We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Centrally Located Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #98 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Centrally Located Hotel”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel, but beware, not all rooms are created equal. We were first given a smoking room and the stench of smoke was so bad that we asked to be moved. Upon being moved to a non-smoking room, not only was the smell much better, but the room was much larger and better appointed. The lobby of this hotel is gorgeous!

The hotel is centrally located to most major attractions in Chicago. We were able to walk to the Chicago Art Institute. There is also lots of shopping within walking distance of the hotel. The Book of Morman play was also just across the street from the hotel!

Room Tip: Avoid the smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,408
    3,039
    1,409
    680
    335
See reviews for
1,604
2,276
486
3,106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,773)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here the weekend of the Big 10 Tournament and St. Patty's Day. It was a full house! The hotel is beautiful, but I think the staff was overwhelmed with the number of people coming and going. It was good for what I needed it for, which was a place to sleep. The rooms were super small, I'm glad we got a deal on it because I've paid the same for a larger room with an equally good location. Our room only had one double bed that felt like a twin. Get a queen or king room if you want more bed space or space in general.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon_April_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The historic Palmer House Hilton in Chicago has got to be one of the oldest hotels in Chicago and over the years has not lost any of its glamour. Renowned for featuring in the film the fugitive starring Harrison Ford it has a lot more than this to offer. Quite nearby a lot of impressive museums and the splendid arena of the soldiers field it is in walking distance to the central areas of Chicago. The hotel itself features the most beautiful lobby I have ever seen in any hotel, the staff and most importantly the concierge were most helpful throughout my stay. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The cuisine lacked nothing and will certainly tickle your taste buds all in all I do not have a bad word to say about my stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

There are several great historic hotels to stay at in Chicago and The Palmer House is definitely near the top. While the rooms can be on the small side, who spend their time in Chicago in their rooms. There are fantastic restaurants within walking distance and the Chicago Art Institute is only about two blocks away. People watching in the hotel lobby, however, is just as fun as visiting a museum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was here for a business convention in August 2012. The hotel is nice and conveniently located to public transportation and within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, etc. The room was clean. The hotel is beautiful but feels somewhat outdated. The indoor pool is a huge plus. The convention rooms were cold but otherwise nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip, and I don't think I would return if business takes me to Chicago again. The fundamental problem with this hotel is the erratic service. Some staff are helpful and pleasant; others are taciturn. When I checked in, the woman at the front desk greeted me with the statement, "give me a minute." She typed away at her computer for a couple minutes, then checked me in with a minimum of conversation.. It was sort of like the DMV. The concierge desk was sometimes helpful, but on my first night, I requested a place with an interesting wine list within walking distance and was sent to the Grill Room. They had a wine list, but it was terrible. I had better luck on a return visit when the concierge recommended Henri (great spot). The doormen grudgingly assisted when I asked for walking directions. They never smiled at guests. I asked for directions once and that was enough. On the plus side, the housekeepers did a great job ... my room was spotless. As others have noted, the rooms are on the compact side, but definitely roomy enough for solo business travelers. Walls are incredibly thin, so hope you have considerate neighbors.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for room away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALibSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This historic hotel is lovely and in a great Chicago location. My room on the 20th floor was relatively quiet in a noisy city - especially the night the Blackhawks won their first game against the Bruins! The hotel's amenities were on par with all Hiltons, (no coffee-maker - maybe those are being phased out?) the staff were excellent, in-room dining arrived in 10 minutes (seriously), and the beauty of this hotel can be found in every corner. There is a Starbucks on the street level along with a UPS store, business center, and many other services. My room attendant took excellent care of my personal items, especially since my bathroom was on the small side. There are plenty of outlets for charging all of your devices.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judyw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,070 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#102 of 190 in Chicago
5,043 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,615 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing