We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #18 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is the best hotel in downtown Chicago. It is beautiful and clean. The staff was so pleasant and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the beds were so comfortable. We stayed on the 5th floor 2 queen bedroom and had a view of the front street. The windows were large and had window seats. The bathroom was clean and had large mirrors and lighted makeup mirrors nice free products and fluffy towels--never had to ask for more towels here. Free wine at 5:00pm was a nice treat and to meet our friends in town. Doormen were so polite and always smiled and had something nice to say everytime we came and went. Very easy to get a cab. Good food within walking distance. The L is right around the corner.Perfect get-away A+++

Room Tip: Ask for 2 queen bedrooms are bigger than the king make sure you ask for a room that is not facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazamm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Shazamm T,

Thank you for such a great and detailed review! Our location is definitely one of the most centralized in Chicago and we're steps from a lot of what the city has to offer! Our nightly manager hosted wine hour reception is really popular amongst our guests and we even offer a small band on Thursday nights through a partnership with a local college.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,560
    521
    98
    45
    11
See reviews for
398
841
102
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We picked this hotel as it was a boutique hotel and were not disappointed. At every step of our stay we were greeting with smiling , helpful people. My sister and I arrived and we were meeting another sister who was to arrive several hours later. The front desk ensured that she was going to be on the same floor and in fact was in the hotel room next door.

The staff booked us into restaurants, looked up information for us and it never felt like it was a chore.

we found the location of the hotel great. Our room had a view of the Chicago River and we often sat in the window seat and looked out. It was so close to the theatres and we were able to walk to see our play. We were close to the hop on hop off bus and the local boat tour docks. Location Location Location. It was great.

The rooms and hotel had an art deco decoration and we loved the complimentary happy hour.
I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Irene P,

I'm glad to see that you had a great sister's weekend in Chicago and we were able to be part of that! We take great pride in making sure we are available to help with recommendations for things to do in and around us!

I look forward to having you stay with us again!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great comfortable room, top-notch service. Close to all the major sites in Chicago. Millennium Park, Michigan Ave, Theaters and Museums. Kids loved sleeping in the Bay window area. Would definitely return to this Hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thomas,

Thank you for staying with us and I'm glad to see that the kids got to enjoy our window seats!! We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a river view room with a window seat. The room was decorated in well very funky. The window seat is actually the size of a twin mattress, that looks out over the city. Very different than the typical hotel room. The bathroom was on the small size with little room for toletries around the sink, but you are not in Chicago to hang in the bathroom. The black out curtins were super, it felt like midnight at 9am. Room was also pretty quiet, did not hear much noise from hall. yes the room is small but it is an older building. For two of us for one night it was fine. I would not try and fit a family. The room service was not so good we ordered breakfast and they got the order wrong, and the bagle was dry as dust. We did not use attched restaurant or join the nightly wine fest. The lobby is on the small size and I did not want to stand in a crowd for a glass of wine.

Room Tip: get a room with the river view and window seat its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ocean68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Ocean68,

Thank you for filling out a review and letting us know about your stay. I do apologize about your in-room dining experience with breakfast and please know that I've spoken with the department manager in regards to your experience. It shouldn't have happened. We also have a few different room types that are of nice size in order to accommodate a family, and we even offer some adjoining rooms for bigger families. I hope you get to stay with us again!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Everything about this place, with the exception of the price, reminded me of a DIY home remodeling project done on a shoe string budget. Everything looks good...on the surface. Take for example the river view rooms with their big calling card window seats. The bellman needed to push a super heavy divan out of the way in order to access the window seat which was about 48 inches from the ground. I'm tall with long legs so I was able to hop up. My traveling companion would have required a step stool. The upholstery on the window seat appeared to have been hot glued and stapled. DIY.

At nearly $500 per night one expects a very nice bathroom, and yet in this case you get a small granite vanity top, one sink and a tub kit with a shower curtain.

The lobby looks interesting, but again the pieces seem to be "less than." It looks good on the surface, but has a cheap feel. The evening wine event is nice, if far too crowded and understaffed.

We were there on a Friday with a Saturday check out, so perhaps that is why the staff at the front desk was snippy and incredibly unpleasant, which is so different from what one usually finds in Chicago. They were unpleasant when we checked in and grumpy when we checked out. I have to say the people with whom I dealt on the phone while making the rez were incredibly pleasant and helpful. Perhaps they should be the public face of this hotel and the grouches behind the front desk could answer phones in a back room. Just a thought.

We were assured that the $56 per night parking fee was the "cheapest in the Loop." The doormen and bellmen were cheerful, helpful and really really sweet.

Room Tip: If you plan to enjoy the window seat be sure to ask for a small step stool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamelja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Pamlja,

I'm so sorry to hear about your dislike for the furnishings and front desk staff. We definitely take great pride on our hotel and the staff friendliness and this is something that I will look into. The rooms were completely renovated in March of 2011 and the lobby area was fully renovated just 8 months ago with all new furnishings. Every piece of furniture were specially picked out by an experienced interior designer out of California. As people have various tastes, we try to stick with our classical sense and feel for this historical building. Summertime weekends in Chicago is very busy and we have sold out almost every weekend, which does bring a lot of guests into our lobby for our nightly wine hour reception. I can assure you that we have a lot of staff working behind the scenes to ensure that the manager pouring the wine does not run out of wine nor glasses.

I do hope you get to try us again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I just stayed at the Hotel Monaco with my husband during the Chicago Marathon and had a wonderful experience. The rooms are big and have amazing pillows and linens. Try to get a room with a view because the window seats are my favorite feature of the hotel and they allow you to literally watch the amazing city of Chicago from the comfort of your room. The location is safe and close to parks, museums, and shopping. The staff's recommendations for dinner were great too and everyone was helpful and courteous. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view and also a high floor to avoid noise. Double beds are not big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraM_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
LauraM_7,

Thank you for the nice review and I'm glad to see how you enjoyed your stay with us! Our location is definitely a huge plus in a city like Chicago, where we are right in the middle of everything.

We look forward to having you and your husband stay with us again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Chicago is one of our favorite cities and our stay at Hotel Monaco was very pleasant! The staff was very warm, friendly and quite informative. The hotel itself is very nicely put-together. The decor is colorful, fancy, and fun. We absolutely loved the room - the bed was very comfortable, all amenities were available, and everything was squeaky-clean. Our room was quite spacious (which is rare for any downtown hotel). Our maid would leave a lovely note on the bed for us each day after servicing our room. One of my favorite things about this hotel is that it had window seating with cushions! Location is also key as everything is within walking distance to many prime locations. The views are to die for as it is situated right on the river! When we come back we will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skaur87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Skaur87,

I'm so happy to read your review and see how great of an experience you had with us! Thank you so much for trying us out and we look forward to having you as our guests again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#11 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,077 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#13 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
#22 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#13 Green Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing