We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #19 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ancaster, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING SERVICE”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The service was fantastic....Everyone was so helpful and kind.
I wasn't feeling well one night and they brought up hot water with lemon and honey for me.
The wine hour is amazing,My husband and I sat in front of the fire and had a few ...and more!
The location is perfect we walked to all the restaurants, shopping, symphony and museum.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Rochana K,
I hope that the warm and welcoming hospitality you recieved left you feeling much better. It's always touching to hear that we did our best to help someone who's under the weather feel better. Thanks for sharing and we look forward to having you back.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,676
    553
    104
    49
    11
See reviews for
432
901
105
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater, MI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We go to Chicago several weekends a year. This visit included the play, "Book of Morman". We've stayed at a lot of places but this was our 1st stay at Hotel Monaco. We were in River Suite. Fast check in, friendly valet and bellman. Nice size room, I'd pay to go to the tranquility suite next time. Loved the wine hour at 5:00. Great location for plays or walking to MI Ave. lobby just got face lift. Only one comment, we paid for late check out and housekeeping called us 30 min before our 2:00 check out asking when we were leaving. Felt a little rushed. Still, we'll be back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lcoldwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Lcoldwater,
We're happy to be your home away from home during your future Chicago weekend visits! So glad you got to stay in the spacious and elegant River View Mediterranean Suites! Did you love the Window Seats? They offer a great view of whats out there within walking distance.
We'll do a better job of letting Housekeeping know your late check out time in the future too.
Thanks so much, lColdwater!
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I went to Hotel Monaco over the weekend for my birthday; The saff was so nice and my room was sooooooooo beautiful and the HOT TUB!!!!!!!!. Was the best. They also have have a wine hour..This is a great hotel for you and a special some one...I did not want to go home...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iesha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Lesha,
Happy Belated Birthday! What a great reason to spend a weekend with us and enjoy our many amenities like the jacuzzi's that are in our Mediterranean Suites, or our Window Seats, also in the suites, and our complimentary wine hour daily in our lobby from 5pm-6pm.
Many thanks for sharing your review!
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our second visit to the Hotel Monaco this past weekend. The staff was so pleasant and welcoming at both the hotel and the restaurant. We could walk to Millenium Park, Michigan Avenue and many of the theaters. The room was pretty but the best was the window seat looking out on the river. It made a short trip feel like a vacation. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dan J,
It sounds like you had a real nice trip into the city and I'm so glad you had that window seat upgrade to sit on while looking out over the river! I'm thrilled that you experienced the genuine care and that you've become a return guest- check out Kimpton InTouch and start earning towards a free visit in the future!
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We traveled with friends for a anniversary trip, and I was delighted with my choice of this property! I was even more delighted that my friends were pleased with the Monaco!
While I've visited Chicago several times before, accommodations are usually with family in the suburbs. So as our first time staying in the city, I wanted a boutique hotel that felt unique to Chicago. The Monaco was a great choice. The friendly staff was very helpful, most of our destinations were an easy walk, and the decor' was modern and fun! We paid a little extra for a river view room with a window seat, and the view was awesome-- we definitely knew we were in Chicago!
Special thanks to Ryan L. for the congratulatory bottle of chilled champagne that was set up as a pleasant surprise in our room to wish us a happy anniversary. We had a great stay and look forward to relaxing at the Monaco again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p2gP2St2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
To our friends from Atlanta,
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for spending it with us and trying out the boutique experience with us for your first stay downtown. I'm so glad you enjoyed those awesome views and that Ryan Lettier was able to take great care of you! Come and visit us again! Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, IL
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. It is probably the 7th or 8th time we have stayed at this boutique hotel. It is wonderfully located just off Michigan Ave on Wabash so it is nice and quiet. The personal are very welcoming and helpful with any questions that we have. The South Street Kitchen restaurant serves a variety of good food. We sometimes get a king deluxe room with a window seat. I love sitting there, reading and looking out at Marina Towers on Wacker Drive. From the hotel we can easily walk to the Art Institute, a wide variety of restaurants and Symphony Center. We look forward to the next opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
BobKathy! Thank you for being so loyal and enjoying our boutique time and time again! How great to hear you've been back so many times. You must love all the renovations we've done, improving the experience for our guests. I love those Window Seats too and I'm glad you do. I certainly hope your Kimpton InTouch, so you can keep earning your free visits!
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent the weekend in Chicago, and picked this based on a deal on Kayak. Awesome, perfect experience. Great location, large rooms, great on-premises restaurant. Staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Quibbles: hot water was barely hot; be nice to have weatherstripping around the room door to improve sound isolation.

But did we mention the huge room? Comfy bed? Nice linens? Great restaurant downstairs? Helpful unpretentious staff?

Walking distance to Uno, the Art Institute, and Milennium Park.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcdanziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Marc,
Isn't Kayak great? I'm glad you had an awesome experience. The rooms are really large for a downtown hotel, and I'm really happy to hear our team helped provide a welcoming, genuinely helpful experience for you. Did you see the Picasso exhibit at the Art Institute? Might be a great reason to return. Thank you,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 190 in Chicago
4,698 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,052 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing