We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beat Expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #97 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beat Expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked two rooms through the Lollapalooza website for the music festival. After reading other reviews I was a bit weary about my decision, but the experience couldn't have been better. Great person in reservations was able to get adjacent rooms for us. Even though the check in line looked long, there was plenty of staff to expedite. Gorgeous Lobby. Our rooms were spacious although peeked in other doors left open during housekeeping and many were smaller. Rooms were very clean, and beds comfortable. Great location for Grant & Millennium Parks, Art Institute, Museum Campus, Theatres, State Street shopping and plenty of dining options. We booked out parking through SpotHero and ended up right underneath the hotel. The gym looked fabulous, but I didn't want to spend $10 to use. We like to walk so had no issue walking past river to Magnificent Mile

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenL204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,224
    2,886
    1,326
    639
    311
See reviews for
1,498
2,137
467
2,949
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,688)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I loved staying at the Palmer house Hilton stop by and see Shah at the concierge, he is so helpful. I read reviews about the wait for elevators, I have not experienced any wait time at all. The room I am staying in is lovely. The staff are very helpful and so far it has been a pleasure, for my first time in Chicago I think we picked a winner. The Hotel is so close to the gray line tours. Go chicago has an office right in the hotel. Everything I needed is right here.

Room Tip: We stayed on 21st floor extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritCaledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here for a few days in August. The hotel is old with beautiful architecture. However, I was disappointed with size of the bathroom. Looking at the 12" tiles on the floor, the standing area was estimated to be 32" x 32". That's smaller than the footprint of an average refrigerator. Plus, the door opened into that area. I found myself drying off and getting dressed in the hallway outside the bathroom. I asked a friend that was also staying in the hotel and her bathroom was tiny too. While the sink had a granite counter and seemed modern, the tub and tub tiles were old and needed replacement. The room itself was a decent size. However, my friend reported her room was small.

I had the buffet breakfast included in my room rate. I ate there twice and the food was not good. The scrambled eggs were runny with chives all over them. I do not like crunchy chives on my runny eggs. I changed to the pancakes and waffles and they tasted blah. You should ask for a made to order omelette or something other than the buffet.

The gym looked very nice, but you couldn't use it without paying an additional fee. It's not included with the room. That's ridiculous.

On a positive note, the location was great. It was near many city attractions, restaurants, etc.

I would stay here again if the price was right because of the location and not because of the accommodations. I

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bone999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Huge hotel, accommodating a small city, I believe :) a lot if facilities for a big conference, and perks to make it not only business, but a pleasure. SPA in hotel with amazing massage, main Chicago sights nearby, comfortable rooms. Although for the price I would add free wifi in the rooms - one but quite significant disappointment during my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olya_Sanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you are a tourist with some extra money to spend, stay here. The location is ideal. You roll out of bed and you are in Millienium Park and Grant Park. You walk 5 steps and you are at the Art Institute. Michigan Ave and the Loop is right there. Plus, the train is right outside the door, however you would never know it from your room because you won't hear it at all. The lobby and restaurant/lounge area is lavishly decorated and really a sight to behold. All staff were friendly and accommodating. One doorman was particularly nice and had great answers for everything, I really should have gotten his name.

Not the cheapest place but I think it was money well spent. A perfect location in a great part of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

They upgraded our room during a marathon weekend. Service was impeccable. We had a "near the top" floor corner room with a decent view. The TV was a "boob tube" style, and the décor was dated, but the bed was amazingly comfortable, and we had a nice stay. We used a "negotiator" to name our price and stayed here for a steal. I wouldn't have picked this hotel outright, but we weren't disappointed with it, all things considered. Location was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Par_tee_of_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
310 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I am a Diamond Hilton member and recently decided to stay local and head to the Palmer House for an evening with my family. The entire check in process was amazing slow. Arrived......had to wait for 25 minutes in line, then was told that I had to move my car out of the valet parking to the local self service lot to get the rate quoted. Even though I just arrived it took 25 minutes to find the car. While I was doing this my wife was trying to check our bags since the rooms were not ready. That took 20 minutes as well. When arrived later that afternoon to check (it was now 4:30) I was told one of the rooms was not ready. No apology. Will avoid this place in the future.

Room Tip: Just plan to spend a lot of time in lines!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamFunIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Hilton, we want to thank you for your continued patronage of Hilton and apologize for your recent experience as it's certainly not indicative of our service potential. We will actually be offering several new parking options which will eliminate the issue you highlighted. We hope that the new parking upgrades options coupled with our team creating a new best practice plan for check-in will encourage you to give our property another chance.

We appreciate your honest feedback.

Warmest Regards,
Christine Smith
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,298 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing