We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, but lots of outside noise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, but lots of outside noise.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a very well restored old building. Beautiful rooms, very attentive staff. Good wifi.
The great thing is the location. Central to everything in downtown Chicago.
The bad thing is the location. Construction crews have been jack hammering at the intersection of State and Washington where the Burnham is located almost continuously for the last seven years. In addition, the L train runs a block away and it might as well go through the hotel. There are also street kids drumming on plastic cans across from the hotel and lots of traffic noise. I realize that all of this noise is outside of the control of the hotel, but travelers need to be aware of it. I was on the 15 th (top floor) and there was a lot of outside noise day and night.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green hotel. They recycle and have a green hotel certification .
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaySF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Mr. RaySF84,

First and foremost....We Back! We definitely agree that we are on a busy intersection with lots of people exploring the city with buckets, trains, and city work. We sincerly apologize for the discomfortable and lack of sleep this caused you. Only if we were in control of the City of Chicago (Officials) of course this would never take place (the jack hammering). The City crew has moved a few block west of the hotel so there is a sign of relief. We hope this doesn't discourage you from visiting the property again. Thank for give us another try and lets hope on the next visit State & Washington is free of city works.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    332
    62
    26
    20
See reviews for
207
533
107
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I was in Chicago visiting some relatives who came up from the D.C. area. This hotel is in a fantastic location, close to a lot of attractions. It was also necessary to find a hotel that allowed dogs and this one did. The rooms were clean, charming and well appointed. The staff were extremely friendly as well. It's a no brainer to recommend this hotel, but here is my caveat: if you have a dog, the hotel has NO green space. Yes, Millennium Park is three blocks east, BUT they don't allow dogs, and I was chased out of there several times.

The hotel cannot of course change the park rules, but some type of green space would be great. It was very difficult to take my dog out so he could just do his business.

Outside of that I really enjoyed everything else about the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Andrew E,

Thank you so much for giving us this amazing review. We wish we could change the rules of the Park Districk.... Unfortunately, we are powerless to the government... I will have the staff brainstorm on getting a small area of green space (not sure where at this time). We are happy to know that the staff and services that were provided meet your expectations. We love dogs so we hope you come again with you dog. Hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
142 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel is located in a prime location. It was reasonably priced and the front desk staff was outstanding, esp Sasha. They have free coffee in the am, and wine every afternoon. Water is always available in the lobby. The Atwood restaurant was delightful for breakfast with very nice ambiance. Was there 10 years ago and it did not disappoint.a historic gem.
However, they need more lighting in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1204.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank architect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Architect,

Your review is much appreciated. We were delighted to welcome you back with us. The Staff is really what much this a great place to work. Sasha is definitely a gem and hopefully he keeps getting brighter and brighter.... Place stay share your experience with friends and family.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

When it comes to hotels I rate them on cleanliness 1st and this hotel is right up there. To add to that staff are so friendly and helpful, they gave great recommendations on food. Location is great. Can't fault them. And just to note free happy hour from 5-6pm.....now that's something to shout about!

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel...if you find a better price on another site they will match it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Crazy2010,

We love how you wrote this review.... Thank you so much for giving us this amazing review. We are happy to know that the staff and services that were provided meet your expectations. We try to keep the place as clean as possible. Please tell a friend or a neighbor about us, we will give them the same experience. Hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florda
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel in the last 3 years. The hotel itself is in a wonderful location and within walking distance to anything downtown. Its also located very close to the "L" which makes transportation to and from both airports very easy. Love the fact that Walgreens is right next door for forgotten items or just to pick up a snack or beverage. I did note that my room this time was showing wear with wallpaper pulling from the walls and faded areas in the carpeting. As always the staff at the hotel goes above and beyond to make you comfortable. With refrigerators in each room I did wish there was also at least one centrally located microwave within the building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank septsunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Septsunseeker,

We are so excited that you were not disappointed. Thank you very much for staying with us. We really appreciate you sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. The staff is what make the experience and we are fully aware that we can't do it without them. Location is key and what a wonderful neighborhood to see attractions. I'm sharing your comment with the staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip in April 2014 and it was awesome. The staff is super friendly, you can go walking almost anywhere and is near great shopping and restaurants. The rooms are comfy and the overall look and feel of the hotel is unique. I would recommend it with my eyes closed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Patricia F,

Thank you so much for giving us this amazing review. We are happy to know that the staff and services that were provided meet your expectations. Your recommendation is very special to us so please keep tell all your friend about us and we will give them the same experience to share with the world. Hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne,England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights on vacation from the UK.
The hotel is in a great location. It is just opposite the L which was very convenient for all our travelling. We used the Blue line to get to and from O'Hare airport,which was free as we had bought a pass on arrival at the Airport.
The hotel was in an excellent location near the L. However,there were many sights within easy walking distance. (Millennium Park etc)
We paid to upgrade to a "historic room" and it was well worth it. The room was very nice indeed and the building had real character.
We had dinner at the Attwood restaurant on site and this was fine. We also had 2 breakfasts there and they were very good. My girl friend has Coeliac Disease so cannot have Gluten,but the staff were very helpful and got her G/F crackers instead of toast. We have stayed at a Kimpton before and really appreciate the "wine hour".
The hotel is across the road from Macy's and there is a good place for breakfast down the road called Beef and Barrel.
I must make special mention of the Concierge,Jean Luc. All the staff were good,but he was really exceptional. He was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. My girl friend had to go to A&E at the Memorial Hospital during our stay and he was so helpful with that. He checked if there was anything extra he could do following our hospital visit and was very considerate.
We loved our stay in Chicago and it is a great city.
Hotel Burnham - A lovely building - Great Location - Reasonable price - a glass of wine.
What more could you want!
The 5 star marking relates to the presence of Jean Luc. He was absolutely great.
Thanks to Hotel Burnham for a great Chicago stay.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the upper "historical rooms" The floor layout is great with the lovely ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCATAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Bcatah,

What an outstanding review of the Hotel Burnham. We really appreciate the five stars.... What more could we ask for. Jean-Luc is Phonemenal.... I am surely happy to have him on my team. In fact, the entire team is amazing and we could not operate at a high level without them. Kudos to the Burnham Staff. Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor we hope other people see your review and give us a try. Hope to see you again soon but if not we hope to see you on your next vacation.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing