We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #97 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I love this hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here Friday night and upgraded to executive floor to get a room with 2 bathrooms to make getting ready Saturday easier. THe lobby is worth visiting even if you're not staying here, really beautiful. The rooms are very large, nicely furnished and everything is first rate. Executive floor includes a lounge with hors d'oeuvres, which was nice because it was 12 degrees and snowing outside. Breakfast included on executive floor was good, the pastries were very good. The location is perfect easy walk to Art Institute, Millineum Park, Miracle Mile Elevated right outside. I particularly enjoy the photos which line the hallways of all the celebrities that have performed in the hotel lounge over the years.
My only complaints ares the beds are small and no free wifi in room: Why they put a double bed in a fine hotel is beyond me. We stayed the following night in a Hilton Garden Inn and the beds were queen size. The Palmer House is supposed to be a 4 star hotel so why scrimp on the bed size? It makes no sense. Also charging for wifi is just cheap and petty. Again, why does Hilton give guests free wifi at their Hilton Garden Inns yet charge for it at the Palmer House?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,224
    2,886
    1,326
    639
    311
See reviews for
1,498
2,137
467
2,949
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,688)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here with our two children the weekend of Jan 18 - 20. My husband and son went to a Bulls Game and my daughter and I went to see the Book of Mormon. The location of the hotel is excellent as long as you can walk a little. The theatre is practcally right next to the Palmer House and a cab ride to the Bulls Stadium was only $13.00. We also walked to all the great shopping on Michigan Avenue.

The architecture of this hotel is so beautiful and our room was wonderful. I booked the Executive Level double room and was very pleased when I was offered an Executive Level Double with two bathrooms at no extra cost. The room was perfect size and it was great to have two closets and two bathrooms. The bathrooms are small but they provide a large glass table next to the second bathroom which was more than enough room for our toiletries, curling irons etc. The Executive Level "appetizers" were very good as was the continental breakfast. My only complaint was that a glass of wine was $9.00, the same price as the lobby bar downstairs. I guess I figured I'd get some kind of a break on the cost as we paid "extra" for the Executive Level. All in all I love this hotel. If you like a big city hotel experience, this is the place.

Room Tip: If you come with four people, splurge and get a room with two bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunFamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
313 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

It seems lke every time I go to the Palmer House, Al Capone is right around the corner.

Like so many grand dames of the hotel industry, the Palmer House has aged well, The expansive lobby is worth a visit if you are nearby. It is a hub of activity, bars, restaurants, shops, people moving a just below brisk level, the speed of a busy but well heeled traveler who knows that they will get there.

The hotel is well located, close enough to the business district but even better for that after work, out door jog or walk. The facilities are typical Chicago-style, more than ample, large and small spaces, ability to accomodate, movem fed and clean thousands of people every day.

For me however there is an old city feel to this very moderm facilty. Modern is it service, ability to serve and not be seen, and to manage the flwo of people. Old feel howeever is from the well appointed rooms, carpeted hallways, dark woodd that brings a warmth. Don't let the Hilton name fool you into thinking this is another cookie cutter hotel, it was a Hilton long before equity firms ran the hotels....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBMartiniguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
107 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Palmer House Hilton, which we booked online at a bargain price.

We were happy to find that the hotel was really hopping, even in Chicago in February: on the weekend we stayed there was a debutante ball, and we enjoyed sitting in the elaborate second-floor Beaux Arts lobby drinking cocktails ("mocktails" for my daughter) and watching the girls go past in their beautiful dresses.

Because the Palmer House is so huge, there's a great diversity of guests despite the luxurious feel. We saw well-dressed people of all ages and backgrounds enjoying the atmosphere.

Service was excellent, particularly the concierge, and we enjoyed a room-service hamburger the first night. Our inexpensive room was large and attractive, although it had some small maintenance challenges - dust bunnies under the bed, wallpaper peeling off the walls, a broken bathtub stopper.

In general, the housekeeping staff may need some management adjustments - we had a housekeeper walk into our room unannounced and without knocking at 630pm, while we were in bed watching the Super Bowl.

But the beds were clean, soft and comfortable, and the room was generally quiet and good for sleeping. Our only big quarrel, as with other posters, was the ridiculous $13.99 per day charge for wireless access.

We liked the Palmer House very much, and would be interested in staying here again on future trips to Chicago.

Room Tip: Choose a quiet room away from the elevators, since there are a lot of people walking through this bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Palmer House on January 25, 2013. We pre-booked our room and paid for it using the BOOKIT service. We parked down there and paid for our parking with my charge card. I get automatic notifications on all my charge cards when they are used, so when I was notified that I was charged for the room again, I called the Hotel. I faxed them all the neccessary paperwork, and they said the charge would be removed. However as of today February 4, 2013 the charges in question have not been removed. This is why I am only giving them a poor rating. The accomodations other than that were very good, however very expensive to eat there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joebronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The reception is the highlight of this hotel with free wifi in the lobby only. We were very disappointed in the small room and very small bathroom and returned to reception. We were given a free upgrade and were happy with the new room although it smelt heavily of smoke on a floor classified as non smoking. The location of the hotel is excellent in the centre of Chicago, however, it is beside the trains which are very, very nosy. I would recommend you request a room away from the train or bring earplugs. Concierge and bell staff were very helpful. The decor of the room is old style and the beds are very comfortable. No breakfast included in room rate.

Room Tip: Quiet room away from the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The Palmer House is an absolutely beautiful hotel! Huge lobby with frescoed ceiling. The staff are all exquisately service oriented. The rooms aren't the largest in the industry, but they are comfy and well appointed in an old money fashion. And if you need directions, be sure to ask the concierge. If you're lucky (as I was) and get Fillepe to help you at the concierge desk! I'm certain you'll enjoy the experience! Now if you like modern, stay someplace else. But if you enjoy a classy hotel with fabulous service, this is the place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jefisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,297 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing