We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #104 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Stayed at the Palmer House for Girlfriend Getaway during the Taste of Chicago. I was disappointed with the room. It was small, had a brick wall for a view, and the bathroom barely had turning around room.

BUT..................................

This is a great location. It is close to shopping and attractions in the downtown area. We were a couple of blocks away from Grant Park (where the Taste was). The service is very very good. The staff is very helpful and courteous. And even though the room was small, the bed slept well and the decor was very nice and classic.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wannabglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,363 - 8,369 of 9,309 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2008

The hotel is on a very busy street, the subway makes the street very noisy during the day. There's still construction going on, swimming pool and main entrance closed.
We parked at 55 State St. across from the hotel, for 35 USD/night, ouch! However we got a cheap price for the room, USD89/night, booked through hotwire.com.
Surprised to see in such expensive hotel that there is no shower cap in the bathroom and no coffee maker. Also the mattress was very soft, I would say very old, sagging.
With all the noise from the street(20th floor facing Wabash St, where the subway goes by on the elevated line) I was concerned it was going to be noisy, however the windows were double panels and did a good job insulating us from the noise below in the street (and I am a light sleeper).
The corner bakery (just in the corner of the building) is great for breakfast, very fast and good food, I definitely recommend it, good way to start the day.
All in all an average experience, the good part was the location and I guess the price, even after factoring in the car parking.
We used the free trolley system to save our feet after too much walking. The Greek town is just a handful of restaurants, nothing more, good food though.
We walked 4.5 blocks south to the Guys Blues place one evening, the place is alright but we weren't lucky with the band that night, avoid Texas Fire Band, never heard of blues in Elvis Presley rock and roll style.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marcopolo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

I took my wife to Chicago for her 50th Birthday and our three nights at The Palmer House Hilton made it truly memorable. Our first room was a bit small, but this being an grand old hotel, that was expected. We did, however, inquire about a possible move to a bigger room and Erika at the front desk was more than willing to help. Wow! Did we ever get a bigger room! Huge, two bathrooms, a sitting area ... It was great. The Hotel itself is in the middle of a large renovation but there was no noise and little inconvenience. The lobby is beautiful, the staff helpful, the location - right downtown and close to everything - was perfect. Make sure you walk the three block to the new Millennium Park in Grant Park. Thank you Hilton for a great stay and a great birthday celebration for my wife and me. PERFECT!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casa4602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

We paid $150 per night for this hotel and I must say, it was not worth it. When I saw pictures of the hotel lobby online, I figured it would be an amazing hotel with wonderful rooms. This was not the case. The rooms were dated, with approximately 1970's window treatments. Carpets in rooms and hallways were not plush or cozy. Also, the lighting in the room and hallways was dark. My expectations for Hilton were very high, as I have never had a bad experience till now. We paid $150 for night, through Priceline. I am sure it is far more expensive directly through Hilton. It is not worth the money. Go for the Hilton Chicago near the Magnificent Mile instead.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DCdiva79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Recently stayed in Chicago overnight with mother (70+) and teen daughter (16) we stayed at the Palmer House (it rocked) and ate dinner at Attwood Cafe (loved it and our server Rachel) and saw Wicked, totally worth every penny. We did regret not having umbrellas with us, it rained off and on suddenly, would have liked larger beds at the Palmer but the gorgeous rooms and lobby made up for it as well as Phillipe the concierge who was very informative. And the Corner Bakery was the best for breakfast and lunch, very reasonably priced and delicious!!
Love it and plan to return over the 4th of July for Taste of Chicago and more fun plus more nights....this time at Marriott Downtown (got a steal of a deal by signing up on their web site and then back again in late July for a trip to the Blackwood Renassaince hotel.

Thank eswmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

After reviewing hotels in Chicago, we picked the Palmer House Hilton. The rates were very expensive, but we liked what we read and were determined to stay here. Three days before we left, I realized that I could bid on this hotel via Priceline. Our original price (through the hotel web site) was $1015 for 3 nights, through Priceline we paid $370.

Good things about the hotel are, it is in a convienent location, it is beautiful and a nice lobby. A couple of the nights, we had cocktails and dessert in the bar area. It is a perfect place to people watch.

Bad things about the hotel, were the "craziness" of the lobby area and the confusing layout. When we walked in with our luggage, not one person greeted us and we wandered along looking for the registration area. Once we finally made it there (thanks to a couple of friendly hotel guests), the employee (Eric) at registration was very nice. He apologized for the confusion and upgraded our stay to a bigger room. And after reading the other reviews about the small rooms, I'm glad we had a bigger room.

A side note, there is a lot of construction going on at this time. The "gym" area is very hard to find and if you are desperate for a workout, it is ok.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMHappyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

The reviews for this hotel vary so widely that I wanted to add my very positive experience to the others. Stayed here for four days with my daughter while on a mini-vacation to explore a new city. The Palmer House is a fabulously restored very old hotel; our room was gigantic and newly decorated--couldn't have been nicer. All was clean and fresh. Others have reported moldy bathrooms, dirty carpets etc. and I would be unhappy with those things too, but did not come across anything bad at all.

Our check in was quick and friendly, and the concierge desk was very helpful with directions, maps, and suggestions.

The downtown location is very convenient for a tourist--about a block from the nearest El station (Adams/Wabash) and the Art Institute, Millenium Park, etc.

I don't understand why the reviews are so mixed; maybe this isn't a brisk hotel for business travelers and is better suited for people on vacation? Anyway, it has tremendous charm and good service.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Needsavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,308 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,910 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $99 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmer House A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palmer House A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing