We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff, Better location”
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Chicago Hotel
Ranked #41 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Arrived for NRA food show on 5/15 and stayed four nights. Steve at front desk was super helpful and very polite. Bell staff and rest of crew as nice as Steve and nearly the best I've ever encountered. Had a 2-bed suite with business partner. Room was not very big, but the beds were super comfortable. We were out all day and night, so (in this city) the size of the room never became an issue. We signed up for the guest program and received free wi-fi daily as well as coffee, juice and paper each morning. Only one day our coffee didn't arrive and we had to call - immediately delivered. The restaurant 676 has excellent breakfast buffet $19, but in this city, pretty standard. The bar is a nice holding spot on the way out of town. Geno's East deep dish was super (45 min to bake). Gene and Georgietti's also well worth it. We found The Chop House pricey and not as pleasing as G&G. The location is great if you like to shop. Amazing stores within a few blocks. The city was suprisingly VERY clean and beautiful.

Back to the hotel. The turn-down service was a plus, the housekeeping staff was efficient. The only downside was the size of the rooms. The elevator system takes getting used to (switch at floor 3), but was comforting for safety.

Would recommend the hotel, would stay again, love chicago. Try BOKA, Blackbirds, the Perennial, Avec for tapas-like amazing cuisine.
Cheers,
Mike

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnardo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2009

Thanks for your review of the hotel. We love when NRA comes around because we get to share with everyone our favorite local restaurants. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the show. Steve and our guest services staff do a great job of making sure our guests don’t have to worry about a thing during their stay. We hope to see you again for the next show or anytime you are in Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,413 - 3,419 of 3,727 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2009

Loved it, located on Magnificent Mile, would definately stay here again. Nice pool, hot tub, and deck.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2009

Thanks for your review of the hotel. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

I've just returned from five nights in Chicago. Having never been before I was relying on friends & colleagues experiences on where to stay, shop, visit etc. Most of the recommendations were good but the one to stay at the Omni was fantastic, Right from when we were arrived, being greeted at the front desk by name (six sense by the front desk staff perhaps!!) to leaving (reluctantly) there is nothing I could fault about this hotel. The location is perfect, especially if you like to shop, the rooms are very large and comfortable but its the staff which excel at the hotel. They are all so genuinely nice, not a hint of the forced smiles/offers of help I have received at other hotels. I can't recommend this hotel, and Chicago, enough.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furby67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2009

Thank you for commending us on our service. We love to hear that we’re doing a good job. We do have a great location on Michigan Avenue that’s perfect for shopping and close to just about any attraction you can think of. Please come visit us again next time you are in Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed at teh Omni Chicago Hotel on a recent visit to Chicago and we had a great time. I will say that there is construction going on just to the south of the hotel, major work in fact. But we requested a north facing room from the front desk and they were pleasant and accommodating. They gave us a room, well furnished, with views of Michigan Avenue. We couldn't hear the construction until we walked out the front door and walked a quarter block to Michigan Avenue. There it got loud. But as long as you request a north facing room, you should be fine. It is right smack dab in the center of Michigan Avenue, close to Giordano's, Niketown, and the Disney Store. So much fun. Overall, the stay was great.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanBeHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2009

Thanks so much for the review. We will continue to move guests to the north side of the building, but luckily the demolition has been completed. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

I have stayed in the Omni before, and it used to be a very nice place. However, now there is a construction site right next to the hotel, what makes sleeping after 7 am impossible. I wouldn't come back until the end of 2009.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
Thank AcademicWithFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2009

We do apologize for the noise level during your stay. The demolition of the building next door was completed this week. In the event that there are any additional disturbances from noise next door, our front desk will be more than happy to accommodate a room change based on availability. A previous review posted a few days ago noted that the rooms were very quiet, so the noise levels were variable during the demolition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

I had stayed at this hotel a long time back and while the rooms seem in need of a bit of an update, they are by far larger than most in the downtown magnificent mile for the price! Staff is extremely friendly and attentive--hitting the elevator buttons when they see you coming toward the elevators, etc. . .--the only complaint I have and it is partially my fault, is that at check in, I wish, the front desk had briefly gone over my paperwork with me--inside were my coupons for the free beverage of choice dropped off at my room in the morning and paper--i didn't realize it until the morning when looking over my things and wondering why there was nothing available. . .i wish she had mentioned to hang it on my door before 2am. otherwise--everything was just wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlpk625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2009

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. We’re sorry we didn’t mention the Select Guest hangtag at check-in so you would have received your morning beverage and newspaper. We have recently re-launched our Select Guest program to include complementary pressings of two items, eco-friendly housekeeping options and complimentary bottle of water on check-in. We hope you will come back soon and take advantage of the additional features of the program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

During our week stay at the Omni we continued to be pleasantly surprised at the service. We arrived at the hotel at 10:30 am and they immediately checked us into a room. Service from the front desk, concierge, restaurant were all excellent. We loved that the room had a suite as I tend to sleep later than my spouse. Hotel is right in middle of Magnificient Mile. This is the first time we have ever loved a place enough to review it. Very quiet rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickytravelers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2009

We’re proud to be the first hotel that you have loved enough to review. Thanks for the kind words and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Our suites are very nice for people with different sleeping patterns. We hope to see you again next time you are in Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 191 in Chicago
2,289 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2883
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $154 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing