We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #16 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Very rarely do you stay at a place and your room looks like the pictures on the hotel site. I was pleasantly surprised when we walked in and the room was the exact replica of the website.

Clean, friendly staff, great food. Try the PB&J for breakfast!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank tammy0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear tammy0406 -

So glad our online photos are able to perfectly capture the beauty & spirit of our guestrooms and that your stay overall went well. The PB&J is definitely a favorite here, and we're happy you liked it too! Hope to see you soon.

Cheers,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,413)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 2,413 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Positive reviews on just about everything but the final bill and treatment at the front desk with trying to resolve the issue. A room service charge appeared on my statement, which was not mine (I did not order room service, nor was I in the room when it was charged). I brought it to the attention of the front desk staff (possibly even the manager) and was told that "sometimes a room is incorrectly charged for room service but that hardly ever happens." The clerk made it seem like I was in the wrong. I was told that accounting would look at the charge and if it was found to be incorrect they would take care of it. Was not thanked for staying nor did I receive an apology, both of those would have taken the review up to a very good, because all the other staff and services were very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JWag211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear JWag211 -

We are so sorry for the billing error upon check out, especially since you mentioned enjoying your stay overall. We hope that you might give us another chance, and I would be happy to assist with any further reservations, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very nice environment friendly employees who satisfy every need you have. Also South water restaurant offers tastyful plates in very good prices. Hotel is locate in the centre of Chicago next to River walk and some minutes far from Magnificent mile.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anbonendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear anbonendo -

We're happy to hear that our location & accommodations were just what you were looking for on your most recent stay. Thanks for stopping in to stay with us, and we all look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco in Chicago June 19-22, 2014 for a non traditional double wedding. From the time we started planning, Lisa Danno was responsive and enthusiastic. The food and wine during the event were beyond our expectations.The staff were fun and welcoming. Our stay in the Mediterranean Suite was luxurious. The location was perfect. Out of town guests were amazed at the friendliness, cleanliness and overall feel of the hotel and city. We wouldn't change a thing. Thank you! We will be back!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Nancy A -

Thanks for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. Lisa is pretty great, and we're so glad to hear that she saw through all the details of your stay & everything was even better than expected. It was truly a pleasure to host you and all of your guests. We hope to become your favorite anniversary destination in the years to come!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Been to Chicago many times, but first time at this hotel. Loved it and this will be our go-to place from now on. Great location, great rooms and loved the window seats. Splurge for the Mediterranean suite if you can - corner room and extra space is worth it. Wine reception is a very nice touch. You will not be disappointed if you stay at this hotel. If you like entertainment, catch a show at House of Blues which is very close, or take a tour of the Chicago Theatre, which is a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Mediterrean suites are awesome.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJPost99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear BillAmax -

Thank you so much for the great review of your recent stay at the Monaco. We're so glad you took advantage of our Mediterranean Suite accommodations, and were able to join us for wine hour. We certainly look forward to hosting you the next time you are traveling to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed 3 nights on the 14th floor facing the river, Trump and more. We were here for our daughter's graduation from Booth. We had the window seat, which I loved sitting on, stretching my body out to see up the lake. Wonderful view. As a Kimpton member, I got a $10 bar credit, which is always nice. Love the wine reception - great food and service. The lobby is modern and very comfortable. The check in people are so very helpful. left our bags here even after we checked out, till we had to leave for the airport. The only very minor problem - they have no coffee makers in the room, but they will bring one to your room if you request it. it worked for the first cup of coffee, but then made no more. You can get free coffee down in the lobby till 9 am but we would have liked to have had a fresh cup in the afternoon. Also, would not recommend then attached restaurant for breakfast or lunch. We met some people here and if it were not for the great company, we would have not enjoyed the lunch.

Room Tip: Best to speak up for what you want. I asked for a high level floor and great view and I got it!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Jerri G -

Thank you so much for joining us to celebrate your daughter's wonderful accomplishment. We're happy to hear that you were able to take in some of our great views and enjoy the window seat. And of course, thank you for being a Kimpton InTouch member! We're so sorry to hear that your coffeemaker gave you trouble, and please do let us know next time so we can fix that right away for you. We hope to see you on your next trip to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

great location by the river and you can see the new TRUMP lettering from your room. Whether that is a good or bad thing is up for you to decide. Didn't bother me. The hotel has bikes you can use. Cross two stoplights and you are at the river and then along lakeshore drive. It was wonderful.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Goin' Mobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Goin' Mobile -

We think our location is pretty top notch too! We're so happy to hear you took advantage of our hotel bikes and explored the city a bit. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Windy City!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,773 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,439 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $170 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing