We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay, Great Meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #99 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Great Meeting”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I recently needed to book a business meeting in Chicago. The Palmer House provided a competitive bid and provided excellent service. Booking a meeting at a large hotel is not inexpensive, but the Palmer House really delivered.

But you may not be reading this to learn about their meeting services. I last stayed at the Palmer House about 12 years ago. It was a tired hotel then, and I avoided returning there when I was in Chicago. I decided to give it another try for this meeting and was pleasantly surprised.

I had a room on the Hilton Honors floor. It was comfortably large, the bed was comfortable, and the cleanliness was excellent. The lines at check-in could have moved a bit better if you couldn't use the HHonors line, but once I reached the counter the service was friendly and helpful.

Using the El and the subway, the hotel is convenient to just about anything you might want to do in Chicago. It was a simple ride in from the airport and a block or two walk to the hotel. The bits of historical information around the hotel are interesting and the Lobby bar had a decent selection to choose from.

The next time I'm in Chicago, I won't hesitate to consider staying at the Palmer House again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokencollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,311
    2,949
    1,364
    659
    321
See reviews for
1,537
2,199
477
3,032
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,735)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oia, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here as part of a business conference. The room rate was reduced but the room also was very small. We wanted to upgrade but they would not allow us to upgrade and pay the difference. Our room needed new carpet and was obviously well used. There was ample closet space, and a nice large dresser. The only window looked out into an alleyway that was constant hustle and bustle 24 hrs a day. It was loud even at night. The bed was average comfort but had very few pillows and they were quite flat! I had to buy a small one at a local discount store for the duration. Internet was only in the lobby unless one had a hotspot and even that did not work well in our room.
The hotel is situated near the Loop with multiple entrances for ease in locating your destination. It is within easy walking distance of attractions, State and Michigan Ave shopping districts, the Red Line and bus system. There are a wide variety of restaurants close by with excellent cuisine. The lobby is well-appointed with staff nearby. But breakfast meals in the hotel are very pricey and not particularly tasty. I found a wonderful coffee shop with awesome omelets that became my breakfast choice for the rest of the stay.
The overall impression is that while relatively clean and comfortable, it is a place past it's heydey everywhere except the lobby. Not shabby but not up to date at all. There was no microwave nor refrigerator in our room. The bathroom while clean lacked many of the amenities one has come to expect in a hotel of this price range.
I would not stay here again as there are other hotels in the same price range more well-appointed, cleaner, up to date. The last hotel I stayed previously would get my business as it was a suite for $50 less a night than the small room we had at the Palmer.
The one thing that was superb at the Palmer was the porters/lobby staff. They had all the answers of where everything you could possibly want to see in Chicago was located! And the most convenient, fastest way to get there. They stowed my luggage in the morning before a late afternoon flight, had my limo to the airport waiting at the time I needed it exactly! When it rained, they had umbrellas at the ready and warm hand towels for my hands when I returned from the outside cold at night! They are the best ever!
The staff were courteous, helpful and pleasant

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at the Palmer House Hilton for a work convention this summer and it was just ok. The location is pretty good- minutes away from Millennium Park, the red line stop, restaurants, a Target and about a ten minute walk to Michigan Ave shopping. The hotel is massive. While I was staying there there were four weddings and numerous conventions. The hotel was full, which made the service a bit slow, understandably. The rooms are updated, clean, but very small, as is the bathroom. The walls are very thin and it almost seems as if your neighbors are in the same room with you. If you're looking for a hotel that's in a good location and you won't be spending much time in the room, this is an option. If you have kids and will be hanging in the room for any period of time I would look elsewhere. Also the pool is very, very small.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Rooms small but clean and updated. No fan in the bathroom, was kinda weird. No cell reception or data in the room, was also a little weird. The guest room floors are a little like a maze. Don't get too drunk! Very neat lobby-impressive space with old school architecture. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was given a room that was already occupied by someone else. The staff did not apologize or try to make up for it, but quickly dismissed the incident saying "This has never happened before". I was underwhelmed and unimpressed with the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

My dearest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your review will be shared for training opportunity.


Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Really great place to stay -- the hotel staff goes out of their way to please. Nice room -- comfortable bed but you have to ask for the Honors Floor!
Big complaint is that you have to go to the Lobby for free internet -- just bugs me and that's why I will not stay at a Hilton Hotel. You can get free at Hampton -- just do not get it.
Another thing to be aware of is that -- they might not give you the same rate that you book on -- they'll try to charge a higher rate -- they did however honor the lower -- not at the hotel but to their CS rep.

Room Tip: Great Location -- in the loop
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlomangino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay at the Palmer House and appreciate you taking the time to share a review. Also, Gold and Diamond Hilton members receive complementary access to the internet, along with many more perks. Again, thank you and I hope you will continue to stay at Hilton properties.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The service was excellent from check-in to check-out. The main lobby was extremely grand and the guest rooms, superb, lush, a home away from home. It is a walking distance from all the shopping malls, theaters, lots of restaurants, and good food. It made my stay in Chicago truly blissful. Truly a great experience.

Room Tip: Book well in advance because during the summer months there may not be any rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeyinka I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,854 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing