We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #98 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Historic hotel in central location”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The location is perfect for walking around Chicago and adjacent to several "L" stops. A block from the Art Institute and Millennium Park and an easy walk around downtown, so if you don't need a car, I wouldn't bother. This beautiful hotel makes you feel as though you are a part of Chicago history. It can be very busy in the lobby, but the staff is accommodating and friendly. The executive floors give you a break from the crowds in the lobby and offer a continental breakfast and bar service in the evening. I would get out in the city and try options other than the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: The executive floors are worth it . . . smaller, but charming and beautifully decorated rooms and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,408
    3,039
    1,409
    680
    335
See reviews for
1,604
2,276
486
3,106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,773)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, WA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I purchased this trip through Southwest Vacations so giving particulars on my rate is not easy since you get a break on airfare and room doing it this way. I booked a standard room with 2 double beds for 8 nights. For $8 a day extra I asked for a higher floor (above 17).

The room was very clean, classified as an accessible room with a large bathroom. The room had a small fridge and large flat screen TV. In room wireless is not free for regular people like me ($15 a day). Yes, if you have At&T service on your phone you can get free wifi (like you do at McDonald's) but we had some devices that are Wifi only and could therefore not connect for free in the room. They tell you there is free wifi in the lobby but when you go there signs are on all the tables that clearly state you may not sit down in the lobby unless you are seated by a Host of "Lockwood" the Bar and Restaurant operator. One day I just stood in the middle of the lobby with my ipad trying to return messages.

There is no free breakfast. With three of us even the continental buffet would have been $45 (includes tip) When sight seeing in the heat we prefer to have a full breakfast and skip lunch.

Again for ordinary folks, the pool and fitness center is not free, $10 per person per use charge.

Didn't park, but there is a huge parking charge, self-parking $42 per day.

No free shuttle service of any kind. We purchased CTA passes so we could use the trains and busses without always digging for correct change. Didn't use a cab all week. Took boat transportation once ($8 per person) from Shedd to Navy Pier. Worth the price for the entertainment and getting away from the heat a little.

Hotel Registration "offered" me an upgrade that I almost accepted since I was tired and had been flying all day. Unfortunately the "upgrade offer" would have cost me a total of $440 for my stay. I declined it.

In retrospect I think I could have found a better value for a family trip. Since I am now more comfortable with Chicago's public transit system the loop location of the Palmer becomes less of a necessity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmccunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Experience a bit of Chicago's history. Our guest room was small – not unusual for an urban hotel – but fresh, well-appointed, and pleasant. Delicious breakfast at hotel’s Lockwood Restaurant. Friendly, helpful staff. We’re already planning a return visit to this lovely property.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CivilWar_tourist62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The lobby was so lovely and fun to walk thru every time thru to our room. We had a double double with 2 baths - Wonderful! I was traveling with my teenage daughter, great not to have to manage bathroom time.
The hotel staff was very accommodating, housekeeping was quick and efficient. The location was great too, besides being in the middle of where we wanted to be the CTA Red Line was to the right and Blue Line was to the left, we took the train from and to O'Hare, that was a luxury not to be in the traffic.

Room Tip: love that some rooms have 2 baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagamore73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful and very large and busy. The common areas are very opulent and roaming the halls and seeing the pictures of all the very famous people who appeared in the Empire Room gave you a real sense of history. It is in a very good location within walking distance of everything. The hallways seemed to have low ceilings and take you on a maze through the hotel. My daughter said it kind of felt like we were on the Titanic. The room itself was nice but average. We had a view of another building's roof. There were spots where to wallpaper was peeling off the wall in the room and bathroom. The bathroom was large with marble floors and one of the mirrors that magnify everything by 1000 that no one should ever have to look into. We did use to pool/hot tub. It was okay. Nice glass ceiling but the pool itself could certainly have been cleaner, not the water but the sides of the pool looked a little moldy. My biggest complaint was that trays from room service outside peoples' room were left there. And left there. And left there. It was pretty ridiculous to see food on the floor every time we went to our room. Overall, the hotel is really pretty, service was good and I would stay here again if I could get a good deal. We paid approximately $150 per night plus tax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdadamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Palmer House for its proximity to the start line for the Chicago Rock N Roll Half Marathon. While our room was not enormous (ok, it was basically a closet with a bed), it was clean and tucked away on the 10th floor where we did not have a lot of street noise. I absolutely love the historic feel of the hotel. The mattress is comfortable and since we don't spend a lot of time in the room while in the Windy City, the lack of space wasn't an issue for us.

Room Tip: We were on the State Street side, 10th floor. Definitely quieter than the Monroe side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Great location for pre-race stay for Rock and Roll half marathon. Convenient and very nice though a bit pricey. Had five rooms for family group. Rooms all slightly different. Comfortable beds. Executive lounge warm... no cookies during evening...nuts available.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancydto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#102 of 190 in Chicago
5,042 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,614 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing