We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #97 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cordova, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Girls weekend disappointment”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Reservations made through 3rd party and prepaid. I guess that was my mistake. Requested non-smoking. Given smoking room. Only way to change was to pay for upgrade tom he Executive floor. Additional $400 because we "do not have to honor 3rd party requests". Upon returning to hotel room on second night, a sleep bed had been placed in the room. Please come remove immediately. Third party reservation was to include wi-fi as part of room. Well guess what, you pay $85 more per night and you still do not get wi-fi access. New bed and sleep mattress was excellent. My four night stay in Chicago to help celebrate friends 50th birthday was a major dissapointment. The only reason for two stars is access and location in the loop. The hotel is not worth the expense. Keep searching for another facility. Next time we try the Westin. Maybe they hinor 3rd party reservations.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieLeigh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

My dearest apologies for the disappointing experienced during your visit. We take our guest's feedback into great consideration. We hope you will give us the opportunity to make things right on your next visit to Chicago.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,449
    3,070
    1,428
    683
    345
See reviews for
1,640
2,304
490
3,131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,791)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Having returned from Chicago this afternoon, with a sour taste after spending three days at the PH - I must agree with other comments that while the public spaces at the PH are beautiful and while it's a great place to have a drink or dinner (Lockwood) -- the guest rooms and overall customer service was incredibly disappointing, frustrating -- frankly, the worst I have experienced for years.

I have stayed in a number of other CHI properties over the past decade (usually decided by client or by conference) including House of Blues, Sheraton, Hilton etc.

Long time hilton diamond member, normally have a great experience - have stayed in major hilton properties across euopr and in most major American cities. I decided to splurge w/ spouse while in CHI while in for major conference at McCormick. Called to request an upgrade - and let the res desk know that I would be celebrating anniversary and generally enjoying Chicago.

Arrived early - called to reconfirm upgrade and K bed. "No worries - all good" was the reply... upon arriving at hotel - had planned on stowing luggage and heading out for lunch... instead was told that room was available and I could check in.. Great! oh, wait only room available for you has 2 beds - oversold on K rooms. offered to move off Exec level for a K... Nope... overed to check in later for a K... nope.

Really?? Oversold for a Diamond w notes in the folio re anniversary who had made reservation more than 2 months ago... and had already been charged for the first night stay? (When I received the email confirming reservation, the notes mentioned this!)

The next morning, I went back to front desk to inquire about possibly swapping rooms - Titana(?) again said nope.

Later that day, I called concierge desk to see if we could make arrangements for a show...maybe dinner. The the gentlemen who answered the Concierge phone told me to call ticket master.for show tickets!!! If I wanted to do that I would have just called TICKETMASTER! . I then asked him the location of the Oriental Theatre ( because I was going to just walk over to box office) and he did not know. I was then put on hold for several minutes, at which time I simply hung up.

The room was very small - actually was two beds - not Q - more like single beds, you had to move the desk chair out of the way to enter or exit the room easily. bathroom had a funky double shower head - and the sink was wedged in to the corner with the a partial wall sticking out so you could not stand in front of it with the door open.... and since there is no fan, you need to keep the door open to let the steam dissipate from the shower.

On Thurs - asked for late checkout - you would have thought I had asked for the moon. Desk Clerk hemmed and hawed and stared at her computer screen... I had the feeling she was waiting for me to just say" never mind". After another 20- 30 seconds of uncomfortable silence she finally sighed deeply and granted me permission to extend my visit by 2 hours.

Finally, after checking out, and retrieving vehicle from self park we realized that we had left GPS on the desk in the guest room, so we called hotel security who indicated that it was not in lost and found... asked to check w housekeeping. Not to be found.
Again very disappointing.

Go for a drink, walk around admire the public spaces,.. maybe have a nice dinner but stay elsewhere!!!

Room Tip: If you stay on exec level - stay away from corner rooms - its very crowded in am for bfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieandemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I enjoyed my business stay here. The location was perfect. The rooms were small, I stayed in an executive room with 2 bathrooms which was nice. The amenities of the executive floor were worth the extra costs (faster elevator access, breakfast, snacks, and quieter rooms). I wasn't anticipating that the hotel (lobby, number of rooms, etc) would be so large considering it is historic, it is very large.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank KPat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at the Palmer House from Sept 19-23, 2013 for business. I normally stay closer to the river, when I am in Chicago, but I love this location even more. One block to the Art Institute and the park and less than a block to almost all the L stops. The lower level of the hotel is like an underground mall, with Starbucks and some shops but take the escalator to the Lobby floor and be prepared to be blown away. Stunning and elegant lobby with its chandeliers and frescos on the barrel ceiling. The rooms are on the small side but perfectly comfortable. The bathroom was tiny and there was no storage at all for your toiletries etc. The maid service is a little careless with the vacuuming as there were crumbs on the floor when I got there, and when I left. Overall, I love the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The is a very beautiful historic property, the rooms are not large but very comfortable. I stayed on the 23rd floor. Separate express elevators for the executive floor was great to get to your room at night. If you really wanted, the food provided on the 23rd floor was perfect for breakfast and dinner. There was also snacks just about anytime you would want them. Check in was a breeze and everyone who works at the hotel was so nice. Even when I had an hr to kill I found some of the general staff more than willing to show me around various high spots of the hotel like the ballroom and Al Capone's poker room that other than the lights has not been changed since Capone's time. The secret hiding room is not so secret anymore in that it now has a visible lock on it.

Room Tip: if you can get a room on the executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t6080n5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I booked a king, non-smoking room on Expedia for this hotel, non-refundable. I arrived late in the evening to check-in and was told all that was left were smoking rooms. I cannot stay in smoking rooms due to asthma. The hotel was in a word horrible. They said the third party bookings for smoking rooms are just "special requests" that do not have to be honored. At one point I was told that I had made a special request for a smoking room. While I was sorting this out, other guests were going through the same routine, being given smoking rooms that they did not want. Expedia, despite my "elite status" was not much help either until I called today and spoke to management who did confirm that I had booked a nonsmoking room and refunded my money. The front desk staff at this hotel is awful, inconsiderate, rude, unskilled, I haven't seen anything like this before. There was no compassion for the fact that I could not sleep in a smoking room, and had me stand at the front desk for an hour.. The manager came out and offered me a cot in a conference room, one blanket and one pillow, no shower or tub and let's just say I had a great night at a Hilton.... last time I will stay at a Hilton for a long time.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lifeisgood9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at the Palmer House over the weekend. Checkin was quick. I am Hilton Gold and did not get upgraded, but did get access to the lounge. I did get free internet.

The room was adequate with a king size bed, but the bathroom was tiny.

The lobby by the bar and restaurant is magnificent. Make sure you look up at the ceiling.

Location is great. I took the train from O'Hare and it is 2 blocks to the hotel. It is also 2 blocks to the Art Institute of Chicago.

Would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2121212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#101 of 190 in Chicago
5,090 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 190 in Chicago
4,700 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing