We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #13 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in Chicago some time ago and stayed at Kimpton. Great service, nice, good quality rooms and facilities. Subway is just a few steps away and the area is ok white some nice restaurants within walking distance. Certainly not the cheapest option but quite worth it.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kaytheckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Kajetan,

Thank you for having stayed with us and leaving the review. Chicago is a great culinary city and there are definitely many options to choose from. We have two great concierges that can assist you in choosing just the right place to dine at that fits your budget and food tastes!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 2,443 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a riverview room and did not want to leave the window seat! The room was nice, clean and had a large bathroom. The location was convenient, we were able to walk everywhere we needed. All staff encountered were friendly and helpful and, as always, wine hour was great!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinedaydream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Sunshinedaydrea,

So happy to see how much you enjoyed our window seats! The location is definitely one of the best in Chicago and we are steps from many of the popular spots.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel many times before and love the hotel... usually they receive a 5* but this time they really dropped the ball.... multiple times!

Rode in on motorcycles and needed to park 2 in the garage. Not an issue in most hotels, I drive in the linked garage and park, no valet for this large of motorcycle!

Garage wanted to bill 2 parking spots (as we did have 2 bikes) ok no issue for me. We use 2 spots we pay for 2 spots. But the parking attendant wanted to park 2 bikes in same spot and bill for 2?!?!?!?! No way, NO how with out a good complaint being filed!

I checked in and requested to speak to the manager after I had a min to clean up and change out of gear... no call! Requested again as we went out to set up a call with manager... nope. 3 days not a peep!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

David,

I'm so sorry to hear about your frustration with the parking garage. The parking garage is owned and fully operated by Park One Valet Parking. However, we will definitely speak with the Park One manager that is in charge of the garage and let him know what happened with your situation.

I hope you stay with us again in the future.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Classy hotel, well located and very nice view from King river view room.
Helpful and friendly staff. It's located near busstops, metro (CTA), shopping and other attractions. We loved the style of the hotel and when you become a member (free), you will get some perks like 10 dollar for the mini bar.
For my wife's birthday the housekeeping staff made a birthday cake out of towels.
The window seat was perfect. We enjoyed the view very much.
The bed (King) was very good. We slept very well and didn't hear any noise of other guests.
Thanks hotel Monaco for a perfect stay!!!

Room Tip: River view room (King)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Unravelling,

Yay! So glad to see that you got to enjoy your stay with us, and your wife had a lovely birthday in Chicago!!

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The staff and their exceptional service earned this hotel the top rating from me. This is the 2nd time I stayed at a Kimpton hotel, and it confirmed that Kimpton understands travelers' needs. Front desk made sure I had a room to my liking, checkout was super fast, and they had a taxi ready waiting for me. All the staff from front desk, housekeeping, restaurant/bar to the bell boy were excellent. I also appreciated The full size hair dryer as well as the wine hour. Kimpton, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaypwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Kaypeewin,

Thank you so much for completing the online review. Our Forgot It We Got Program has some great items that is usually forgotten when traveling, and having a full size salon hairdryer available to our guests is just as important as nail clippers!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This Kimpton property in Chicago is truly well located for a visit to Chicago, close to shopping and other attractions, including river cruises and art museums. We stayed in a suite which has window seats that overlook the river. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The adjoining restaurant has similar great service as well as creative and value menu. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the river have great views. Join the In Touch Loyalty program (free) to get fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IskandarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

IskandarT,

Thank you for leaving us a nice review on tripadvisor! The window seats in the suites are very special as they are so big and gives an amazing view to the city, glad to see that you got to enjoy them.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed here for a business meeting in town. I also recently made Inner Circle membership, so decided to stay here to see if they treated frequent customers any differently.

The hotel is stylishly decorated. It seemed to me to be sort of a mid-20th century high-end design, which is very consistent with all Kimptons. The lobby had complementary water for guests, as well as an evening wine hour. At check-in, I was automatically upgraded to a corner suite, which consists of a living room (office desk/chair, sofabed, and TV), bedroom (TV, chaise), and bathroom with hottub and separate shower. The front desk also acknowledged that it was my birthday, and gave us a coupon for 2 glasses of champagne and dessert at the South Water Kitchen.

The room was very clean. The office desk had ample power outlets and usb charging ports that carried enough voltage for tablets (very nice perk). TV channels were responsive. The king bed was plush and the comforter was great. The room also had 4 window seats that peered onto the street! Night scenery of the city and river was spectacular. The hotel also delivered a bottle of house red wine and dessert with cheese platter in the evening! The only complaint that I can truly comment on was that the heat seemed inadequate for the size of the room. There is probably quite a bit of heat loss from the large windows and uneven distribution from the heat registers.

Overall, Kimpton did a wonderful job with this location. They do seem to treat their elite members a little bit better than other chain hotels that I have stayed in. Location is very convenient to public transit and other venues. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Patrick,

Thank you for staying with us and completing the tripadvisor review. We definitely want our Inner Circle members to feel special, and nothing is more special than helping celebrate your birthday with some wine and dessert!

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
368 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#17 of 192 in Chicago
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $119 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing