We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Choice; No Complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Chicago Hotel
Ranked #32 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
341 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very Nice Choice; No Complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is like many other above-average, big, middle-of-the-road choices. Predictable, safe, clean, with all of the basics covered. - I suppose one of the good reasons to choose it is the great location for Michigan Ave shopping. Otherwise, the room was clean, quiet, and in good shape. The bed was comfortable (not too hard!). The TV had many channels. The fitness room was good, and average size. Reasonable WiFi rates (but not free unless a preferred customer). Service was friendly, with typical express check-out. Overall, good dependable choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an East side room, and get some elevation (15+ floor) to get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. While Wi-Fi isn’t free unless you’re a member of our Select Guest program, it is free for anyone to join. We hope you will consider us again next time you’re in Chicago.
Aaron, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,964
    871
    264
    78
    59
See reviews for
1,028
877
106
756
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was our first experience with Omni. Location, location, location.... The location is excellent easy access to the airport and all the sights using the public transportation. We bought the 7 day unlimited use public transportation. City pass also. Just what you would expect from a big city Hotel. Lots of bellmen, front desk staff and plush surroundings. Check in was easy. The room was more than expected for a standard suite. Very spacious and well appointed. Bed very nice. Furniture in great condition. Bathroom, desk, wet bar etc. Only issue the was confusion about our turn down a couple of nights no big deal we lived. Staff all courteous and customer service oriented.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent 10 nights in this gorgeous downtown hotel, on top floor room 2507. We had the most awesome views over Michigan Ave towards the Lake. Very friendly staff, the service was outstanding. Make sure you hang the " do not disturb" sign on the outside of your door as cleaning staff can be quite intrusive in checking if all is ok. One afternoon, my friend had a cleaner entering the room while she was having a shower. I hope to book the same room again next year.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ozitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We’re glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the view from your room. We do apologize for entering your friend’s room while she was in the shower, but we do knock and make sure any member of our staff announces their department before entering a room. But we’re happy to stay away from your room if there is a do not disturb sign. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Aaron, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Overall, the Omni Chicago is an excellent chain hotel catering to business and weekend travelers. The location is ideal, right off Michigan Avenue and blocks away from the Chicago Loop. Competitive prices for a sizable, clean, and well appointed room and very nice, helpful staff. Check-in and out are a breeze and members of the Omni Select membership program will enjoy free basic wifi and complementary breakfast beverage and newspaper.

FULL REVIEW - PROS

LOCATION - The hotel is located off Michigan Avenue, but is quiet. You have easy access to many (many!) shops, a CTA station (Chicago-Red, metro), and the Chicago Loop. Trader Joe's is a few blocks away if you're looking to save on (breakfast/snack) food costs.

HOTEL - Standard Omni look: upper, mid-level business hotel, professional look that is not fussy nor very creative. Fast track check-in/check-out available. All staff were extremely friendly, very kind, and attentive.

ROOM - The suite, with a separate bedroom and lounge area, is spacious for a hotel in Chicago. The room was clean, well appointed (toiletries, etc.) and amenities included a fridge and coffee maker. Again, it is the standard Omni look, which is perhaps one of my only critiques of the chain -- its rather serious looking, darker tones, and not very creative or fun (minor point, I know). Nonetheless, our room (22nd floor) was quiet.

FULL REVIEW - CONS

HOTEL - Access to the reception area is different - once you enter the "lobby" you take an elevator up to the 3rd floor. Getting and in and out of the hotels requires taking 2 different sets of elevators. Not a big deal, but just worth noting.

ROOM - Although well appointed and clean, it could use some brightening up. Ask for rooms on upper floors where you are likely to have better natural/sun light (otherwise the room seem very dark, even with all the lights on) and (hopefully) good views.

FOOD - As with many hotels, you are better off taking advantage of the fridge and stocking up on breakfast essentials and snacks (Trader Joe's is just a few blocks away). Even the discounted breakfast items remain pricey.

Room Tip: Highly recommend folks take advantage of the Omni Select membership program which is free and provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulipBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was an awesome trip for my daughter, grand daughter and myself. We were only 2 blocks from the American Girl doll store. Hotel was very nice and staff were great. The hotel was right on the Mag Mile so we could walked every where.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 699tamrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotel is situated in the middle of Magnificent Mile opposite Apple store & Zara, great service, spacious rooms, pillows just what you want, free fast internet, breakfast is nice, all together a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MansoorMirza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel, right on Michigan Avenue, not at the Northern edge. Walk to anything. The room was excellent; the service prompt and friendly. For once, I paid half what I would have expected this quality in a city like Chicago to cost. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank From-Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks for the high compliments. It’s great to hear that you plan to return. Let us know if there’s anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable.
Aaron, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#6 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#75 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Property: Omni Chicago Hotel
Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2883
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing