We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, in the Loop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #25 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia USA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding, in the Loop”
Reviewed October 15, 2005

What is most impressive about this hotel is its quality in virtually all areas for a restored, historic building in the heart of downtown. Note - if you want to be very handy to the Mag Mile (N. Michigan Ave) or the Convention Center, this is not the place. But it's good to see a vibrant downtown all around you, with transportation readily available. For transportation, the subway (Red line) is across the street, the El is a block or two away, and taxis and buses can handle the rest. Leave your car (parking is expensive, but this is downtown, and any major cities have comparable high prices downtown), unless you need to drive a distance - parking in the city in any desired destination is usually difficult.
Yes - it's pricey, but it offers excellent furnishings and very good service. The concierge desk was helpful. The only glitch in service was maid service one day, when some things in the room were missed. It was reported, and didn't happen again. Lobby staff (front desk, doormen, bellmen) were excellent.
The in-house restaurant (Atwood Cafe) receives very good reviews. Room service is from there. We ate there one lunch - it was good, but crowded (tables too close), service only fair, and not worth the money. There are very good restaurants in the Loop, even in walking distance. (Trattoria #10 around the corner, the Berghoff, the Russian Tea Time, for example) Other restaurants (we like Greek restaurants in Greektown and mideastern on the north side) are a taxi ride away. A tip - the Corner Bakery is a chain all over town - ask for directions to the nearest one(s). They have good pastries, sandwiches, at reasonable prices. A bottled juice from the Walgreens next door, a pastry, and coffee made in the room was a fine breakfast.
Contrary to what was on the Kimpton website, this is not on the Mag Mile (that's a mile away), and Millenium Park is not across the street (it's 2 blocks to the east). There's some interesting shopping on State Street (not as glitzy and huge as Mag Mile). The views from the room (we had a corner, with views up State Street, and over to the lake) are fantastic. If you like being in the heart of a bustling city, this is a good choice. It's small enough to feel personalized, and always felt safe. (Admittedly, we were not out real late at night.)
We were there as tourists (had lived near Chicago many years ago). The Culture Center (with a good bookstore and noon concerts) is a block away. Took an easy busride to Museum Campus (Field Museum - the best). Recommended - the boat tour on the river, guided by the Chicago Architecture Foundation.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank allanC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    367
    70
    29
    22
See reviews for
253
578
121
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago metro area
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2005

My husband and I spent a lovely two nights at the Hotel Burnham in Chicago. Formerly the Reliance Insurance Building, this hotel is an architectural landmark (one of so very many in Chicago) that should not be missed. Some of the guest rooms have the original doors to the old insurance offices, while others have newer doors. Great care has been taken to maintain the consistency of the original architectural style...as a result, the rooms are a bit smaller than a chain hotel would offer, but SO much more filled with character. Everything from the down pillows to the beautiful window treatments to the marble in the bathroom was unique and felt completely luxurious. And the location!!!! The view from our 12th floor room was of historic State St. Marshall Field's department store as well as the Chicago and Oriental Theatres (where we saw and thoroughly loved Wicked)! This location is so central to all forms of public transportation (buses and El trains within 1/2 block), we will recommend this hotel to anyone who asks. The room service was a bit slow, but we were otherwise thrilled with our experience at the Hotel Burnham.

Helpful?
12 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 19, 2005

All in all a really nice hotel. It is beautiful and architectually important. Plus, you cannot beat the location - across from Marshall Field's and minutes to Millenium Park. We loved it! The only issue was that service to the room - cleaning, making the room up - could have been a little better.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 8, 2005

Well. I've stayed in the Burnham twice this year, and I'd have no hesitation
in staying there again for a theatre-break vacation in Chicago. The Oriental Theatre where I saw "Wicked" (which was a real treat!) is just a block away, and the hotel restaurant (Atwood Cafe) caters for theatre goers with a special early dinner (I had mine at 5:00 p.m.) whcih allows you to return after the performance to finish your sweet. A nice touch.

Architecture lovers will adore this hotel too, for the Art Nouveau internal decorations as much as the historic features. My room wasn't huge but it was nicely furnished. The staff were all friendly too and tried there best to
look after you. The only thing I'd mark it down was that there were no dining facilities open on Labor Day - though with the Walnut Room in Marshall Fields just across the road open, that was hardly any hardship. For the money (I got a discount via Expedia) I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 3, 2005

I stayed at Burnham twice during August and both experiences were fantastic. The two rooms I stayed both had very high ceiling giving me a very pleasant, bright, airy feeling. Bed was very comfy. Turn-down service was on the spot every night. Bathroom amenities were also 5 star. I especially liked the day bed next to the window as I could simply watch the people outside on the street. The food at the restaurant downstairs were also great and priced reasonably.

The only drawback was the relatively weak shower pressure on the upper floors. Also, certain low level rooms facing the street could be quite noisy, but certainly acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2005

We stayed one night at the Burnham in August 2005. Our room was lavishly decorated, the front desk people are friendly and competent, the location is convenient to all of downtown Chicago, and our room was very quiet. But the basic layout of the room was not traveller-friendly.
One small oval table was the only usable flat surface, and it was already largely taken up with a purely decorative lamp and a lot of advertising flyers. The only dresser drawers were in the armoire, and keeping the large flap doors open while trying to open the drawers was a nuisance. And after all that maneuvering, both the drawers were already full, with 2 Chicago phone books, a large picture book of local advertising, the Gideon Bible and the Thoughts of Buddha. No room for shirts, sox, underwear, and all those non-decorative things travellers like to put in hotel room drawers.
The bathroom was charming and clean, but again no thought was apparently given to what people need in a hotel bathroom. There was a lovely oval sink but no counterspace at all for even a small toiletries bag.
The building is a fascinating restoration of an old office building. There is a front entrance on Washington St, with an attended lobby desk and doormen. However, the elevator lobby also has its own direct entrance to State St., very handy if you are going that direction. But not very effective from a security standpoint - anyone can come in off the street and go right up to the guest floors without passing any lobby personnel or doormen.
It's your choice, then, as to whether charm and decor make up for lack of functionality and security. But it does seem a shame that this hotel could not have been designed to provide both.

Helpful?
8 Thank BrooklynLodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 8, 2005

I'll start out by saying that I've never been a big service buff, but now I've turned into one knowing what a difference good service can make to your stay.

The Burnham is very conveniently located. We took the train there from the airport, at $1.75 per person it was quite a bargain and only a block or so away from the station. I pretty much walked everywhere from the hotel including most of Michigan Avenue, the Navy Pier, Milleneum Park, and the general lake/river area. I love to walk though and some of these distances might be too far for some, so a cab or train might be in order.

Check in was the fastest process I've ever seen. It literally took two minutes and we were off and running. We had booked a suite at the AAA rate of $206 per night. I can't speak to the size of the regular rooms, but the suite was perfect. There was a sitting area with sofa, TV, chair, and table, along with a bedroom with a king bed, desk and TV. The bathroom was adequately sized. The room was spotless and very nicely decorated. Maid service was always prompt and they did a good job.

After stepping out for a few hours, we received a note, a bottle of water and a small box of chocolates welcoming us, which was a very nice touch. I had ocassion to use the Concierge a number of times throughout the trip and she was EXCELLENT. She helped me get play tickets and restaurant reservations at an excellent restaurant near the theater, the same day we were wanting to go. At the restaurant, we received a complimentary appitizer from the conceirge and at our room soda and choclates for our anniversary. I've never stayed anywhere that has gone the extra mile like that, and all though the concierge was especially helpful, all the staff was super nice and friendly.

I ate at the restaurant on the premises twice. Once for breakfast and once using room service and both times it was very good, albeit predictably over priced.

I can unequivoclly say that this was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had (and I've had a few) and I'll definitely return to the Burnham on my next trip to Chicago!

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,045 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing