We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$275
$242
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$375
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
$215
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$386
$324
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$279
$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$416
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (9,636)
Filter reviews
9,636 results
Traveler rating
3,706
3,271
1,540
736
383
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,706
3,271
1,540
736
383
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive levelempire roomlockwood restaurantbeautiful lobbybeautiful hotelart institutethe loopclassic hotelstreet levelmillennium parklobby bara hilton honors memberrooms are smallan older hoteltwo double bedsdowntown chicagoconcierge desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,286 - 6,291 of 9,636 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Old world feeling in a great hotel. The Palmer House is our preferred hotel when staying in Chicago. Love the style, location and friendliness of the staff. We almost always book on the executive level - nicer rooms.

Room Tip: Nicer rooms on the Executive Level
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The lobby is archetecturally stunningand a nice spot to have a pre or post dinner cocktail. The staff were all very helpful and accomodating. Stayed in a King suite and had his and hers bathrooms which I love.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inthelooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stay here often for business every time we come to Chicago. The hotel is very centralized and is close to all the shopping. Concierge is always very helpful. The rooms are very clean and the staff is always friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I always love staying at this hotel. This was our 5th time. Usually we always hotwire it and always end up getting it. The lobby's ceiling is just amazing and whimsical. This place is always happening. So if you don't like the hustle and bustle don't come here. The lobby has a bar area and tons of lounging area for people drinking, socializing and eating. The ballrooms also surround it so there is always events, weddings, meetings going on. I will say it tends to get pretty busy at check-in, but if you have Hilton Honors which we do it tends to make it better.

Rooms are great, very nice set up and décor on our room which was on the 9th floor.

The location is just in the heart of downtown Chicago I would say. It is on the Wabash stop for the train. so you will only walk about 1-2 blocks to the hotel.

I would all the extra stuff for example the starbucks on the ground floor.

Overall we always have a great experience staying at the palmer house

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsisAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

convenient traffic and excellent shopping environment;convenient traffic and excellent shopping environment;convenient traffic and excellent shopping environment;convenient traffic and excellent shopping environment;convenient traffic and excellent shopping environment;

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Weiqing N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews