We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$217
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$643
$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$292
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$675
$550
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$319
$299
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$444
$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$361
$351
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,094)
Filter reviews
2,094 results
Traveler rating
1,509
433
91
37
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,509
433
91
37
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel burnhamatwood cafereliance buildingmillennium parkthe loopmarshall fieldsdaniel burnhamstate streetcupcakeskimpton hotelshistoric buildingwine hournordstrom rackoffice buildingart instituteboutique hotelthe theater district
Filter
Updating list...
1,153 - 1,158 of 2,094 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great hotel located within walking distance of most of the attractions. Fantastic architecture restored to keep many of the original features. A walk to the Shed aquarium is a stretch but we walked there and got the bus back so not too bad. Floors 9 - 15 are known as the historic floors and retain many of the features of a business bulding rather than an hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors ( >9 ) are more interesting from an architectual point of view. The "L" passes nearby and if you are a light sleeper you want to be as high as possible. We were on thye 15th floor and although it didnt bother us we could hear the L in the early morning.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Eddie C,

We would like to thank you for giving us your business. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel as comfortable as possible and create an one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a great hotel in a great location. I would absolutely recommend it and will definitely stay here again when I return to Chicago. We had a great view from our window and couldn't have been happier. The hotel is newly updated but retains the old charm and is gorgeous. The location is great as we could walk to all the main attractions. We didn't use their parking because we found a great deal on SpotHero for a lot nearby.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank W0nderb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear W0nderb0y,

We would like to thank you for giving us your business. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel as comfortable as possible and create an one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

After spending a week at the Burnham (on business travel), during which everything was as good as I would have expected, I checked out of the hotel having left two pairs of shoes behind. I called the front desk at midnight and the gentleman working reception not only offered to check and call me back, but he checked right away and phoned me back about 15 minutes later to say they had found my shoes and would send them out promptly. Which they did. Excellent service from a very chic and comfortable hotel with an unbeatable location in the Loop. I would recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: Definitely join the Monaco rewards program. Free wifi and I think if you travel frequently you get nicer rooms, in the corner with a decent view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Kgirl2,

We are extremely happy that we were able to meet your expectations. We would like to thank you for giving us your business and being loyal to Hotel Burnham. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel as comfortable as possible and create an one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have stayed at the Burnham a number of times and once again were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. Location, of course, is important if one wants to walk to both the Lyric Opera and the Art Institute which are comfortable distances from Washington & State street. Room location is also important to us and our request for a specific floor has always been honored. Atmosphere is another plus as the lobby and old fashioned elevators and busy restaurant all in close proximity, make entering and leaving pleasant. Finally – the staff was cheerful and welcoming. Only thing affecting value rating is the cost of overnight parking. Come to town on the train if you can.

Room Tip: We always request second floor to be able to walk up from lobby. Rooms face Washington and/or State streets but traffic not so loud later in the evening.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Mike_Edina,

We would like to thank you for giving us your business and being loyal to Hotel Burnham. Such a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel as comfortable as possible and create an one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great location for theater, shopping, and being in the center of town. This small boutique hotel brings you back to another era, both in the refurbished design as well as the bar/restaurant. Rooms are on the small side, but still well appointed and functional. Many floors have origional doors from when the rooms were offices (Spectaular!) The view was great from our room overlooking Macy's. Lobby is nice, but small and often full. The bartender (gosh i forget his name) was so well informed and interested in Pre-1920 cocktails it was an education just to sit at the bar. Sadly, only about 8 people can sit at the bar. He took his time to make each drink, but it was a show and he was a proud bartender (once a fairly noble trade). The food in the restaurant was very good each morning. Sadly we didn't have dinner in the hotel. Worth the cost for a great business trip and certainly for romance.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC1633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear JC1633,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay on Tripadvisor. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed the history of the cocktails and the Historical Hotel Burnham. Kimpton prides itself of restoring historical building and making unique hotel out of them.We really appreciate your support and recognition on the service and amenities provided by the hotel and restaurant. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel comfortable. We look forward to your return for another unique and exciting experience.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews