We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise and delight in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #16 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 21, 2014

booked here fr a mtg,, dreaded it as i ws sure it was low bidder,It wasnt!! it was perfect in every way,, rooms lovely gym nice too hamburger in restaurant my fav burger ever,, and then the STAFF!!!! never ever such a cadre of help, smiles, ideas,,loved em all esp David Ericka x2 Dana ,Foster(promoted by now ) and smiling lovely bellman Jonathan and doorman Antonio... i loved the hotel AND it had location location location!! my trip was a winner, thx Monaco!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanrose2374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear susanrose2374 -

We're so glad that we left you feeling far from dreadful! You're right, our rooms are lovely, and the gym too, Chef Roger's burger is ahhh-mazing, but the best part you nailed - our staff! I'll make sure to pass your kudos on to David, Dana, Foster, Jonathan, Antonio, and Ericka x 2 :)

We hope this means we'll see you again soon???

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,412)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 2,412 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. I also got a room for my mom and sister here. Both were very river view queen rooms, one on the 12th and one on the 14th floor. The rooms had great views of the river, cool window seats, were quiet, and had good wi-fi. Had one meal at the hotel restaurant which was actually really good, unlike the usual hotel restaurants. Great location as we were able to walk to a lot of the places that were on our list of places to see and eat at. On the evening of the 4th we walked down the Riverwalk (which is just across the street) down to the Lake Shore to watch the fireworks. How fun. Liked the smaller size of the hotel, it made for a more intimate and relaxed feel. Overall the staff was very friendly, and a special thanks to Ericka for making sure that our special requests were taken care of upon our arrival. I wouldn't hesitate one bit about staying here again. This was my first time at a Kimpton hotel. Now I'll have to look at staying at other Kimpton hotels when possible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BOB V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear BobV_52 -

Thank you for your overall great review of your recent stay at the Monaco Chicago. We're so glad that we were able to make your first Kimpton experience a memorable one. I'm happy that Ericka was able to take care of all your special requests, and get you in some lively high floor river view rooms to enjoy for your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon, both here, and at our sister properties across the country!

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

A very convenient part of town located in the Loop District. Walking distance to Michigan Ave and the Art Institute of Chicago. Great restaurants to select from. This is another great Kimpton property.

Room Tip: Special occasions will help with a special room
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Todd J -

Thank you so much for sharing your Kimpton love with a stop at the Monaco. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

First time to Chicago. Arrived late and stayed in another hotel. Checked Trip Advisor out and booked this hotel for two nights because of good reviews. The location was excellent, our room had a view of the river. Loved the decor and loved Gwen at the Front Desk. She suggested we go to Buddy Guy's Club called Legends, and it was a highlight of our trip. Can't say enough about this hotel. Loved the wine being served at 5pm complimentary to guests. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArdenYWCAHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear ArdenYWCAHotel -

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Monaco, and that Gwen was able to give you a great suggestion to head over to Legends! Glad that Trip Advisor led you to us, and you paid it forward to future guests! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Cheers,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago. My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms are lovely (make sure you get one with a window seat and river view), with a friendly staff and a great location. Everything that we wanted to experience was within walking distance of the hotel. There's a wine reception from 5:00p:m to 6:00p:m every afternoon. Although we only got to enjoy it once (we were busy being tourists the other afternoons) we thoroughly enjoyed it. We're animal lovers so were really impressed to see that the folks at this pet friendly hotel are,too. I would definitely stay at Hotel Monaco again if I'm lucky enough to return to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happytravellers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Happytravellers88 -

It sounds like you really made the best of your trip to Chicago, and still managed to squeeze some time in there for wine hour! We hope that you get to visit our great city and come see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in February. What a great boutique hotel and nice staff. I have a river view room and it was great to see the view in the freezing winter. Room has warm decor but the clean bathroom was dated. I like the location. Rather disappointed with the food in the hotel restaurant, compared to so many other wonderful restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear BPK123 -

Thank you so much for sharing your great review and nice shots of the rooms! We appreciate you taking the time to write about us, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you are traveling to Chicago as a tourist or leisure-man I would highly recommend the Monaco. The hotel definitely adds a level of service that I think other hotels should aspire to. People often say "why would you spend so much on a hotel room when all you are going to do is sleep there?" Often this is true, and likewise it seems that many hotels that we would consider "luxe" have taken this mindset towards their leisure travelers. Even with a high loyalty status at chains such as Hilton or Marriott, you are met with very little appreciation and there is no anticipation of your needs. Granted, if you ask for it they'll usually happily oblige, if you don't speak up, they are also happy to oblige with only supplying you that "room to sleep there." I say all this because Monaco is just a little bit different.

First, as you will have read in the reviews, the box window seats are one of the coolest features I have ever seen in a hotel. The first day/night, we didn't even turn the television on because we were so fascinated by it and the views it provided.

Second, everyone is genuinely happy and smiling. It seems funny to say, but it does add just a little bit.

Third, they made our stay special. I won't say exactly what they did, but it was absolutely hilarious and it made our day.

Fourth, the room looks exactly like it is pictured online. It can be so frustrating to show up at a hotel and have your hopes up for a place that looks awesome in the pictures only to find the devil in the details. I would say that our room lived up to the picture with at least 95% accuracy, which is pretty darn good.

Fifth, the room was actually very clean. You shouldn't have to worry about this when staying anywhere, ever, but you do. This room was clean.

There were some minor setbacks that you can expect anywhere - the concierge lost our tickets for something (they fixed it); absolutely tiny things like no ice bag for the bucket; the bed was not as comfortable as I might have expected. They may want to invest in a more comfortable bed as I would say that the Sheraton, Westin and Hilton beds are all more comfortable (noticeably).

Overall the stay was excellent. We will surely keep Kimpton in mind as we travel and if ever back in Chicago we'll look them up.

Room Tip: Do everything you can to get a river view room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank telamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear telamm -

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent visit to the Monaco Chicago. We're absolutely delighted to hear that you were able to unwind from the day in the window seats, and the view of our beautiful city was all you needed. Our staff does love to be here, and we're glad that we were able to convey that authentically. We appreciate your feedback on areas where we can continue to get better, as those are just as important as our successes. We most certainly look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Chicago!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,772 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,438 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $171 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing