We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #100 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. Nice clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Clean. Only downside was could hear my neighbor talk on phone in the bathroom as vents are connected. Could also see light from their bathroom. Room service is very pricey here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drvmywifecrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,109)
There are newer reviews for The Palmer House Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,895 - 5,901 of 9,109 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Check in was a breeze they had my room ready early so we could drop our bags and head out for the city. The concierges were all very helpful. The one gentleman I do not know his name but you cannot miss him with his bow tie. Told us about eleventh st diner for breakfast was a hit. The room was very clean and all staff very polite.
Would certainly return.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This use to be one of my favorite Chicago Hiltons. It appears I wasn't the only one with complaints staying there St Patricks weekend.

The location is great and the staff is friendly. But breakfast is an important part of my hotel stays. As a diamond with Hilton you are to get a continental breakfast (many properties give diamonds a full breakfast) and if there is a lounge they can serve breakfast there instead.

My last two stays I have to take my breakfast back to my room because I couldn't even find a seat. This past stay I was on 23 so it wasn't as big of a deal but it is a pain if you to try to carry food to your room on another floor.

When I am promised breakfast/lounge access, I expect that to mean I will have a seat. As another poster mentioned they are giving ALL golds lounge access. Seeing you can obtain gold with just a credit card, this is really contributing to the lounge overcrowding. Golds are only to get access if they are on the exec floor. They need to start limiting lounge access to people on the exec floors and diamonds to keep the crowding down. Or better yet, give diamonds a better breakfast alternative and I wouldnt care about the lounge overcrowding.

They also need to bring back the diamond check in desk or limit the HHonors line to diamonds and crew members. I had to wait over 15 minutes in line and then when my key needed recoding I had to wait 10 minutes in line.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesteroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

As a Chicago native I always enjoy when I get to return home and stay at any number of hotels in the Downtown area. I would avoid this nickel and dime hotel at all cost. First you get charged for parking (which is not atypical in Chicago, but a sky high rate), then you are charged for internet (wake up management....no one charges for room wifi anymore and certainly not at $14.00 a day!), then if you are an active person you have to pay to use the gym and pool!! (Seriously! A hotel that asked me to pay $10.00 to use a pool or treadmill?! And this was per day too!), and good thing I am from here and know where to get gooood cheap food or else the restaurant would hammer you for a $6.00 box of cereal and a $20.00 omelet! Pick your hotel wisely, lesson learned from this landmark.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nlouis1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. All of our Gold and Diamond Hilton Honor members receive complementary access to the Internet, and fitness center (includes Silver members). We provide complementary Internet access for all of our guests in the hotel’s lobby. Also, parking rates run similar to other hotels in the area. Again, thank you and I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very easy access from train to hotel. My husband and myself arrived early around 900am expecting we would have to put bags away and roam city till room available. We were pleasantly surprised a room was available. We were advised when we booked it was for a Queen size bed. My husband is a little wide, so the nice lady upgraded us to a King.
She was very helpful. Lobby beautiful
The room was a bit small but not a big deal, reed prior reviews about some large and some small and not a concern.
Very clean, decorated nice. Perfect.
The Starbucks, downstairs bar, and access to so many places near hotel was such a plus. My husband was sick. I had no worries running across street to CVS late at night to get him cold medicine.
And B and B restaurant down the block was great for breakfast. Nice service and quick if in a hurry. Recommend strongly

Room Tip: we had 14-242 and loved it, Not a perfect view...but was just fine
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chongalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Palmer House is a breathtaking, lavish hotel reminiscent of the glamour of old. This historic setting in downtown Chicago is amazing and the service and accommodations leaving you feeling like one of the rich and famous!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

I’m happy to hear you had a delightful stay at the Palmer House. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, and we hope you will have an opportunity to visit again.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked this hotel for a long weekend in Chicago. It is a historic hotel with an impressive lobby and the location is ideal, but that's about where the redeeming qualities of this place end. Even though most of the rooms are recently renovated, they still feel tired and run down with peeling wallpaper, missing handles on furniture, stained curtains, and an extensive and varied collection of body hair sprinkled about the room (on sheets, in tub, on carpet). Also, be very specific about the makeup of your party when booking. We booked two rooms for five adults in our party (4/1) and were given two rooms with two beds. Apparently, they feel a king size bed and a cot (which, incidentally did not physically fit in the room), is an acceptable sleeping arrangement for four adults. Also, late into the evening, a guest from a neighboring room, intoxicated and in his "tightie whities" in the hallway, knocked on the door wanting in and asking our party to call security for him to help him find his room. Granted, it makes for a good chuckle now, but that's the type of thing you will put up with at this hotel. We got this location through one of those "secret hotel" websites where you don't find out what it is until you book. Be forewarned that this is a huge hotel and therefore is likely to be what you get in the Theater District/The Loop when using those sites. This is not a true four star hotel and I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LR L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 191 in Chicago
5,177 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 191 in Chicago
6,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $111 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing