We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Genuine Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #19 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, TX USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location, Genuine Service”
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I want to recognize so many people who were exemplary in their service.
1) Sylvia Rollins, Head Concierge. I wanted a fairly last minute reservation at MK restaurant. I spoke with Sylvia on the phone just a few days prior to arrival and within 15 minutes had the desired reservation.
2) Ryan Lettier, Concierge, provided us detailed information on the architectural cruises. Our morning cruise ended up being cancelled by the tour operator and Ryan provided a late check out time to cover us until we could get back to the Monaco.
3) Turndown service was provided as requested and housekeeping in general seemed to be at a high standard
4) Even the bellman went out of their way to ask if we knew how to get the train etc when leaving the hotel.

The rooms are tastfully furnished in that whimiscal Hotel Monaco feel. Beds and bedding both very comfortable. The complimentary happy hour and morning coffee/tea service were both very utililzed by the hotel guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeBonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,643
    548
    102
    47
    11
See reviews for
419
887
104
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
368 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I spent two nights at this wonderful Kimpton property for a romantic getaway weekend. The staff were extremely friendly. Our room was upgraded from a standard king to a larger room with a California King at check in. The room itself was spotless, nicely done with funky, yet tasteful decor. The oversized bed was extremely comfortable. Large bathroom with powerful shower pressure. The afternoon wine happy hour and w-ii is a nice touch. We also very much enjoyed two nights of cocktails at the adjacent bar and restaurant. The hotel is well located just off the Chicago River and almost anything you need/want to see is within walking distance, or a short cab ride away. Fast WIFI service that is also free (something not common at even the most upscale hotels). Our only complaint was the poor housekeeping service. Room was not cleaned until 2PM on our second day, requests for turndown service and extra towels took a couple of calls. The on site gym is tiny, but workable.

I would definitely stay here again. This place is a winner.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

This is a great hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, whether it's directions or restaurant recommendations. The rooms are clean and the bed and pillows are comfortable. Good water pressure on the shower. The location is very convenient to walking to many locations and it seemed like everything else was just a $5 cab ride away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristineLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

The room and amenities are great! Easy access to train and short walk to river, dining, theatre.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurnsieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2009

From the minute I arrived and saw the river just steps away, I was quickly greeted by the door man. I went to the front desk and the young lady knew we were checking in that day and realized we were part of a wedding party. On her second guess she guessed who we were and quickly checked us in and gave us an excellent room with a million dollar view. This was all within the first 15 minutes of arriving, and things never faltered from this top notch service, and courtesy that initially greeted us. The on site restaurant is excellent as well as the staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMorris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Everyone was very friendly from the doorman to the hotel desk clerk to the concierge. They were very considerate and give us an option of a quieter room or a room with a better view given our reservation request. I really liked that they guaranteed the types of beds at the time of reservation since it was a girl's weekend out and we certainly wanted two queens, not a king.

The location was perfect for our needs. We were only a couple of blocks from Macy's (the old Marshall Fields), the art institute,theaters, restaurants and the Chicago Times building that starts the Miracle Mile.

I had two minor complaints. The attached restaurant was a bit pricey although very good and while there were actually lots of restaurants all around us, it seemed that the staff were not that familiar with options that would suit us which meant some trial and error on our own.

The other complaint was that I took my iPhone rather then my laptop to stay connected. The hotel has wireless but every time my phone went to sleep, it dropped the connection and logging in was so difficult that I stopped trying after a while. This seemed to be a function of the phone and the ISP.

We had a great stay and I will certainly stay there again the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We were in Chicago in January--snow, ice and sunshine--to see the Oprah Show. Hotel is located one block off Michigan, steps from the River at the North corner of the loop. Great hotel service with the concierge steering us to good food as well as a walking pattern that was do-able despite the snow and weather. Love the wine happy hour at 5pm. Another happy Kimpton experience! Restaurant next door provides room service. We ate lunch there and had huge portions just ordering an app + an entree each. Had to empty the fridge to store the food (and this hotel does not have that annoying feature that charges you if the bottle is moved). Medium sized room with a good sized bathroom, tricked out in the striped motif that is all Monacos. Didnt hear our neighbor who apparently had a dog (phew) so sound proofing was good.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,047 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing