We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Monaco - Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #20 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Monaco - Good Hotel”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Monaco while on a business trip. The experience was pretty much what I expected it to be.

The room was very nice, the bed was very comfortable, the staff was attentive. I also stayed in one of the river view rooms, but had more of a view of the offices across the street from my room.

If you need anything while you are there, the staff is very attentive and will respond quickly.

The only two 'negatives' I had while there were:

1. If you are the type of person like me who figures as long as you are not calling the front desk for something, they will figure you are happy, the hotel does call you quite often. I was called after I checked in to make sure the room was OK. I was called after a room service meal to make sure it was OK. I am guessing they do these phone calls as they have discovered people like that extra step in customer service. If you don't like calls, do what I did, and just take the phone off the hook.

2. I ordered breakfast one day to be brought to my room. They were hot and looked great, but they had an off taste. It almost tasted like fish. I thought it was just me and didn't complain or anything. After I got back home, I did read some older reviews of this hotel where people said the same thing. So just be aware.

All in all, I did like the hotel and wouldn't discourage people from staying here. Again, if you need help they are great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Michael W,
It's great to hear that whenever you need anything, we were there and on top of it. I'm sorry though that we called too much- I can understand if you would prefer to not be disturbed. Thanks for understanding though- the heart is in the right place.
Thanks for sharing your feedback, and let me know when you return, I can help make up for that breakast.
Ryan Parker,
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,643
    548
    102
    47
    11
See reviews for
419
887
104
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My other half wanted to save money on our Chicago trip, but I love Kimpton Hotels and the Monaco in Seattle is great. We splurged and are so glad we did! The location was perfect for our long weekend and allowed us to do so many things in a short time. While the front desk staff could be somewhat aloof, they were helpful and even moved our room when we asked for one with the bay windows. Wow, what a wonderful experience. We bought a bottle of wine down the street and took up residence people watching on a Saturday night. It was fantastic, and the bed was amazingly comfy. They also have a great morning running program that lets you see the city from a new perspective, and the evening wine hour allowed us to meet some fun fellow guests. Love me some Kimpton!

Room Tip: Get a room with a bay window! You won't want to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
KathyKitty,
I'm grateful to hear that your experience at one of our sister hotels out in Seattle encouraged you to book with us! I'm glad to hear you found the team helpful and the window seat upgrades to be a lovely experience. And thanks for the mention of our running program- it's really fun!
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

A high school BFF and I stayed here one night over Memorial Day weekend, & we had such a glorious, memorable time. It was perfect, and the Monaco was a main reason for such an enjoyable stay in the city! Our room; 1207, was directly across the elevator (but no sound from them!), and we had a spectacular view of the Chicago River from our cushy, clean & chic window seat-large enough to seat 2 comfortably. We talked for hours there, overlooking the beautiful city. The wine hour was vibrant and top notch as always, & when we missed coffee hour, the front desk sent up Keurig coffee for us! How thoughtful! Our bellman, Mike, even pointed out the emergency exits when we checked in; another very thoughtful & caring touch. Our price was outstanding with the "Renew" program via Kimpton Intouch. My hubs an I usually stay at the Palomar (love the pool!), but I hope to bring him to the Monaco someday soon! I adored every minute! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandJTravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
AandJTravelers1,
Great to hear you had a perfect stay and enjoyed some of our nice amenities, like the awsome window seats available in some of our upgraded room types, and the great personal service our staff like Michael genuinely care to give. Thanks so much for sharing with everyone your awesome experience.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Monacos offer funky yet functional design and good service at a reasonable price and this hotel was no exception. It is in an excellent location to Magnificent Mile and the Loop and was extremely quiet for such a busy area. The room was clean and comfortable and made good use of every corner of the smallish size. Make sure and join Kimpton's loyalty program for free wi-fi and other benefits.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter; river views are wonderful (but pricier).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacyabags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Pacybags,
You are right- the loyalty program, Kimpton InTouch, is a great benefit and you earn a free night after seven visits with any of our 60 boutique in the United States. It looks like you are within Illinois- keep an eye out for some great Kimpton InTouch last minute weekend deals and Midwest promos we'll have coming up.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Staying at a Monaco hotel generally means you will be treated well. You can lower your defenses because there is no need to have them up. The staff at this particular Monaco needs a lot of remedial training. I did complain and the complaint was taken seriously and I do believe they will improve.

The kitchen cannot even be counted on to properly toast an English muffin after having been assured that they will do better the next time. Maintenace could not fix everything the first time and I had to ask twice for some items to be corrected such as the wads of dust hanging out of the exhaust vent over the bath tub. No one understood that being highly allergic means I would not appreciate a feather duvet!

But it is a Monaco and they certainly try to make amends. I would go back; just not for a few weeks to give them time to get back on track.

Room Tip: Even fourteen stories up, the doorman's whistle calling taxi drivers could be heard - but the vi...
See more room tips
Green Features: they do it all - recycling bins in the rooms, etc.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasEdwards_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello ThomasEdwards_10, Thank you for the TA review you just posted. Although it is not a positive review, it does allow us to keep learning and improving. As you and I spoke on the morning of checkout, I expressed my apologies that we did not replace your feather duvet with a non-allergic blanket. After investigating this with our staff, it appears that there was a slight communication mishap with your request. Your wife had provided the front desk staff with a written list of requests. On this list, there was a request to replace the pillows but no mention of the duvet. We should have done more to ensure that your request was fully taken care of and I am very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you.

Thank you again for taking the time to speak with me on the day of your departure. I take every feedback as a way for us to continuously improve our service and standard levels.

Sincerely,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I liked that this hotel took dogs without charging anything. Apparently all of the Kimpton's do this.
I had a decent price from a Sinque Away. They also had a Memorial Day special, which would encourage me to go again. I don't know their regular rates, but the location is ideal, especially for going to downtown theater. I parked a few blocks away in a less expensive location. The guy in the restaurant gave me complimentary coffee, as I was down there after the 10am ending of am coffee in the lobby reception area. I'm not real crazy about the pillow-top mattresses, but the linens were comfortable. The pillows were a little too squishy.

Room Tip: For more cash, choose a river view room with a window seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 37thgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
37thgetaway,
You and your pup are welcome at all Kimpton boutiques. We even are prepared with great dog treats and beds/bowls, etc and we're nearby a great walking path to stroll along.
Next time you are in from Milwaukee, everyone would love to see you again.
Thank you for sharing your experience, and join Kimpton InTouch- great free high speed wifi and two mini bar items, along with special promo rates frequently.
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We got a great rate over the recent Memorial weekend. Opted to book this hotel due to the favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed. The hotel looks unspectacular from the outside but you are quickly put at ease by the funky Art Deco lobby area. We requested a high floor and were surely plopped on the 10th floor. Our room was west looking and had a partial view of the river which was a Brucey Bonus!

The rooms were nicely decorated but not outstanding. My favorite thing about the room was that you could sit in the windows (or rather the window ledges). My wife and I spent a couple of hours just chilling under the duvet watching the world go by from the window ledge. It was ace.

Room Tip: North and west facing rooms appear to have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark-english1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Mark-english1,
Those window seats surely make for a fabulous upgrade. Did you get to visit any of the city on our free to borrow bicycles or take part in the complimentary wine hour? Thank you for sharing your feedback!
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 189 in Chicago
4,516 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,302 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,044 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing