We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #17 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Townsville, Australia
1 review
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Hotel Monaco in Chicago is a superbly presented hotel, clean, quiet, fantastic staff and in a great location overlooking the river, close to theatres, the magnificent mile and numerous jazz and blues venues. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
To our mate in Townsville, Queensland,
What a fabulous review! It's great to hear that you loved your experience with us and that you got to enjoy the jazz and blues venues nearby. When you come back, you'll see our completed lobby renovation and I'm sure you'll love it.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    521
    98
    45
    10
See reviews for
398
839
102
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I love this hotel-and now with the remodeling, I like it more. Rooms are quiet, very clean and refreshing. I am able to do paper work here without distractions. On my last visit, I was a bit "fried" when I arrived, leaving some items in the car. The bell man noticed, found me, and made sure I had everything I needed before I went to my room. This hotel just has nice little touches without being a pest. I've also attended a business meeting here, and they handled that nicely--good food/different food without being too heavy for afternoon meetings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Nancy,
I'm so glad you are enjoying the remodel of our lobby and public spaces. Today we just got beautiful new curtains as well. We look forward to having you back, whether leisure or business.
Thank you for the great review,
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just stayed at Hotel Monaco last weekend for one night and had a great time. I chose Kimpton because of their pet friendly policy and overall good service they provide. The location was perfect for anyone that wants the best of Chicago right out the front door. The room was very nice and a lot of small special touches that make the stay wonderful. It was a bit rainy and very cold so I did grab my dog and took a short nap on the window seat that looked out to downtown in the afternoon. This is not a complaint, but just as many other people have mentioned if you are driving be prepared for the hefty parking/valet charge. This is normal for Chicago, but for people not used to big cities this can be a shock to the system.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJWolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
NJWolf1,
We really appreciate your awesome five star review! Being pet friendly is part of Kimpton's culture, and we've been lucky to be able to keep both pets and their owners, as well as the pet-free crowd quite comfortable. I'm so glad you had a great window seat upgrade as well, they are such a good value. You are right about parking- Chicago parking is costly, but luckily we have the least expensive hotel garage rates in the downtown area.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a great stay here. Got a room with a view of the river...beautiful! Our room had 2 great window seats that were an added bonus! The room was a good size and clean. The bathroom was huge! It was very quiet on our floor too. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Barbarak10,
We appreciate the fantastic five star review! Those window seat upgrades are one of a kind and the view like you said is such an added bonus. We can't wait to have you back.
Thank you,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Il
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for the first time about a week ago. Was welcomed by the most friendly staff. The woman at the counter remembered our name because she had talked to my daughter who made the reservation. Very cute boutique hotel and our room was right by the elevator and was surprisingly very quiet. Loved the huge window seat and cozy robes. Room service was quick and the food was the best. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Might have asked for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Lori,
Very glad to hear you had a quiet, lovely stay in our charming boutique. I'm so glad you experienced the genuine care of our team, and had one of the great window seat upgrades.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco as part of a surprise trip for my wife's birthday. Every single staff member- from the front desk to the wine reception hosts- was friendly, knowledgeable, and welcoming. They made our stay in Chicago that much more special.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffeeconnoisseur17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Coffeeconnoisseur17, happy birthday to your wife! We love sharing celebrations and special occasions with our guests. We can't wait to celebrate again with you and your wife next year. Next time you return you'll see our awesome lobby refresh we just completed, as well as our recently renovated South Water Kitchen.
Thank you for sharing your surprise with us,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Absolutely loved the room, the window seat was such a luxury, large, pretty, beautiful view of the Chicago River. We even watched the filming of a police/motorcycle chase from it, with a helicopter hovering just outside our window. So relaxing to sit with a glass of wine or a book. The decor in the room was wonderful! The location was fabulous, we walked to restaurants and shopping. We tried to make their complimentary wine hour that they have each evening but we were so busy with activities we never made it back on time :) Nice touch though, also didn't get to the Scrabble game in the lobby but would have loved to sit there for a while, it's so beautifully decorated. The restaurant was really good for breakfast. The only thing I would say is that the bar service was a bit slow, they must have had some new staff because when they finally got them together they brought them one at a time. But everyone was really pleasant and we were just loving the whole trip, we did Nascar, the theatre, lunch cruise on the lake, river cruise, a blues bar, and more. Would recommend this hotel to everyone, loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 50&lovinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
50@lovinit!
What a great time you had visiting Chicago and staying with us at the Monaco Chicago! We couldn't be happier to hear that you took such advantage of all Chicago has to offer, from great restaurants, to the theater, lake cruises, and blues clubs. It's great to hear you chose us as your home base and that you loved that window seat upgrade.
Can't wait to have you back,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#9 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,070 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#13 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
#22 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#13 Green Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing