We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location and super friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #20 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely hotel in a great location and super friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel was in a super convenient location. The rooms were very nice and the beds super comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you join their loyalty program you receive a $10 credit for the mini-bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackytMadison_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Jacky from Madison,
Great five star review, thank you! Part of our loyalty program is also earning free stays after 7 visits, free wifi in all our hotels and your personalized room preferences. I'm thrilled you loved the Kimpton beds!
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,613
    538
    100
    47
    11
See reviews for
411
871
104
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Everyone in this hotel went above and beyond to make our experience exceptional. Michael, the bellhop, was particularly exceptional and really went the extra mile to make me feel welcomed and comfortable.

I was traveling on business with my cat (don't ask) and the hotel staff were incredibly accommodating, letting us check in much earlier than we were supposed to so that the cat could get settled. They also moved us to a better room after the first night even though I was at a conference during the day and couldn't make the change until later in the afternoon.

The hotel itself was great--the rooms were clean and beautiful, and everything worked well. The bed was extremely comfortable, and I'm very picky about my beds. Love the coffee in the morning and the wine in the afternoons.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Chicago, and always look for Kimptons when I travel.

Room Tip: South-facing rooms look out into a wall/parking garage and don't have a window seat, but are sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Junkie745685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Travel Junkie,
I'm so proud of Michael for standout service during your stay with us. Genuine hospitality is in his core and everyone feels lucky to have him on our team.
It's great to hear that the cat found the hotel to be purrrfect and that you both enjoyed the Kimpton beds.
We look forward to having you back!
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I'm not sure if I have anything to add to the prior reviews, but only to say that staying at the Hotel Monaco exceeded our expectations! It's a lovely boutique hotel. Our stay started off right with having our request for early check-in honored. The room was very comfortable and having the window seats made the room seem much larger. Our teenage daughter loved hanging out there viewing the river and people below. The staff was very professional and friendly and offered good bits of information. Also, we had a "spring discount rate" for a river view room. I have also seen lower rates on Sniqueaway.com. I am so happy we stayed here and look forward to staying at the Hotel Monaco again in the future.

Room Tip: Join the In Touch Rewards program Get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Jamran in Charlotte,
Being able to be checked in early is such a pleasure isn't it? It's not always able to work out so easily but I'm thrilled this time you and your family got to spend extra time enjoying that river view and we can't wait to have you back.
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Excellent hotel in downtown Chicago! First of all, it is a great location - close to Magnificent Mile, the Art Institute, river tours, Millennium Park, and great restaurants. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious, comfortable, and clean. We had a room with a river view - the cozy window seat overlooking this view is special. We love the complimentary wine hour Kimpton Hotels offer - great way to start the evening and sometimes meet such interesting people. We will definitely stay here the next time we're in Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc4Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
To our friend in Vermont,
We're proud to know you enjoyed our beautiful property so much and we're thrilled to hear we'll be your first choice for when you return to Chicago next!
I hope you got to see the Picasso exhibit at the Art Institute, it's fantastic!
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went to Chicago for a quick family trip. We had stayed in a Kimpton hotel in Philadelphia and had a wonderful experience, so we decided to try the Hotel Monaco Chicago. We weren't disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room had a nice view of the river. The hotel is located close to a lot of restaurants and plenty of shopping. The wine hour is a great perk too!

As we make future travel plans we will seek out other Kimpton Hotels- our family loves them!!

Room Tip: Join the rewards program!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Melissa,
Great to hear you and your family are fans of Kimpton and the Monaco Chicago! It's delightful to hear that your whole family enjoyed everything from wine hour to the helpful, welcoming staff.
Many thanks for your cheerful review,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We loved our recent experience at Hotel Monaco in Chicago. It is conveniently located, comfortably appointed and provides amenities that delight the urban traveler. A fun happy hour, goldfish upon request and comfy beds are just a few examples. We also had a dog with us and although we knew the hotel was pet friendly, were struck by the genuine enthusiasm of the staff in making he and all of us feel welcome. The small hotel is a nice refuge from a busy day of sightseeing and the restaurant is a very pleasant surprise. I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Mary,
Great to hear you enjoyed your urban escape with us and that Wine Hour was a hit with you and your companions. I love to hear that people enjoy the dog friendly atmosphere and our team, as you said, love to have a pup around.
Thank you for the great recommendation!
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Hotel Monaco was an outstanding hotel for our one night in Chicago. We booked the river view Mediterranean Suite and were given a corner room on the 12th floor...it was simply awesome in every regard. The decorating was wonderful, tasteful, warm and cozy. The furnishings were all comfortable and in great condition. The room was beyond clean. As stated in other reviews, the window seats are substantial. I traveled with my teen-aged kids, and they so loved sitting in the window seats that they didn't feel the need to venture out to catch the view at night...we just soaked it in right from our window seats which overlooked The Trump across the street and the Chicago River. Service was very prompt and courteous. We arrived early (11:00 a.m.) and were allowed to check into our room which just is such a nice amenity. I'm glad Kimpton hasn't taken to "charging" for this service. My kids got a kick out of getting a fish "to keep us company" which was delivered to our room. The sofa sleeper (super comfy, if you can believe that) is not pre-made so you do need to call to get bedding for it-but it only took 2 minutes for delivery of those items. We did have a decent "spring discount rate" and if we are able to stay at this good price on our next Chicago visit, we will be sure to choose this hotel as it is our new favorite!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a river view and a window seat...you won't want to miss this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinkgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hinkgen,
Thanks for sharing your awesome five star review. Those River View Mediterranean Suites are amazing- great window seats, a jacuzzi, and a stellar view. We're thrilled you and your family experienced genuine Kimpton care and keep an eye out for more special rates and such this summer.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,401 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing