We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Visit”
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Chicago Hotel
Ranked #30 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Avon Lake, United States
1 review
“Chicago Visit”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Omni did a great job of making a special time for my 8 year old daughter, my wife and me. The Americal Girl pacakage was wonderful and the hotel is close to the store and is in a perfect location for other venues as well

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,016
    896
    273
    78
    60
See reviews for
1,048
894
108
792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Location is convenient to everything in the Miracle Mile area. Stayed for convention at McCormick Place, but wanted to stay where the action was. Staff was friendly, rooms clean, beds comfortable. Would definitely stay again. Getting to front desk was a bit ackward--have to enter on ground level and take elevator to level 3 to check in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great hotel, excellent service from everyone. Food excellent. Everything in the area costs so be prepared to pay. Not the most kid friendly hotel. If a pool is important to you, might want to consider somewhere else. Can't be the location and service however. Strangely, I have seen much neater prepared rooms at much less expensive hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We are big fans of the Omni properties (particularly San Francisco!), so trying out the Chicago property during a recent business trip was a no-brainer. As with all the Omni properties, the service level was incredible - staff are friendly, helpful and always go the extra mile for you. I cannot fault them at all in this regard.

Unfortunately, the property itself leaves much to be desired. It is an older hotel and shows its age - the room felt old, with the carpet starting to fall apart and the lighting horrid in the way rooms were built in the 80's. But the bed slept OK and it was quiet, so not horrible.

The lobby is not on the ground level, so you have to chat with people twice to figure out where the check in is located. And the restaurant / bar was old and empty - at least on the night I was there. Not a big deal, as you are in Chicago, but still could use some attention.

All in all, the location is convenient if your business is in the north part of town. But don't expect the kind of quality you get at other Omni properties here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff and service level. As far as our rooms, we are making sure our housekeeping department is paying extra care to them and making sure our guests are as comfortable as possible. We will be renovating all the rooms later this year, so we hope that you will return when the project is complete.
Aaron, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Second stay here. The bed-and-breakfast package was great, both food and service. Hotel staff and amenities were excellent. Hotel is well situated for shopping, bars, restaurants, subways and sight-seeing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Haligonians2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The omni has a central location on Michigan Avenue. For the price point it is an excellent hotel. Quiet, comfortable rooms. 676 is a great restaurant with localvore, organic unusual foods that were tasty. Small portions but perfect for us. The cocktails were very good, The bartender fun and attentive. We have stayed here multiple times with always excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Keekers456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEPHERD, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was not impressed with this hotel at all.. You definitly do not get what you pay for. I have had better rooms at a much cheaper price. The front desk staff was not friendly at all. The valet staff was friendly and helpful, and the dining experience was very nice. However I will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We apologize that you didn’t enjoy your room and that our front desk staff was not as welcoming and helpful as they could have been. While we understand you don’t plan to return, we typically receive very high reviews regarding our staff on TripAdvisor. We will be renovating the hotel this year as well. We hope that if you don’t find another hotel downtown you prefer, that you will give us another chance when our rooms are completed.
Aaron, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
235 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#71 of 189 in Chicago
4,373 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
1,571 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Property: Omni Chicago Hotel
Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2883
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing