We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #20 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
“Great hotel in a perfect location”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Always a great stay at Hotel Monaco Chicago. The staff is wonderful in making us feel comfortable and helping with any requests or questions. The location is perfect for walking around and experiencing Chicago.

Room Tip: Rooms with the big window seat are especially nice, but you might hear the "L" trains. Pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy9939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Mandy9939,
We are really appreciative of your loyalty and repeat visits. We're glad to be your home away from home in Chicago.
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,610
    535
    100
    47
    11
See reviews for
410
869
104
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is convenient to public transit, downtown office buildings, a number of tourist attractions, shops, and restaurants. While there was an issue with a room with requested characteristics being unavailable at check in, the staff worked diligently to address the issue and moved me to another room the folllowing day. With the promotion offered during my stay the cost was very reasonable, though it would have been considerably higher otherwise. The hotel itself is very nice and I understand recently remodeled; rooms sizes are quite large; and the free coffee, wine, and internet access (for In Touch members) were nice perks. By far though the best thing about the hotel is the staff, who were unfailingly friendly and helpful. I'd suggest a river view room as some of the standard rooms look directly on a brick wall. The hotel is on a major intersection right next to the El so if noise is a concern I'd suggest a room on a high floor away from the tracks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktg0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
KTG0715,
We thank you for the five star review! I'm glad at the end you found a great value in your visit with us and ended up in a great river view room.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I spend a lot of time in Kimpton hotels, and I have a soft spot for the Monaco-style hotels. The Chicago outpost is fantastic. The view over the river is amazing, the staff is terrific, and the rooms are top-notch.

The welcome amenity included some choice quotes from Bill Murray (my favorite actor) and a great cocktail from the folks at South Water Kitchen.

As an Inner Circle member, we got upgraded to a corner river-view suite, which had tons of room and great furniture. The 180-degree views were stunning, and the window bays have seating for perfect lounging and people watching.

We had drinks and snacks in the hotel restaurant, South Water Kitchen, which was great.

The only small wrinkle was that I was unable to rent out a bike because they were all out with guests. Can't wait to try out the new service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Preston- The team here and Dana especially who put together your amenity are thrilled you enjoyed it. We love to hear when a guests first experience, especially an Inner Circle member at this hotel, is such a positive one. That's fantastic. Next time you come visit, reach out and let us know and we'll do whatever we can to help with a bicycle.
Thanks again for the great share.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a rough start here but changed rooms and were pleased afterward. Our first room, on the top floor, although very nice...had a view of nothing but a brick wall. If you don't care about a view of the city it might be fine for you as the room itself looked very nice. I would have thought it would be a quiet room however, the elevator shared one wall making it quite noisy. The second room was on the second floor and faced the street. It had a high/deep window bay that was nice for people watching. Our room's window was too high to be called a "window seat" but you could stand and enjoy people watching. It was right above the restaurant yet we were not bothered by any traffic or restaurant noise. I have to say we did not enjoy the annoying whistle blasts from one of the doorman who worked in the early morning. (We stayed for 5 nights so the whistle blowing got old. Only one of them blew his whistle constantly, the others were fine.) The desk managers all seemed nice however, several times the front desk clerks kept their heads down even though I was standing there. I had to greet them first before they would acknowledge my presence. I enjoyed the art deco decor and the hotel itself was in a wonderful location! Lastly, they knew and mentioned that we used Priceline.com to book our trip. It seemed they looked down on us from the start...not sure why. They even mentioned it when we checked in on the first day. Odd. I would go again but I don't know if my teen daughter would want to stay at this hotel in the future. She said it felt haunted? Teens...who know where they get this stuff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
kvwest-
Thanks so much for your feedback. I certainly don't want you to feel like we look down on any guest regardless of how they book, we sometimes just confirm at check-in how a guest has booked to ensure we have all the correct details. For example, some 3rd party reservations have different methods of payment than others, so it's important we confirm. Regardless, it sounds like you enjoyed the view and the location as well as the ambiance. Thanks for sharing your feedback.
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I've stayed here several trips and always been happy with room quality & cleanliness. Location is great, right outside the loop & with much better views than the loop hotels. Easy access to the El to get anywhere you'd want to go, but Michigan ave, Navy Pier & park are all easy walking distance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAFamily33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
VAFamily33,
We are so grateful for your loyalty and repeat visits. We hope to be able to continue being your home away from home.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is located walking distance from Michigan Avenue; so a great location. It's quite charming. The suites have a really neat window "seat" but they are actually full size beds that have a memory foam in them that make them extremely comfortable. My 21 year old son, 6'1" actually took a nap in the window several occasions because it was so comfortable.

If you are traveling with your family, who needs the pull out coach when you have these wonderful memory foam-esqe beds?

The good:
1. The window beds of course.
2. The location-right in the heart of everything which means it's walking distance
3. The staff is very attentive and professional. Really, this is an added benefit
4. You can join their rewards program called Kimpton InTouch for free and have free wifi while there or you can pay $12.00 per day. Not a hard choice.
5. The room decor is loaded with character. Wish I knew where I could get that headboard. The website has a great photo album of the room.
6. The lobby area has a fireplace and tall cozy chairs. However, the staff doesn't call it a lobby, they call it the great room or the front room...I forget which but definitely not lobby :-)

The bad:
1. The attached restaurant (South Water Kitchen) bar area is subpar. There are many bars in the area but after a long day of business meetings, a little happy hour to help unwind before going out is what we all wanted. There aren't Happy Hour specials and while there is a dining menu, they don't have any "bar food". We tried to get some peanuts, chips & salsa, and chips and then resorted to popcorn but that isn't exactly "bar food"' and didn't satisfy what we wanted.
2. The bathroom in my corner suite facing the river, needs a slight face lift. Some floor tiles were cracked and in the whirlpool tub, had some exposed fiberglass from wear & tear.

There was a magnified mirror attached to the wall, awesome, but the mirror needed some maintenance and wouldn't stay up so I could actually use it.

The corner shower is really small. Like really small. It's difficult to move around in the shower. You turn on the water and you will get wet because you can't get out of the way fast enough and there is no place to move the nozzle so you don't get wet. I had to put the shower bottles on the floor because there was no room anywhere else. That is not exactly convenient.

All and all this hotel is a gem in the heart of Chicago.

Room Tip: You need a suite. The upgrade is worth it and the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
KCGirl70-
Those window seats are perfect aren't they? 21 year old sons, kids and adults alike all enjoy perching up with their favorite novel and watching the city come alive in the morning or become quiet at night. It's a favorite feature of our upgraded room types for our guests.
Thanks for mentioning the the bathrooms- we are working on a plan for a redesign in them. I'm so glad you enjoyed the Living Room in our lobby.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We hosted a 3-day workshop at Hotel Monaco and had a stellar experience throughout. Service was just wonderful from sales through to the catering staff on the floor with us. Our participants made a point to express thanks for the really great food (we hosted lunches in the South Water Kitchen - the hotel restaurant) and service, and they really appreciated the central location downtown. The staff here made our jobs super-easy; A/V and meeting room setup was seamless, and everyone was really accommodating and kind. Would absolutely host here again - no question.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC93023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
LC93023,
So great to hear your workshop was such a stellar experience! We love to hear that! We can't wait to host you and your peers again!
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4,376 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 187 in Chicago
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
2,186 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
2,000 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing