We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL GREAT SERVICE/DINE ELSE WHERE”
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Chicago Hotel
Ranked #31 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
BENSENVILLE, United States
1 review
“HOTEL GREAT SERVICE/DINE ELSE WHERE”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Omni Hotel, was a great place to stay in downtown Chicago... However please look for somewhere else to dine... The service was Horriable 676 locate on the 4th FLOOR of the hotel... Over all the HOTEL & staff were friendly. The roon was clean.. & bell service was fast... Thanks to the staff!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We’re glad you enjoyed the service and room, but we’re sorry for the poor service in the restaurant. We will pass along your comments to our restaurant manager. If there are more details about what happened in the restaurant we would appreciate hearing about it.
Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,021
    898
    273
    78
    60
See reviews for
1,053
894
108
794
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We visit Chicago every year just after Christmas to celebrate our anniversary. We have stayed at several hotels on Michigan Avenue. But we have found the Omni to be a step above. They treat us very nice when we are there. The staff acknowledges us and tells us Happy Anniversary. It makes for a great visit. The close proximity to shopping and sight seeing are another big plus. We walk out the door and can walk to see what ever we want whether it is for shows, dining or sight seeing. We highly recommend the Omni Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Congratulations on your anniversary! Thanks for choosing to stay with us to celebrate, and we hope to see you again on your anniversary next year.
Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my husband at the Omni to take in a Blackhawks game. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was ok. It has some wear. No couch, just two chairs and only one footrest. Bed not comfortable - a lot of give in it. Did not feel like a true king size. Signed up as a preferred guest and was able to get free internet and a beverage in the morning. Location cannot be beat. Right across the street from the Apple and Nike store. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Ashley H-

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Omni Chicago. I appreciate the kind words about the service you experienced, location and immediate benefits of our Select Guest program. I apologize that the room was only "OK". I am pleased to share that we are in the process of designing and building model rooms in preparation for a full renovation later this year.

Appreciate your business and your feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Rooms are outdated and unclean. Rooms need to be completely renovated. Furniture is worn, wallpaper has been torn and repaired in a number of places. Corners were dirty in the bathrooms especially. Hair in the bathtub when we arrived and the bedroom was clearly not vaccumed. Our original room was on the 12th floor that looked at an empty building. There was no view whatsoever. When we addressed this with the front desk, our only option was to move to a King bed as opposed to a double bed suite. My daughter and I had to sleep together in order to get the view we were expecting. Overall staff was very friendly and accomodating but will stay somewhere else on my return to the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Melissa S-

Thank you for sharing your experience. I apologize for the condition and cleanliness of the room. While we are planning for a full renovation later this year, the cleanliness issues are unacceptable and will be addressed. We pride ourselves in consistently having high marks in housekeeping in our guest feedback survey, so am surprised and disappointed that you did not have the same experience.

I am sorry that your first room did not meet your expectation from a view perspective. As a downtown hotel, we are stuck with some obstructed and not so scenic views. I am glad that we were able to accommodate, although not in the same bed configuration. I appreciate the kind words about our staff.

Thank you again for sharing. Feedback helps us get better.

Happy New Year.

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place, although in a great location and wonderful staff, needs to be updated. The TV in the Bedroom must be 15 years old. Valet parking will cost $65/night. We use to stay at this hotel regularly but have not been here in the past 3 years. It was starting to look worn out then and it certainly hasn't improved any. If you are not too particular about the room itself, the location is great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Steve A-

Thanks for the feedback. I am pleased to report that we are in the final planning stages for a full renovation starting later this year. Thank you for the kind words about our location and staff. Regarding our valet cost, we do survey the market twice annually to insure we are in keeping with the comp set. Limited availability of space and increased tax on parking continues to drive the cost up.

Thanks again for the feedback and hope to welcoming you back sooner than 3 years from now!

Best,
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Rooms were great. Only complaint is that valet services suck. Waited outside in 20 degree weather for over an hour while they brought our car around front. Turns out the man thought lunch was more important and took a lunch break with out telling anyone he had my ticket in his pocket. Needless to say we were over an hour late to the Bear vs Green Bay game.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Kristen H-

I am terribly sorry for the delays you experienced trying to retrieve your vehicle on Sunday. It is unacceptable and embarrassing. I will work with our Parking partner to insure that proper processes are in place to make sure cars are delivered in a timely fashion and when there is a delay, we properly communicate and provide alternatives.

We will reach out to you offline to discuss further.

Thank you
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Spent the Holiday's at the Omni on the Mag Mile. Had a fantastic Christmas dinner at the 676 and really enjoy the proximity to the Magnificent Mile. Staff is always helpful and service is top notch. The concierge did an outstanding job helping with reservations and making it a special stay for our child by helping with the little extras!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
237 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#70 of 189 in Chicago
4,383 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
1,573 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Property: Omni Chicago Hotel
Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2883
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing