We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A wonderful weekend again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Chicago Hotel
Ranked #28 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My Wife and I stayed at the Omni Chicago for our weekend before Christmas. This was an annual event prior to all the family gatherings over the Holidays (missed a couple of years due to other obligations). We picked the Omni because they were running a special during this time. Our room was only $109.00 for the night 100 yards from Michigan Avenue in Downtown Chicago. The hotel is an all suite hotel with a seperate living room and king size bedroom. The key to this hotel beside it being all suites are the people. From the Bellmen to the cleaning people everyone is so friendly, they make you feel like you are at a home away from home. We have stayed here in the past and it is the same atmosphere every time. I am like everyone else, look for the deal and take it, but I am so impressed with the people at this hotel, I do not think I would stay anywhere else the next time we want to spend a weekend downtown. We are only 35 ninutes from Chicago and enjoy a few weekends a year in the big City. Our next trip will be for the air show, if not sooner, we are planning on the Omni for our stay. I hope we catch another deal, but for the air show we will be shooting for a corner suite to get a good view of the show from our room also. We are looking forward to our next stay. Valet parking is a bit expensive, but I knew my car would be taken care of, I believe they use a private garage, not a public garage. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Michigan Avenue on an upper floor. total of 25 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank npc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,686
    809
    244
    71
    53
See reviews for
872
803
99
659
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We spent Christmas with our children and grandkids in Chicago. We chose the Omni for it's reasonable rates and location.
The rooms were good.
The staff were exceptional. Despite working on Christmas Day they were all very very friendly and efficient. ....every single one without exception.
We will go back there in summer for a weekend!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
It's great to hear our staff took good care of your family during the holidays. We look forward to seeing you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We spent 1 night at this property to celebrate our anniversary the day after Thanksgiving. We were able to check in early at 11:30 am and head out for some Black Friday shopping. The hotel is very close to the epicenter of shopping. All of the rooms are suites (on the small side, but nice still), and we enjoyed having a dvd player to play a movie (we never seem to have time at home with 3 young kids, so this was great). The rooms could use some updated furnishings, but the bed was still heavenly. Roomy bath also.

We ate at the breakfast buffet the next morning. Also wonderful. We had a late checkout so we were able to relax for a good while after breakfast (it was rainy out, and we were done shopping). Will stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiMommyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your Christmas shopping outing. We're glad you had a good time relaxing in the room as well with your family. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Took a weekday trip to Chi town to relax and enjoy some shopping for the holidays. the Omni is a great bet as its steps (literally) from Mich Ave and the great shops (located across the street from the Apple store).
I will say I'm a bit biased as I travel to Chicago as often as I can for business as its one of my favorite cities.
Omni is a nice hotel for the price. Be sure to join the free rewards club thing as it gives you free coffee and tea service delievered to your door in the morning (to your specified time...hang the ticket on the door and its there in the morning). I can't speak to the coffee ( taste wise) but the tea service was wonderful.
Walk two blocks south on Mich to Ann Taylor/ Loft and turn right. About two blocks down on left is great inexpensive place for breakfast (huge...so it lasts until dinner)...its called Eggsexperience.
Sorry, back to the hotel. I didn't spend a lot of time in the room...but its centrally located, our room as quite (even located next to the elevator), the bed was comfy and the WiFi worked great. The free water (with member club thing) was pretty bad...more of a taste perference thing...some people are fine with it. The ammenties in the bathroom were nice and I liked that the sliding doors that allowed DH to get ready while I slept (without the light on and water running in the same room).
Make a reservation at Volare for a truely great dinner (couple blocks from hotel)...skip House of Blues as food is awful and this time when we went for drinks and to listen to the band in the bar they had a cover charge. Not worth it as there are more than a few great FREE places to enjoy music and jazz in Chi Town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterBee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Great location, very nice, except for the very potent air freshener smells in the lobbies, halls, and rooms. We asked not to spray the room, which they didn't, but the smells from former stays still bothered me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cs7sisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This place is absolutely fabulous. We wanted a great hotel with a location on Michigan Avenue for our two day business meeting and we found it in the Omni. The staff was superb, the meals were delicious and the staff handled our every request with ease even when there were last minute changes. Would we return...you can bet on it on both a professional and personal level. Thank you Omni!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

For a 4.5 star hotel I was disappointed.

The location is great since it's on the main strip with a fleet of other hotels. However, the exact cross street that this hotel is on was very tricky to find and navigate. I got lost multiple times with my rental finding the hotel, it was quite frustrating as it's huge and very visible from the street.

I was upgraded to a suite when I checked in but found the suite to be a bit outdated. The cable television was the worst quality I have ever seen in a hotel or motel. It's as if the signal was coming from the basement and had been split 405 times to feed into every room. And yes, when I travel for leisure I do sometimes zone out in front of the hotel TV to relax.

I had the requisite extra charges and mistakes on my bill upon checking out for items I supposedly took from the minibar. This is a frequent complaint for this hotel if you check on other hotel review websites.

My friend who is a Chicago native said that the Omni is very impressive when it comes to their conferences rooms and catering but I didn't see any of that. During my stay the service was just okay and very uneven but not befitting the reputation of the Omni.

The first woman checking me in was professional, the bellboy seemed a little green but earnest, and everyone else that I spoke with on the phone had an attitude and didn't seem to want to be of help. Not 4.5 star service at all. The lobby of the hotel is grand but also very nondescript. The entire hotel seems to be painted with a forgettable, universal 'big hotel' circa 2000 paint brush.

If the service were more fitting of its star rating and more consistent I would rate this hotel higher. Would not stay here again unless I found a good deal on a booking site.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HopALongHari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
We’re sorry to hear that we didn’t deliver a memorable stay. As far as directions, we are more than happy to help any guests on their way to the hotel. We also apologize for the poor television signal and the billing issues upon check out. We typically receive high marks on our personalized service on TripAdvisor, but we’re sorry we didn’t replicate that during your stay. We address negative reviews with our staff and we’ll discuss our phone etiquette. We hope that you will find a good deal in the future and that we might get a second chance to show you the level of service we’re capable of delivering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#74 of 189 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,505 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Property: Omni Chicago Hotel
Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2883
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing