We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Palmer House -Chicago, IL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Beautiful!!! I booked last minute but I knew I wanted to be in the downtown area. This location was considered the Loop. I used valet which was only $9 more than the $45 price to park. Attendants opened doors as you walk up and concierge is awaiting. The escalators and elevators where a bit confusing at first but we figured it out. Front desk experience was prompt and friendly Rooms were large and comfortable the bathroom was snug in the standard double. The lobby area was wonderfully decorated already for the holidays complete with a huge christmas tree and even figurines from the Nutcracker :) There was dining located off the lobby with an inviting bar in which i would have enjoyed a cocktail or two but unfortunately couldn't because every seat was occupied. No need to worry about that I found another lounging area which was a little more secluded but served the purpose. A great experience and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the city if possible... i forgot to ask so i got a view of other build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,364 - 6,370 of 9,349 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was apprehensive when booking, however was truly bowled over after the breeze of a Blue Line trip from O'Hare. Enjoyed a late lunch just off THAT lobby. Such high quality food and wine. Good-natured service, too.
Huge apartment, large dining table, two bathrooms and you could actually lock yourself in one of the dressing rooms if desirous. Naturally, all had doors.
The Club Lounge had a better breakfast than most US Clubrooms. With fine cold meats and cheeses, I didn't miss greasy bacon, doubtful scrambled eggs etc.
All desked staff were pleasant and extremely helpful and didn't give up until they were delighted.

The Hilton Chicago was also good, but the Palmer House exotic luxury just tipped the balance. I haven't had the courage to have a real burger since the Tad's of my misspent youth, either!

Room Tip: Save for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expectans_expectavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Although this is an older hotel, it is a beautiful, well kept property. From the moment my family walked into the lobby, to the time we checked out, we had a great time. At registration, our desk clerk made us feel welcome, and provided for us with a beautiful room. While there, I used the health club facilities, and enjoyed breakfast on the executive floor. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and they helped my family have a delightful time in Chicago. The concierge provided us with great reviews of local restaurants, and she helped us book our Chicago River tour.
The hotel is conveniently located on State and Monroe streets, just two blocks from Marshall Fields/Macy's, and two blocks from the Art Institute and the Symphony. I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat. Even if you don't stay at the Palmer House, at least take time to see the Lobby--it is worth it!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the executive level. Breakfast and snacks are complimentary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The location is slightly off the fascionable area (that is moving north).
The Hotel is a landmark and the lobby shows the glamour of the belle epoque.
The service is rapid (as standard with Hilton). My room 139 on the 18th floor was small (adeguate), but cosy (now view). It looked as if recently renovated, and there was everything one cood look for, with the exception of the minibar.
Only a few details such a cable hanging loose from a large LED TV on the wall.
A little conservative the "allowance" of creams and soaps in the bathroom.
The breackfast is good (not included in our rate).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilardoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Definitely happy with our stay at the Palmer House. The hotel is beautiful, the room was large and very comfortable (we were in a two doubles/two baths room). Staff were friendly and very helpful. We had breakfast in the Lockwood Restaurant (ordered off the menu rather than buffet). It was very good, but as expected, slightly pricey.

The hotel is very conveniently located. Only a couple blocks from the Art Institute, Millennium Park and more. Lots of restaurants in walking distance, as well as some shopping. Trains stops are also very nearby. Many other points of interest are only a quick cab ride away.

Would stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review on the Palmer House. We truly appreciate your time and feedback. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit again.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a hidden gem in Chicago. The hotel is like 144 years old. Right in the heart of Chicago. The Lobby is a masterpiece. Old world charm. Yes the walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors if they are rowdy. They have 2 bars both are beautiful and the service is second to none in Chicago. The staff is perfect and so friendly. The rooms are a bit small.But spotless. They are a bit dated but for the price you pay, if you don't like it go spend a hundred dollars a night on another hotel. Overall a great hotel. I will be back. And the location is perfect. Right by the Blue line and Red line.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhioWeliketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Booked this hotel for the central location in the "Loop" and the good reviews. It is a great hotel and although very large, it was comfortable, quiet and efficient in operations. The staff was friendly and helpful. Located just off State St and a block south of Madison it was perfect for all things for the holiday season. FYI the lobby bar is quite expensive Amaretto & mostly coffee $12. Before tax and tip !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bob53186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,338 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,932 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $102 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmer House A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Palmer House A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing