We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury at it's best!”
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Chicago Hotel
Ranked #32 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2010

my stay at the omni, was by far, my most pleasant experience yet in Chicago. The room was beautiful and the staff was the best. It was also very affordable, and no more expensive than other, less luxurious hotels downtown, through online discount booking. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
Thank tkrowley65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2010

We're so happy that we were your most pleasant Chicago hotel experience. We look forward to being your choice in the city for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,106 - 3,112 of 3,557 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

This hotel is located in a fantastic place for those people visiting Chicago for leisure purposes, and who wish to be close to tourist activities. The hotel is in a beautiful building and the inside of the hotel is quite lovely as well.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Omni in Chicago is a great hotel. Wonderful location and service! You can walk everywhere from here and the train is very close as well. All of the shops on the Magnificent Mile are a few blocks away and so is the lake. We loved the all-suite concept. I could go to bed while my husband stayed up watching TV in the other room. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was a roomy size. The beds were large and comfortable too! We liked using the pool and hot tub to wind down at night (both indoor) and the gym was adequate as well. We were on the 20th floor but could still hear sirens and construction noise. They are building a new hotel next door so you might want to look into the progress of that before booking. Chicago is a beautiful city with so much to see and do. I highly recommend renting bikes and ride along the lake shore path. We also did the Wendella architecture boat tour – fantastic! Of course, we caught a game at Wrigley and it was so easy to get there on the train from the hotel. Just get off at Addison! You should allow some time for the museums as well, we did not and wished we had. They are all located near one and another and seem to have a lot to offer. Try the museum hopper pass, it will save you a lot of money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindylou75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2010

Sounds like you packed a lot of activities into your trip. Thanks for choosing us as your home in Chicago. We hope you'll come back soon and make it to the museums you couldn't visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Chicago for a weekend in July and stayed at the Omni Hotel. We choose this hotel because of its location and other reviews we had ready on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We were so happy to be close to all the hot spots the city has to offer. The Omni is located right off of Michigan Ave which made shopping and sightseeing very convenient. The room its self was very comfortable and we enjoyed the suite-style set up. Everything was extremely clean and well-kept. The staff was very helpful with giving us directions to restaurants and always greeted us as we came and went. We ate at the breakfast buffet one morning it was GREAT! I would recommend this hotel for your next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshAndAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2010

Thanks for sharing your great stay with us and for the recommendation to all other TripAdvisor readers. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The location is good. The rooms are small and outdated. All in All ok for Chicago Downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRRPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

This is an older hotel that has been fully renovated and provides excellent quality of food, service and value in the center of Chicago.

However, being an older building, it is not very soundproof and not recommended for light sleepers. On the lower floors with windows facing Michigan Avenue, the noise is unbearable. It seems there is an ambulance station nearby and they run with sirens blasting at all hours of the night. After we requested a change of room from 7th floor to 17th floor and from front of building to the back of the building, this problem was solved.

But, there are many utility rooms and stairways that have very loud metal doors...we looked around and it looks like there is no guest room that is not near one of these doors. In both rooms we had, staff started slamming doors very early in the morning, frequently going in and out of these stairways and utility rooms. Given the property handicap of the type of doors, one would think the staff would be more sensitive to travel gently during the wee hours of the night and morning.

All in all, we felt that for the price, this hotel is of excellent quality and value...just not for light sleepers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2010

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize for the noise from utility doors and will see if we can modify them with other hinges to make it quieter on the guest floors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed in Omni Chicago for five nights (second time in four months) and i did enjoy the service given by the staff again. As a select guest, check in was pretty quick. Also the house keeping staff are always extremely concerned about the cleanliness of the room. (Cheers to the housekeeping manager Cassandra and Tony) The hotel isn't modern in terms of decor but the customer service compensates for this. The best attraction to me is its central location, right on Michigan Avenue. This gives you access to whatever your interest might be - shopping, theater, restaurants, Navy Pier etc. It is worthy of note that as a select guest, you're entitled to free internet access and two complementary morning beverage daily.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebestic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2010

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for joining our Select Guest program. It offers some great perks and it's free to join. Cassandra and Tony do a great job of taking care of our guests and we're glad you think the same. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,694 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2883
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $160 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing