We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,964)
Filter reviews
3,964 results
Traveler rating
2,435
1,039
329
92
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,435
1,039
329
92
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsselect guestmichigan avenuegreat locationthe magnificent milethe american girl packageapple storewet barcorner suitesitting roomturn down serviceliving areathird floormag mileflat screenbell staffeach morningroom service
Filter
Updating list...
3,206 - 3,211 of 3,964 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

From check-in to check-out a nice experience. We were greated by the valets, (it is slightly chaotic as the entrance is not on Michigan Ave) who did their job politely, efficiently and correctly (they should greet you, offer to help, and remind you of the fee) and gave us directions on how to get to the reception. The suite we were given had no view, but that turned out to be just perfect. (The hotel is very near Northwestern's hospital and the ambulance traffic was significant). And yes, I did end up visiting the hospital)

The goal of this visit was to meet relatives and complete that last of the museum tours for this summer vacation (my son will probably refuse another museum in the near future. The hotel was perfectly located for that. The Art Institute is within walking distance, and that tour was quite a success (judging by my son's reaction to a particulary cynical piece of American Modern Art). The Natural History Museum was a bus trip away, and the bus trip itself was a great introduction to the City. Navy Pier is also a short walk away and for the shoppers I thought this location was better than Times Square. In fact, I would suggest this over NYC.

The hotel breakfast was good, but was a variation on that found in other Omni's. We truly appreciated having refreshments on the entrance level and third floors. The rooms are in need of some upgrades, but as has been noted, the hotel is planning an upgrade.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank ReisendeGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

We are so sorry that you had to visit the hospital during your stay, but hope you are recovering quickly. We're glad we could provide a comfortable suite in a central location for all your sightseeing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed at the Omni June 27 - July 1, You can't get a bettter location on Michigan Ave. We bought the breakfast package which was a real bargain, considering the variety of wonderful, fresh, food that was served. The staff was friendly and helpful, Would stay there again if I go to Chicago.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it was great.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyinMexico75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our room was great, until we took a closer look. Someone else's razor was on the bedroom floor and there was a smear of dubious origin on the bathroom wall above the tissue holder. The hotel response was swift, but it took several tries for personnel to figure out and correct the problem. Management was wonderful. We received calls from the head of housekeeping and the front desk. We were also given food/drink credit and wine/chocolates for the room, which was a nice touch. The bathroom and shower (aside from the smear) were fine. The bed was very comfortable. The room was quiet. Unfortunately, the desk chair seat was torn and the sliding door between the bedroom and bathroom did not close, which was inconvenient. I have subsequently received a note from the hotel management thanking me for my feedback and stating that they are about to embark on a refurbishing of the hotel and will be addressing issues room by room. That sounds like a good plan to make this hotel live up to the Omni name.

Room Tip: Get a front facing room. We could not because of early check-in and were faced with an ugly A/C.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OMSLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

We do apologize for the checking you into a guest room that wasn't up to our standards. We certainly will be addressing these issues room by room. We hope you will consider coming back in the future so we can show you what we're capable of delivering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel is in the best possible location for getting around Chicago - in the center of the Magnificent Mile. From our first to last experience, we were thrilled with this fine hotel. The staff was helpful and well informed. The rooms had sufficient room, and were attractive.
The best part of this stay was the location. The Omni is in on the Magnificent Mile - in the center of Chicago's best shopping, near the Hancock Bldg for watching the city from the 96th floor, lots of great restaurants, and an easy walk to the river or Navy Pier.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allen006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Got a great deal on this hotel and couldn't have been happier with the location and the rooms. Huge suites, with two rooms and very large bathrooms. We don't generally care much about space since we are rarely in the hotel, but found it to be very comforting and we spent time in the sitting room area relaxing with our books each night. For location, it is pretty much dead center of the Magnificent Mile. We did not have a car and did not need one for the 3 days we were there. Walked to the Hancock building, Navy Pier, and Millenium Park no problem. Almost too many restaurants to choose from in the area and we sampled some of the best food we have had anywhere. I dont think we would look elsewhere for rooms again if we planned to stay in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MA_Fuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews