We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, historic hotel --- enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #100 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel proved to be a nice home base during a conference. The lobby is stunning, and the room was very nice. The room was classic Hilton --- comfortable and well-appointed. My view was of the courtyard.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Here There and Everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,095)
There are newer reviews for The Palmer House Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,345 - 5,351 of 9,095 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

The palmer house hilton has everything you need, from ATM's to UPS post offices. The service is very good, and staff can help you out making reservations and things like that at the concierge desk. They also have a restaurant and lounge, which can be a little bit pricy but the food is amazing though. The hotel has a dream lobby, when you arrive, you just think you're in a italian cathedral, or something like that. You can also take advantage of the business center, they have desks with computers, printers and fax device, so you can do anything you need.
The rooms can be not that great sometimes, but I got a really good one for a reasonable price, the only thing is that they didn't have a mini fridge. At a 4-star hotel, really?
Overall, I'd definitely recommend it for friends and would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for mini fridges in advance, and make sure you know the exact size of the room you're stayin...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viniciuspcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton-Palmer House in downtown Chicago. Used the Valet parking which was efficient and helpful. Walked to several locations from our hotel. Our room was quiet (13th floor) and comfortable. Every staff member we spoke to was courteous, helpful, and pleasant. It was a busy place but our check in was effortless. Great place and beautiful lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Arrived at this hotel after a very long trip and could not find the end of the queue to check in, The Queue was so long it ended up right across the reception are and out in to the street, staff even came round with bottled water.If you were a Hilton Honours member you could go to a separate registration desk. They had 3 to 4 staff on with a line of about 3 people but these staff were so slow they seemed oblivious to the frustration felt by most people waiting. The room though clean was quite small , In the reception area there was no where to sit unless you were buying a drink or having a snack and even then the seating was limited. We wont stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1AlanKay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We apologize for the the long queue upon check-in and have shared with our executive team to create a best practice plan for the future. We hope to regain your confidence in the Palmer House Hilton. Additionally, we recently expanded our lobby seating area to the Mez level overlooking the lobby, which also offers complimentary wifi access, to increase seating options.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.

Warmest Regards,
Christine Smith
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location -- a block away from Michigan Avenue and the parks, there are wonderful places to eat all around, public transport is at the front door! The hotel is in need of a refresh. The wallpaper is pealing in the bathroom. There were several patches of water damage all over the room and mildew.

I was in room 202 on the 14th floor - 2 steps from the ice machine and housekeeping rooms. Loud is an understatement.

The bellstaff were very rude and appeared "put out" to hail a cab or answer a question - all save the one right outside the UPS store. He was a gem!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliz1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in the Palmer House Hilton in July for four nights. Rooms were very big, and bathroom adequate and clean with lovely Peter Thomas Roth toiletries. Large TV in room. We had a twin room which consisted of two huge king beds- soooo comfy. To our misfortune however our neighbours in the room next door were so noisy. There was a young child and what sounded like two adults and they shouted and cried all night every night for three of the four nights. The walls are obviously very thin. This prevented us from getting a good nights sleep for the first three nights. It is also what is knocking off a star from my rating. The lobby of the hotel is spectacular, and the cocktails in the lobby bar were delicious- expensive but delicious! The hotel is very conveniently located, very near an 'El' station, and very near Millennium Park, Magnificent Mile, Grant Park etc. Breakfast wasn't included in the rate, but there is a lovely cafe deli next door which is very reasonable. Overall, I would definitely stay at the Palmer House Hilton again- but I'll bring ear plugs next time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our trip to Chicago had the intention of seeing "The Book of Mormon" play at the Bank of America theater. It was less than one block to walk to the theater (same street). We never needed to pull our car out, tho the hotel offers an in/out validation on the parking garage.

The hotel is a SHORT walk to the Art Institute, Millennium Park, and a variety of other worth-seeing sights in that area of Chicago.

The room was immaculate and pleasing to be in....we didn't want to leave, but wanted to get some of the sights in before going to the play.

Palmer House has to be experienced. It is hard to describe how interesting it is both as a landmark building as well as a hotel room. We will definitely stay there again when we make it back there...but will include a light throw to take to the park so we can sit on the grass and enjoy the symphony!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 191 in Chicago
5,173 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 191 in Chicago
6,838 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $112 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing