We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smack downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #99 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Smack downtown”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Big spacious room, but no free wifi when it is available everywhere, even in the park! Disappointed!
Extremely good location.
McD breakfast, round the corner, is excellent!
Walking distance to the Cloud gate aka ' Beam', Willis Tower for the sky bridge

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zulnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,311
    2,949
    1,364
    659
    321
See reviews for
1,537
2,199
477
3,032
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,735)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful hotel and lobby, room was very large and centrally located to everything. Rooms could be updated soonish though. Concierge arranged my ticket to see Chicago White Sox, with full instructions on how to get there, tips etc. I arranged architecture walking tours myself on the advice of concierge also, as its just around the corner from the hotel.

TIP
Brilliant bakery downstairs (not in the hotel complex) for coffee, cookies, soups, panini's etc

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhuxtable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel has been around for a long time, has a great lobby, decent service and a great location. Rooms can be on the small to very small side, so be sure to ask about size when making reservation. The hotel is a good value for a business traveler or for a visitor due to the location and the rate but there are certainly hotels available that are more upmarket in look and feel and comfort.

Room Tip: Be certain to ask about the size of the room if you are offered a double bed versus a king sized bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLLinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked our hotel through Hotwire, we were a bit unsure, as we would not know where we were staying until the transaction had gone through. When it popped up Palmer House, of course we searched like crazy to find the reviews. Some were good, some not so much, so we began to regret our decision.....until we arrived in Chicago. The Palmer House was gorgeous...we were upgraded to a room with 2 bathrooms (great for 2 girls ) without even asking...the staff was courteous, helpful, and the atmosphere was always enjoyable. Our room was older....very clean, beds comfortable, and the concierge was very helpful at suggesting restaurants and things to do and see. The location was good...we walked several times to the Magnificint Mile. We would both stay there again !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed there last week on business. Great conference facilities, breakout rooms, etc. Hotel rooms were on the smaller side but adequate. Getting two double beds instead of one queen seems to afford you a bigger room. Location is perfect - right in the middle of shops and restaurants. Hotel bars and restaurants offer great options for dining and nightlife. The Starbucks on the lower level came in very handy. Catered business meals were better than usual and the banquet service was commendable. My favorite however was the beautiful lobby. Although I can find bigger rooms elsewhere I will return as this place is very special.

Room Tip: Higher floors and two beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedBankGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Let me preface my review by stating that this hotel is in a prime location in Chicago and is beautiful. However, do yourself a favor, read my review, and make your reservation with the Marriott by the Nordstrom complex. I guarantee they are much more reputable in their business practices and the rooms are cleaner. A reservation was made in September, 2012 for travel to a conference in November. Within two days the reservation was cancelled due to a change in travel plans. I received a cancellation confirmation number. I was assured that my credit card would be refunded the deposit for the room. It is now mid-November, I have made 4 long distance telephone calls to the Palmer House and the $250 room deposit still has not been refunded. Every time I call I am told the refund should show up within two to three days. I am now being forced to undertake a charge dispute with my credit card company simply due to the Palmer House's incompetence, or dishonesty. I travel extensively and have stayed in Hilton properties world-wide. This one is by far the worst I have encountered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocSparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m sorry for the inconvenience you are having with your refund. For any additional information, please feel free to contact me, so we may resolve this issue, if it hasn’t been resolved yet.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Mass
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend while in town for the Hot Chocolate 5k/15k as it was a partner hotel. So glad we did! From the moment we arrived at the doorstep to the moment we drove away at the end of our stay we were treated as prized guests. Always greeted with a smile and hello by anyone who happened to pass us by. Check in was a breeze and we were able to check in early. We were able to walk to most of the things we wanted to do (including to Grant Park for the event). The lobby is spectacular and yes it does get crowded, but there were always places to sit and rest if you looked hard enough. The rooms were spotless, beds comfy, plenty of room to move around (at least our room was). Housekeeping was exceptional. We ended up getting room service one night and it was also flawless. Loved having the Starbucks downstairs to get our coffees and snacks in the mornings and afternoons. What struck me about this hotel was that although we were usually seen wearing either running gear or jeans and sneakers, we were always treated with the same great service as those wearing tuxes and gowns, and everyone seemed to blend into that grand lobby seamlessly. This is now my favorite hotel in Chicago and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenmonstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,854 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing