We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #17 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Munster, IN, USA
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Location”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed on a Friday night September 20 room 1414. Checked in late.
The hotel is decorated nicely with modern décor.
It is located right on Wacker and a short walk to Michigan Avenue.
We had a river view room which was nice.
Staff was friendly.
The common areas were clean and well maintained.

A couple of items that were not great, but not overwhelming that I would not stay again.
They only have two elevators. They can be very slow. We were on the top floor (14) and if I was in a hurry this could be an issue.
When we checked in at 11:30 p.m. the room we were given had used soap in both the shower and sink dish. Also, two towels were hanging that had been used. The room was clean, but someone clearly checked out early and the maid service thought they were remaining in the room and cleaned it as such. I told the individual at the front desk the next morning and he simply said that he would let housekeeping know. I guess I would have expected a little more concern on the hotel's part.
That is the reason for the poor rating on cleanliness.

Room Tip: Get a river view room. Stay on a middle floor so your elevator wait is not as long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe_Munster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Joe_Munster,

Thank you for leaving us a tripadvisor review and I'm so sorry to hear about the used items you encountered in the room. That is definitely not up to our standard and I'm already taking steps with our housekeeping team to see as to how this happened. This was definitely an isolated incident and it should not have happened. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and I hope you get to try us out again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,659
    551
    102
    47
    11
See reviews for
425
892
105
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
east coast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay in Chicago. The location is wonderful and the staff was so friendly and accommodating! My room was lovely and very comfortable. I felt very at home at the Hotel Monaco and recommend it highly to anyone traveling to Chicago. Don't miss it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanFamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
RyanFamily123,

Thank you for leaving us a nice review!! I'm so happy to hear that you recommend us to anyone traveling into Chicago!!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I really want to rate this hotel somewhere between average and very good.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming; the service is good. It isn't exceptional, though. It's exactly what I expect at a hotel like this. The exception is the cute origami towel art and note left in the room by the cleaning staff on the evening of our first stay. That was a very unique and personal touch.

The location IS exceptional. It's close to almost anything you'd want to walk to like the Art Institute, shops on Michigan Avenue and the Merchandise Mart. Dining options in the area are plentiful. The views of the river and city from the rooms are amazing!

The hotel decor is colorful, cozy and stylish. It isn't luxurious. The window seats available in some of the rooms are totally charming, though. A very cool feature!

Now for my pet peeve, and one of the major reasons this hotel gets 3.75 stars instead of a solid 4: there are no coffee makers in the room!!! Seriously?!? I know, I know. They have that cute little complimentary coffee bar downstairs in the lobby in the morning. I just don't want to be forced to dress myself, brush my teeth and potentially converse with strangers BEFORE my first cup of coffee in the morning. Period.This was absolutely, UNBELIEVABLY irritating to me. Grrrrr! Seriously. Stash a Keurig in the minibar, leave me two K-Cups and charge me an extra $15 a night! I'll be a happy guest, and you'll make your money back on that Keurig and then some in no time!

Overall, we liked this hotel and wouldn't mind staying here again. We also wouldn't mind seeing what else is out there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShantillyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Sterry4,

Thank you for taking the time and completing a review on Tripadvisor. Please know that we do have signs in the rooms that indicate coffee makers are available upon request. We offer some nice Keurig coffee and tea makers for the room. We found that a majority of our guests preferred the self service Starbucks coffee in the lobby versus brewing their own. By removing them from the room, it allowed for a more counter space. There are quite a few amenities that we offer upon request including turn down service, a gold fish companion, and even children's robe!

I'm happy to see that you got to experience our great location and proximity to Michigan Ave.

I hope you try us out again!!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Can't say enough about this hotel. The staff was great. We arrived at 11am the morning of check in and had expected to just drop our bags off for storage and come back after 3pm to get our room, but the front desk staff was great and since the type of rooom we reserved was available they let us check in early. The conceirge was very knowledgable. The doorman were always very helpful with bags or getting a cab.

The river view suites are great. Big bay windows to sit in and watch the river traffic and big jacuzzi tub. The bar downstairs was great for a first drink or happy hour. Great selection of old-fashioned cocktails and regional microbrews.

The location was perfect...just blocks away from Michigan Ave shopping, the art institute, and River North area. Like I said, there wasn't much this hotel didn't offer. Will certainly stay at this hotel again when I return to Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
David,

I'm so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us from the second you walked in. We are very lucky to have such a talented and friendly staff!!

We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend about 16 days in the Hotel Monaco in downtown Chicago. Its my favorite place to spend an extended visit in Chicago. The location is exceptional but its the Staff that keeps me coming back for more. The way I was welcomed each and every morning and afternoon made me feel like I was at home. A warm Good Morning Greeting early every day and a Big Smile and How are you on the return each afternoon. The room was very comfortable with a very nice bed and linen with a well thought out desk with plenty of power connections and good WiFi connection. But again, its the people that make the hotel so comfortable and in my eyes so successful. The front desk staff - Ericka, Foster, Dana and Kim are super professional and friendly; always willing to help with information and ensuring the guest are having a great stay. Peter and Jorge at the front door set the tone for the stay with big smiles and a Welcome as soon as you pull up to the front to check in and return every day. In the Southwater Kitchen, the servers like Paul make the meal enjoyable and offer great guidance for a change up to the daily breakfast routines.

Room Tip: The Southside of the hotel has some construction going on so perhaps there is a bit of noise on that...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like the ability to control when the bed linens are replaced as well as the bath towels.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Paul,

Thank you for having stayed with us for such a long time. I'm so glad to see that you had a great stay and we became like family. We are so very lucky to have a cast of amazing stars working in the building. I'll make sure to share your comments with every one of them as they take such great pride in what they do.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was in Chicago to attend a corporate event hosted at the Hotel Monaco. From the minute I walked in the door the staff was very accommodating, helping me find local eateries and get acclimated to the hotel. Few hotels understand what good customer service is. This hotel is different. The people who work there are concerned with guest satisfaction and it shows.

Room Tip: The hotel is near the train tracks. Not their fault but you might ask if there is a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Paul H.,

Thank you for leaving us a great review on tripadvisor. I'm happy to see that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to your return!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I always try to stay in a Kimpton Hotel when I travel because of their unique surroundings and attention to guest detail. This was my first stay at the Hotel Monaco and it lived up to my expectations. It sits in the perfect locaion for walking to the Michigan Ave Shops and Restaurants and also to the downtown stores and theaters. I took my daughter with me and she stated that it was one of the coolest hotels that she had ever stayed in. Every area of the hotel is very clean and decorated so nice. I asked when I checked in if I could could get a room with two beds and I was told "no problem". They upgraded me to a large room for no extra charge. The 5 o'clock complementary wine reception is such a lovely touch as was the morning coffee. They also stored our luggage for us until we left in the evening. I will definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Laurayar,

Thank you for trying us out and leaving a nice review on Tripadvisor! We love to hear that we are "one of the coolest hotels" that your daughter has stayed in!!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,594 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,341 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,064 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing