We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #98 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Evansville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Okay but not great”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife for a Valentines weekend get away because of the nightly rate and the hotel's convenient location in the theatre district, great restaurants, and shopping. I was less than impressed by the customer service by the staff, especially the valet and bell men who were not always present when we would arrive at the hotel. I even had to go inside to the front desk to ask for the valet and the reaction of the front desk clerk was as if I had interrupted her. Other than the staff issues, the hotel was fine, the room is rather small and outdated, but the hotel is historic and in a premium location.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MattnBrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I apologize on behalf of the hotel’s staff for any reaction that may have made you feel unwelcomed. I’m delighted to hear you chose to spend Valentines Day at our hotel, and I hope you and your wife still enjoyed your special day.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,402
    3,026
    1,406
    678
    335
See reviews for
1,598
2,269
484
3,099
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,768)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ucliz
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The lobby is beautiful, but other than that it's just average. Our room was clean, but very small. The window view wassteward other rooms. I have stayed in nicer roadside motels. The location was good, but I would not go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, KS
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I always like staying in the Palmer House. We visit Chicago at least once a year and this is the first place I always look when booking a room. It is a beautiful old hotel but yet the rooms for the most part have been updated with all the modern conveniences. Free wireless internet would be a plus but having it for a fee seems to be typical in this type of hotel. The location is great with easy access to the L, walking distance to Michigan Avenue and lots of restaurants nearby.

Our King room was on the small side but as we weren't in there much it didn't matter. The only complaint I have about the room was I believe there might be a water issue in the bathroom. There appeared to be a slight musty or earthy smell in there and I think water might be getting into the walls around the tiles in the shower. We kept the bathroom door shut when not using it and that eliminated any odor in our room. We've stayed here several times and this was the first time I've had a room with this problem.

Overall I love this place with all it's history and definately will be back!

Room Tip: I would recommend not staying in room 20-209 unless the bathroom is repaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Palmer House is an historic hotel in a great location in downtown Chicago which has been purchased by Hilton. The location provides easy access to downtown highlights, and is within easy walking distance to Millenium Park. Shopping is not however really within walking distance. The Palmer House is situated close to the subway though, so shopping the Magnificent Mile is quite easy and just a few stops away.

Our friend said it had the best gymnasium she had ever seen in a hotel. We utilised the free continental breakfast provided with our room, however in my view it was just adequate - and a few more selections would have been more appropriate.

In my view, food options close by are a little limited.
We were also on a high floor but still heard quite a bit of street noise and rail noise, so I would suggest requesting a high floor when you book.

Our friends had a large room with two ensuites - and this would definitely be our recommendation if you can manage it.

All in all, I would stay here again and am happy to recommend this hotel to you.

Room Tip: Must have a high floor to minimise street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crzzzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Class, tradition, character, elegance, location. I love the Palmer House!! I feel like a big shot whenever I stay there. The lobby is grand and particularly awesome. The ceiling reminds me of the Sistine chapel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_emig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review on the Palmer House. We appreciate you sharing a review and value your feedback. It is wonderful to hear you had a delightful experience at our hotel. We look forward to your next visit and wish you a safe travel to your next destination.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel with many great places nearby, such as the art musuem, restaurants, and Route 66 start/end. Rooms were very nice. Recommend the rooms in the newer section as they are more spacious. 18th floor+

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel has a great vintage feel but updated in nice and yet historically correct way. Helpful note - if you have Hilton Honor status there is a check in line far to the right that is often shorter and by far the fastest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,065 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#101 of 190 in Chicago
5,030 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,601 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing