We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Hotel Monaco.. Beautiful rooms,, and amazing, outstanding staff we could not ask for more.. The door guys esp Pete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #14 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Loved Hotel Monaco.. Beautiful rooms,, and amazing, outstanding staff we could not ask for more.. The door guys esp Peter was so helpful, and he always offered suggestions since this was our first visit to Chicago. We had a fish in our room, and my daughter thought that was the coolest. She got to name the fish at the front "Dorothy"... The window seats, were the best. My daughter slept in them, she could not stay out of them... It was wonderful, since we came in the winter we do have plans to come back this summer. We will be sure to stay at Hotel Monaco. we just check out today, and I'm very sad to not be sleeping in the most comfortable beds they have to offer.. I thank the entire staff for everything. They really take their job seriously, and make sure the customer is happy

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imheatherrenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 31, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave the review! I'm so glad to hear that your daughter got to enjoy the hotel and her little friend, Dorothy! We really enjoy placing our pet ambassadors in the guest rooms upon request. The gold fish do their jobs with utmost professionalism and care. We even have a new gold fish at the front desk that we are asking our guests to help name! Looking forward to having you as our guest, next time you are in town. Cheers, Marco Scherer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,897 - 1,903 of 2,444 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed her for a weekend and were treated like royalty. This is a boutique hotel that caters to all its customers and offers expert advice on restaurants and sights. The room was large for this type of hotel. The BIG plus was having a huge window seat that overlooked the River where you can stretch out and people-watch with your morning coffee. The hotel restaurant was reasonably priced for a big city and the bar had nightly specials on drinks. The only negative was the cost of parking was $42/day. Could have found cheaper rates but was convenient to have in/out privileges there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perfectlyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 31, 2011

Thank you for the nice review! I couldn't agree with you more in regards to our location. Being located in between River North and the loop... we are walking distance to the great parks, museums, shops, restaurants and everything that Chicago has to offer! I am sorry about the price of parking. We do several call arounds to other overnight parking locations in the city to ensure that our pricing is on the lower end. There are hotels charging $54 for overnight parking just a block from us. We do have a special right now, which is stay two nights and get a $50 hotel credit, which you can use to offset the parking charges. Just use rate code TPA when making the reservation, and this offer expires April 30, 2011.
Thank you again for leaving the nice review. Cheers, Marco Scherer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I stay in hotels 150+ nights a year. The Kimpton hotels consistently deliver. The Monaco is my favorite place to stay in Chicago. When I stayed there last week, the only complaint I had was there was no "do not disturb" sign for the door. I added it to an otherwise perfect survey and had a personal note from the manager the next day showing he actually read my responses. Other hotels could learn a lot from them.

SWK food is good, too. A great business lunch spot.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbirkholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 28, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We hope to see you next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

This was my first time staying downtown, and this was a great location. Plenty to do within walking distance, including some outstanding restaurants. The rooms were very nice, just a touch on the small side (which ended up not mattering to me). The staff was superb; friendly, helpful and solicitous, very genuine. They made me feel like their most important guest at every interaction. It was the kind of experience I'd expect from a much more expensive hotel. I enthusiastically recommend the Hotel Monaco.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 28, 2011

What a nice review! Thank you so much for taking the time and I'm glad to hear that you had such a great stay. We have one of the best locations in the city of Chicago, truly in the middle of everything. I'm glad you were able to enjoy that. Hope to see you soon. Cheers, Marco Scherer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I recently stayed at the Hotel Monaco while attending a trade show at McCormick Place. The hotel and all of its services were first rate. From the doorman bringing an umbrella out to the curb to rescue me in a downpoor when I arrived to the front desk giving advice about local restaurants (There are great ones nearby), the staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel is just two blocks from the Randolph Street train station where you can easily catch the train that stops right inside McCormick Place so the location is perfect for someone that wants to stay in a beautiful, enjoyable boutique hotel while attending an event at McCormick Place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aerobietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 24, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time and leaving us a review! -Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I stayed at the Kimpton for four days this past week and I can't say enough good things about the hotel. When I had made the reservation I mentioned that this was an annual trip with my granddaughter. When we arrived the room we found two wonderful cupcakes waiting for us, with a note welcoming us and wishing us fun on our annual trip. This set the tone for our stay and it continued on throughout. From the front desk to the waiters in the adjoining resturant. everything was perfect. I would be happy to return to the Kimpton if I have the opportunity to visit Chicago again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaytgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 24, 2011

Hi Kaytgilbert, I'm so glad that you had a good annual trip with your granddaughter, and we were able to be part of that! We pride ourselves in providing very individualized service, and that's what makes our little hotel special! :) Hopefully we'll be able to do it again next year! Cheers, Marco Scherer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed in a newly remodeled suite on the 14th floor. The suite was really large which we weren't expecting. We loved the window seats and I often sat in the window while updating on my iPad. The jacuzzi tub was a really nice touch. Service was great - they did their jobs without us even knowing they were there. Very QUIET hotel. Although we occasionally heard the nearby above ground subway, we never heard another hotel guest or any hall noise. Location was the best - right in the middle of everything and great for St. Patrick's Day festivities.

Only complaints are that the bed was too firm and that there are strangely no dresser drawers of any kind in the room. We had to keep our things in our suitcases and strewn over the couch.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 24, 2011

AmberVon, Thank you so much for staying with us and leaving us the review. The river view suites are so popular, and simply amazing views of Chicago. I'm sure that the jacuzzi tub with the fizzi balls helped you relax as well! The beds are still brand new, we just went through a major room refresh and replaced the beds last month along with everything else in the guest rooms. Thank you again, Marco Scherer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
369 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#18 of 192 in Chicago
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $117 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing