Big L station.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#102 of 182 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,794 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 182 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing