We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel - very pleasant and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel - very pleasant and helpful staff”
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We didn't stay at the Burnham, but I felt I had to write this for anyone else who might. We walked in to ask directions to Lew Mitchell's (the well-known breakfast place). The front desk could not have been more accommodating. Not only did they look up the address, they printed out a map for us. They also let us print our boarding passes for a flight that afternoon even though we weren't staying there. The lobby is old-world (even though it's not old) and beautiful -- actually, the lobby itself is small, the rest of the main floor is the hotel restaurant which was packed with brunch-ers. We took a peek at the elevator area, and the whole thing led us to the conclusion that that's where we'll stay next time we're in Chicago.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank sf7307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    332
    62
    26
    20
See reviews for
207
533
107
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
149 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

There's not much more to say about the Hotel Burnham, but we love it just like the rest of the reviewers here. I think it's a great value for the location and everything else about the hotel. Service was great. The only downside was rooms don't have coffeemakers....however, when I asked one was sent to our room immediately. Restaurant was great for dinner and breakfast. This has become "our" hotel in Chicago. Oh, you can't beat location on blue line of subway, which takes you right to OHare.

  • Liked — Service, location, access to subway line
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing...
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wintersummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

I have nothing but good things to say about the Burnham. My family travels to Chicago every year for Christmas, and we saw the hotel and decided to try it out. When we arrived, we were later then we origionally planned. So, we were in a hurry to make our dinner reservations. All of the staff understood our situation, and did thier best to make sure that we were taken care of, even calling the restarunt to tell them that we were on our way. When we got into the room, there was soft music playing, and the view and the room were gorgeous. We stayed for three nights, and already have plans to stay there again this year. I would reccomed this room to anyone travelling to Chicago.

  • Liked — Beautiful Room, Accomidating Staff, Nice Views
  • Disliked — If I had to pick something, it would be the lobby was small and crowded
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mmlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Wonderful hotel, great location, really excellent service, decor, comfort. A great night's sleep too. Right in the heart of Chicago.

  • Liked — The luxury
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GrahamB/RachelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
322 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

My wife and I took the advice of other TripAdvisor readers and were not disappointed. The Burnham is in an excellent location in the heart of the Loop. Convenient to public transportation. The Red line is just outside the door, the Blue line (to O'Hare) is a block away and the rest of the el lines can be caught via transferring at another station 2 blocks away. Marshall Fields department store (Macy's) is caddycorner to the hotel and Millenium Park is a short (3 block) walk. The area is lively and one feels safe walking in the evening because so many people were out.

The hotel is a renovated former office building that is stylishly furnished and comfortable. Our room was small but very nice. There was construction on both wings of the hotel's outfacing sides, but it was quiet enough that we didn't have difficulty falling asleep. My wife was very happy with the buckwheat pillow she requested from the "Pillow Library". The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful obtaining tour tickets for us and printing our airline boarding passes. We did not have an opportunity to eat at the Atwood Cafe (hotel lobby restaurant), but it was usually busy and the menu looked good.

We enjoyed our stay at the Burnham and Chicago immensely and were not disappointed by other members' advice in choosing this hotel. Our only disappointment, which was very minor, was that the hotel fitness room was eliminated in favor of a meeting room. However, we were directed to a sister hotel 3 blocks away (Allegro) where we exercised during the stay. We easily understand why the Burnham is so popular with other members.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no gym; no business center
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights based on the reviews in Trip Advisor. Can't see what all the excitement is about. It is an average SMALL hotel. Yes the staff are friendly but that is really all that can be said about the hotel. The rooms are clean but VERY SMALL. My husband is 6''1 and his feet reached over the end of the bed by about 6 inches. The rooms are small, the lobby even smaller. They need a residents lounge. Not impressed with this hotel at all. Wouldn't go back.

  • Liked — Nothing really
  • Disliked — The room sizes were too small and the room was dark.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank gmhawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2007

My wife and I returned from an extended weekend, OK-July 1-5, to attend the Taste of Chicago festival. It's been a number of years since being in Chicago and we were looking for something off the beaten path. The Burnham intrigued us and we decided to try it. It was a great choice. The Burnham is a refurbished office building. The conversion was tastefully done. What the rooms lack in size is more than made up by stlye and amenities. The staff here is quite impressive as you are seemingly always greeted by a smile and a "Yes, sir; No, Sir" answer to your questions. Would not hesitate in the least to stay here again!

  • Liked — Old time ambiance
  • Disliked — I'll have to get back to you.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hrtytravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing