We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Downtown Chicago”
Reviewed November 4, 2004

Hotel Burnham is a wonderful place to stay while in Chicago. The location is perfect. The hotel is beautiful and in wonderful condition. Our room was beautifully appointed, clean and the views were great. I highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2004
Helpful?
9 Thank Perran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    362
    67
    29
    22
See reviews for
239
565
117
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 2, 2004

Stayed at the Burnham this past weekend and could not have been happier with my choice. Although the room was on the small side it did not feel cramped and was neat and clean. The bathroom was large and clean. Nice touches were: evening wine hour and daily newspaper and starbucks coffee each morning in the lobby; lots of towels and pillows and terry bathrobes and aveeda products and an iron and ironing board; and nightly turn down service complete with a bucket full of ice. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and the location across from Marshall Fields is perfect for access to the subway, busses and trolley.
Chicago has a free trolley system to all of the major attractions (runs only on weekends beginning in October) which was great and I also contacted Chicago Greeter for a tour of the city which was very informative.
Would definitely stay at the Burnham again.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 26, 2004

Based on the great reviews here on Trip Advisor, I booked a 2 night stay at this hotel.We've never been to Chicgo before, so a good hotel was really necessary. From the moment the doorman opened our taxi door, we were made to feel really special. The staff couldn't have been nicer. We arrived early and we had to wait about a minute for our room to be ready! We stayed in an executive suite on the fifth floor with great views over the city. The room was outstanding.

On our first night, we wanted to eat at the Signature room atop the John Hancock centre. At about 6pm, I asked the concierge if he thought we could get a table for 7:30pm. He worked his magic and within minutes we had a reservation at a great table next to a window!

We used room service the next morning and evening and couldn't fault the food or the service.

This hotel is superb, we will definitley stay there again when go back to Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 25, 2004

I first stayed a few years ago and I try to switch hotels when I stay in Chicago every time,and I visit Chicago every month and this is one of my top 2 favorites by far!The concierge is attentive,great location,intimate.....on and on and on!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 14, 2004

I am the type of person who researches things to death and wants the best for my money, so when my husband and I took a mini vacation to Chicago in mid-September I did tons of research for the best place to stay. We decided on the Hotel Burnham and we weren't disappointed! We are accustomed to staying in nice hotels and this ranks right up there! We had a suite on floor 14 (actually 13, they skip from 12 to 14 as most old buildings do!) on the NE corner with a beautiful view of Lake Michigan and the theaters. Absoluely gorgeous! The Atwood Cafe was great and the service at the desk was fantastic. The bed was comfy and the Aveda products a nice touch. The only drawback was the suite was a little small, but nicely decorated so I didn't care. There was hardly any street noise and the red line is literally around the corner. We packed so much into 2 days, it was a relief to come "home" to the Hotel Burnham, put our feet up with a bottle of wine. Stay here, you'll never regret it!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2004

Based upon Tripadvisor reviews, we selected the Hotel Burnham for a 2-night stay, October 6th & 7th, 2004.

The location is excellent, and the building charming. The staff was a real mix of very enthusiastic and helpful young people, and other young people who were neutral at best. A little experienced adult supervision would be good.

The rooms are extremely small, and decorated to minimize the limited space. Our high-speed internet connection did not work, and no one knew how to fix it. The selection of channels on TV was very limited, as if they had chosen the basic basic basic cable tier, along with a 24-hour yoga channel, for some reason.

As there is no service elevator, you will share your ride with towels, linen, and your neighbor's uneaten room service food. Not classy.

The first night, there was loud construction noise in front, outside our room, and the staff seemed uninformed about this, and unable to move us to a satisfactory alternative room. (Satisfactory does not equal a smaller, smoking broom closet.)

We ate dinner at the in-house restaurant, and found the food to be very good, but again, the service was marginal, with slow clearing of items, missed menu choices, and late arrival of some of the food.

Overall, we can see why this hotel has such potential, but they must be resting on their laurels, or had a couple of bad days.

We would only stay there again, if we had a suite (i.e. a normal sized room), and read Tripadvisor reviews indicating that they had addressed our other concerns.

NB: To their credit, Hotel Burnham sent us an on-line customer satisfaction survey, and we provided the same feedback as in this review.

Helpful?
10 Thank buyeraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2004

This is a great place to stay. The staff was friendly and the room was really nice. Best of all, it was really quiet. It would be a wonderful place to stay during the holiday season to see all of the lights on State Street.

Helpful?
5 Thank AKARQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
244 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing